Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/30 22:16:49
Subject: A question about rolling to damage
|
 |
Wicked Canoptek Wraith
Beyond the Ultraforest of Kwang
|
I'm doing some planning to try and finally beat down my SM smurf friend with my Necrons and my green is showing....
I've been working out what I'm going to do about his venerable dreadnought and I was looking at Particle whipping it (I've managed to use the Gauss glancing rule to turn the thing in to an assault cannon turret so I'd like to hit it with something that could actually blow it to blue and yellow confetti).
My problem is when it comes to rolling to damage. It says that if the weapon is AP1 or the target is open topped then it's a +1 modifier and if the weapon is AP- or the hit is glancing then it is -1. Does this mean that weapons that have an AP value which isn't 1 or nothing just don't have a modifier?
If this is the case it means I could (with buckets of luck) one shot his venerable dread.
Big noob question but I'm a big noob..
|
3800+ points
Painting with white is like taking three steps backward for every two forward. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/30 22:20:56
Subject: A question about rolling to damage
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
ASsuming you have penetrated, an AP1 weapon will add +1 to the damage chart. So you roll a D6, and add one to the result.
If your AP is "nothing", or your AP is 2 - 6, then you dont modify it. Glancing is also -2 to the result, not -1
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/30 22:25:23
Subject: A question about rolling to damage
|
 |
Wicked Canoptek Wraith
Beyond the Ultraforest of Kwang
|
Ahh sorry yeah, I should remember the damn -2 considering how it sticks me when I try to knock his dread out of action. What I meant by an AP of nothing was where it listed a -1 modifier when AP is listed as 'AP-', I assumed the dash meant 0. Thanks for the help btw!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/30 22:31:55
3800+ points
Painting with white is like taking three steps backward for every two forward. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/30 22:38:55
Subject: A question about rolling to damage
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
AP "nothing", as in no AP value even mentioned, has no effect on the chart. For example ALL close combat attacks lack an AP value.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/01 00:51:17
Subject: A question about rolling to damage
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Close combat attacks have no AP, and thus have no modifer on the chart. (In general; special rules such as the Ironclad Dreadnought's Seismic Hammer may be exceptions).
All modifiers from shooting attacks are cumulative.
That is, if you score a Glancing Hit with an AP1 gun, you have a net modifier of -1 to your roll on the chart, and thus can still manage a Wreck if you roll a 6.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/01 00:51:37
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/01 01:20:14
Subject: Re:A question about rolling to damage
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
yes, just follow the chart.
A glancing hit gives your die result a -2 modifier
A shooting attack that is AP - is a -1
An AP1 shooting attack gives a +1
Being open topped is a +1
cc does not use any of these modifiers.
The partical whip from the monolith, shooting attack from a nightbringer, and shooting attacks from heavy destroyers are your only real chances of destroying a venerable in shooting.
You could glance one to death with gauss fire, but seeing as how you have to hit him, roll a 6 to glance, roll a 5+ to cause damage.... and then he has the option to make you reroll on the damage table causing you to need another 5+..... ya, you could be shooting gauss at him all night.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/01 05:55:40
Subject: Re:A question about rolling to damage
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
|
The one thing you might want to try to remember is a Particle Whip an Ordnance Weapon so you get to roll two dice, pick the highest, and if it's under the hole add one.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/01 08:21:13
Subject: Re:A question about rolling to damage
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
General_Chaos wrote:The one thing you might want to try to remember is a Particle Whip an Ordnance Weapon so you get to roll two dice, pick the highest, and if it's under the hole add one.
You get to roll two dice and pick the highest. You do not add 1 based on the hole placement. For all blast weapons (including ordnance) you use the normal strength if he hole is over the target vehicle or half strength if it is not.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/01 08:22:16
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/01 09:02:50
Subject: Re:A question about rolling to damage
|
 |
Scuttling Genestealer
|
I believe he's referring to whatever is under the hole being hit by AP1, so +1 on the damage chart
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/01 13:03:07
Subject: A question about rolling to damage
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
In which case the statement was incorrect - you add one to the damage chart roll, NOT the roll to penetrate
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/01 17:15:59
Subject: Re:A question about rolling to damage
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
omerakk wrote:cc does not use any of these modifiers.
Not true, CC does use both the glancing and the Open topped modifiers, just not the Shooting ones.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
|