Switch Theme:

Can an IC join Grand Master Mordraks unit?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Giggling Nurgling





In your closet

Can an IC join up with Mordrak and his ghost knights?

If so do they retain "First to the Fray"?

Thanks!

4000 2250 2000 
   
Made in us
Kid_Kyoto






Probably work

I wouldn't see why not. He's not a unit that always consists of one model, and he's not a monstrous creature. I think most people drop a Librarian in with him.

Assume all my mathhammer comes from here: https://github.com/daed/mathhammer 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

daedalus wrote:I wouldn't see why not. He's not a unit that always consists of one model, and he's not a monstrous creature.
Monstrous Creatures are not disallowed from having an IC join them, it is just that most of them are (were?) units that consist of only one model.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/03 20:58:26


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Kid_Kyoto






Probably work

Ah, valid point.

Assume all my mathhammer comes from here: https://github.com/daed/mathhammer 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Getting my broom incase there is shenanigans.

His rules are that he deep strikes on the first turn with no scatter, so it would seem you can as long as the IC can also deep strike.


 
   
Made in ca
Giggling Nurgling





In your closet

Thanks! I didnt think there was anything wrong with it, but it just didn't feel 100% right.

4000 2250 2000 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Note, also, that Mordak does not need to have brought any ghost knights with him to be joined by an IC, nor even to generate ghost knights during the game(the generating ghost knights even if he hadn't bought any is why he can be joined without having purchased them).

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Member of the Malleus




SLC, UT

Kommissar Kel wrote:(the generating ghost knights even if he hadn't bought any is why he can be joined without having purchased them).


Not exactly. The rule states that an IC can't join a unit that ALWAYS consists of 1 model. To give an example, nid IC can join a unit of a single fex cuz it can, if you choose, have more than one model. A farseer cannot join a wraithlord because it is always one model, and can never be more. With the new dex as an example, and IC can join a squad of one paladin because you can, if you wish, take more than one paladin. An IC can also join another IC to make a squad of 2 ICs.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/04 07:49:36


"Huddle close to your Emperor if he makes you feel safe. He cannot save you, for only Chaos is eternal."

Cross: Noun. A thing you nail people to.

Iron Warriors 3k Yme-Loc 6k
Grey Knights 2k <3 Harlequin WIP
Vampire Counts 3K Dwarfs 2k
 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






To add: The IC must actually be able to deep strike with him, so no Inquisitors or artificer amor people allowed(Brotherhood Champion, Coteaz, Techmarine). Exception: Ordo Malleus Inquisitor with terminator armor upgrade.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/04 10:35:49


7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Sothas wrote:
Kommissar Kel wrote:(the generating ghost knights even if he hadn't bought any is why he can be joined without having purchased them).


Not exactly. The rule states that an IC can't join a unit that ALWAYS consists of 1 model. To give an example, nid IC can join a unit of a single fex cuz it can, if you choose, have more than one model. A farseer cannot join a wraithlord because it is always one model, and can never be more. With the new dex as an example, and IC can join a squad of one paladin because you can, if you wish, take more than one paladin. An IC can also join another IC to make a squad of 2 ICs.


So, a Tyranid Prime can join a Hive Tyrant that has no Tyrant Guard?
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






No.

1. Any question ever resulting in a benefit for tyranids is answered with "No".
2. The hive guard has a special rule allowing them to be joined by hive tyrants or swarm lords, which is explicitly breaking a rule. A hive tyrant unit is still a unit that will always consist of one model, a hive guard unit can consist of hive guards+hive tyrant. If the shield wall ability was on the hive tyrant instead of the guard, he could be joined by a tyranid prime.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/04 13:19:45


7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Sothas wrote:
Kommissar Kel wrote:(the generating ghost knights even if he hadn't bought any is why he can be joined without having purchased them).


Not exactly. The rule states that an IC can't join a unit that ALWAYS consists of 1 model. To give an example, nid IC can join a unit of a single fex cuz it can, if you choose, have more than one model. A farseer cannot join a wraithlord because it is always one model, and can never be more. With the new dex as an example, and IC can join a squad of one paladin because you can, if you wish, take more than one paladin. An IC can also join another IC to make a squad of 2 ICs.


That is almost exactly what I said.

Mordak is a single model unit.
Purchasing Mordak allows for the Purchasing of a ghost knight unit that mordak can join as an upgrade character(you are not simply adding Ghost knights to mordak's unit, as you are with Carniexes).
Mordak's own rules allow him to generate a ghost knight for every wound he takes, this ghost knight is added to his unit.
Therefore Mordak is not always a unit of 1 Model(much like a tomb spyder for necrons).

The ghost knight unit is a separate unit that Mordak Joins as the upgrade character, it is not simply additional models in his unit: this is RAW.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: