Switch Theme:

Stacking Defensive Buffs  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block





Burbank, CA

Three very related questions:

1) Let's say I have Pha's protection on two mages and I cast it on the same unit twice. I know that my opponent will be at -2 to hit them, but how do things like warmachines work when shooting at that unit? Does it have to pass a 4+ roll twice in order to fire?

2) Similarly, let's say I have Pha's protection up on a unit and then cast Ice Shard Blizzard (with another mage) on a warmachine. If that warmachine tries to shoot at the protected unit does it have to pass a 4+ roll twice?

3) If I have all three up does it have to pass at 4+ roll three times before it can fire?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/29 18:14:36


 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

yes, they recieve a -2 to hit them as the BRB is clear that all modifiers stack.


I don't know about the 4+ though.

i would say that doesn't stack.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The modifiers stack, however the 4+ to fire at all doesnt - one roll of 4+ satisfies 1+ rules saying "roll a 4+ to fire"
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

nosferatu1001 wrote:The modifiers stack, however the 4+ to fire at all doesnt - one roll of 4+ satisfies 1+ rules saying "roll a 4+ to fire"

Almost compleetly true if not for one caveat:
Iceshard affects the machine when it fires while pha's works as soon as the template touches the unit, so in this one case he would need to 4+ it twice at different times.
Multiples of the same spell however don't cause multiple rolls. Also shooting that causes autohits (organ gun) rather than a template, allways rolls only once.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/01 12:36:24



Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: