Switch Theme:

Can you disembark after a scout move?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Had this situation come up in a game the other day.

my opponent used a scout move with his transport and was wondering if he could disembark.

I was not sure either way, but consulted the rulebook quickly and decided to allow the disembark.

Was this correct RaW? Or was this incorrect?

The only thing we came up with was the scout USR says that "[the move] is done exactly as in their movement phase,..."

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

The main rulebook FAQ specifically allows it.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Disembarking is not a move (although it does count as moving for shooting purposes), it is simply deploying/placing models near access points (which is often followed by a normal move).

Even if it were, the passengers themselves would need scout, and they'd still need to stay 12" away from enemies.

EDIT: It appears my first sentence was incorrect, but the second sentence still stands. Thank you Mannahnin.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/02 21:43:57


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Thank you for pointing that out mann found it in the main FAQ:

Q: If a unit with the Scouts special rule is embarked in a
vehicle, also with the Scouts special rule, can they
disembark after the vehicle has moved as part of their
Scouts move? (p76)
A: Yes, as long as disembarking would be allowed during a
normal Movement phase. For example if the vehicle has
moved flat out they would not be allowed to disembark
(unless specifically stated otherwise)

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: