Switch Theme:

Dead Chaplain abilities  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in br
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker







Suppose a SM chaplain is charging an enemy IC in the company of a squad of assault terminators with thunder hammers. Said IC (let's make it Mephiston) focuses his attacks on the chaplain and kills it before either the chap or the assault termis get to strike.

Do the remaining SS/TH termies still get the chaplain re-roll to hit when theyr strike at Ini 1?

In Boxing matches, you actually get paid to take a dive and make the other guy look good.

In Warhammer 40K, you're expected to pay cash out of your pocket for the privilege of having Marines and IG trample all over your Xenos/Chaos. 
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

They do. Nowhere does the rules say that he has to be alive for Liturgies of Hate to work, therefore he doesn't.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






"on a turn in which he assaults, a chaplain and all members of any squad he has joined can re-roll failed rolls to hit"

The models gain the ability on the turn in which the chaplain assaults so they would still have that ability for the turn even if he dies during assault. Should he die before assaulting (unlikely, maybe dangerous terrain) then they would not benefit.

Contrast this to a BA priest's ability which simply grants the ability to units within 6" and ceases to function as soon as the priest is dead or out of range.
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

Scott-S6 wrote:
The models gain the ability on the turn in which the chaplain assaults so they would still have that ability for the turn even if he dies during assault. Should he die before assaulting (unlikely, maybe dangerous terrain) then they would not benefit.


If he's moving through dangerous terrain as part of a charge he has already begun charging though.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






begun, but never made it; he himself did not assault until he gets into combat. Similarly, should he not make it into combat via difficult terrain test, he wouldn't get the re-rolls as he would not have assaulted(he would have failed the assault).

He needs to assault, which means he needs to get into assault and be engaged.

If he is in the back of a unit, and they are assaulting a small unit, and the situation arises where he cannot make it into base-to-base contact; then his unit has assaulted, but he has not: no one would get the re-rolls(following all the rules, this should be a very rare occurrence, like a unit of 10 marines, and the Chap in the back-middle assaulting a unit of 5 models)

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

Kommissar Kel wrote:begun, but never made it; he himself did not assault until he gets into combat. Similarly, should he not make it into combat via difficult terrain test, he wouldn't get the re-rolls as he would not have assaulted(he would have failed the assault).

He needs to assault, which means he needs to get into assault and be engaged.


Can you provide a rule supporting this? The way I see it, even if you don't make it into base contact you've still assaulted. Otherwise you wouldn't have been allowed to make an assault move.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in us
Roarin' Runtherd




Interesting...Ok, let's say you've got your chaplain at the wrong end of your squad, so that he can't get to the fight even though the squad does-is he considered to have "assaulted"?
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






AlmightyWalrus wrote:
Scott-S6 wrote:
The models gain the ability on the turn in which the chaplain assaults so they would still have that ability for the turn even if he dies during assault. Should he die before assaulting (unlikely, maybe dangerous terrain) then they would not benefit.


If he's moving through dangerous terrain as part of a charge he has already begun charging though.

I was thinking more of movement phase.
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

Scott-S6 wrote:
AlmightyWalrus wrote:
Scott-S6 wrote:
The models gain the ability on the turn in which the chaplain assaults so they would still have that ability for the turn even if he dies during assault. Should he die before assaulting (unlikely, maybe dangerous terrain) then they would not benefit.


If he's moving through dangerous terrain as part of a charge he has already begun charging though.

I was thinking more of movement phase.


Oh, right, my bad.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






AlmightyWalrus wrote:
Kommissar Kel wrote:begun, but never made it; he himself did not assault until he gets into combat. Similarly, should he not make it into combat via difficult terrain test, he wouldn't get the re-rolls as he would not have assaulted(he would have failed the assault).

He needs to assault, which means he needs to get into assault and be engaged.


Can you provide a rule supporting this? The way I see it, even if you don't make it into base contact you've still assaulted. Otherwise you wouldn't have been allowed to make an assault move.


Sorta: If you are not engaged, you cannot fight, if you cannot fight none of the Assaulting effects ever come into play: No +1A assault bonus, no I1 penalty for "assaulting" through Difficult terrain, etc.

Then we have the IC rules that turn the IC(Chaplain in this case) into his own unit for actual attacks step(who can fight through the last casualty removal at I1); yes his unit assaulted(clearly stated on page 49), and he should have assaulted too. but, for the multiple combat once the unit is selected to fight, he is not in combat at all, and therefor must not have assaulted himself.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

Kommissar Kel wrote:
AlmightyWalrus wrote:
Kommissar Kel wrote:begun, but never made it; he himself did not assault until he gets into combat. Similarly, should he not make it into combat via difficult terrain test, he wouldn't get the re-rolls as he would not have assaulted(he would have failed the assault).

He needs to assault, which means he needs to get into assault and be engaged.


Can you provide a rule supporting this? The way I see it, even if you don't make it into base contact you've still assaulted. Otherwise you wouldn't have been allowed to make an assault move.


Sorta: If you are not engaged, you cannot fight, if you cannot fight none of the Assaulting effects ever come into play: No +1A assault bonus, no I1 penalty for "assaulting" through Difficult terrain, etc.

Then we have the IC rules that turn the IC(Chaplain in this case) into his own unit for actual attacks step(who can fight through the last casualty removal at I1); yes his unit assaulted(clearly stated on page 49), and he should have assaulted too. but, for the multiple combat once the unit is selected to fight, he is not in combat at all, and therefor must not have assaulted himself.


Again, just because he isn't in base contact with anyone doesn't mean he didn't assault. How did he get from where he was before the assault move if he didn't assault?

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






P49
"If a unit that has been joined by an independent character assaults into close combat, the character assaults too, as it is part of the unit."
If the unit assaults then the IC has also assaulted.

"When the attacks are resolved, however, independent characters are always treated as a separate single-model unit".
They only count as separate units for resolving attacks.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Scott-S6 wrote:P49
"If a unit that has been joined by an independent character assaults into close combat, the character assaults too, as it is part of the unit."
If the unit assaults then the IC has also assaulted.

"When the attacks are resolved, however, independent characters are always treated as a separate single-model unit".
They only count as separate units for resolving attacks.


As P.49 says: he was a part of the squad when the unit assaulted he is considered to have assaulted with them. Even if he was out of position to get into B2B contact.

He is only a separate unit "When the attacks are resolved"

his abilities will work as long as he assaulted with his squad.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






DeathReaper wrote:
Scott-S6 wrote:P49
"If a unit that has been joined by an independent character assaults into close combat, the character assaults too, as it is part of the unit."
If the unit assaults then the IC has also assaulted.
"When the attacks are resolved, however, independent characters are always treated as a separate single-model unit".
They only count as separate units for resolving attacks.

As P.49 says: he was a part of the squad when the unit assaulted he is considered to have assaulted with them. Even if he was out of position to get into B2B contact.
He is only a separate unit "When the attacks are resolved"
his abilities will work as long as he assaulted with his squad.

Exactly so.
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

Sephyr wrote:
Suppose a SM chaplain is charging an enemy IC in the company of a squad of assault terminators with thunder hammers. Said IC (let's make it Mephiston) focuses his attacks on the chaplain and kills it before either the chap or the assault termis get to strike.

Do the remaining SS/TH termies still get the chaplain re-roll to hit when theyr strike at Ini 1?


Just a quick nitpick. Mephiston isn't an Independent Character.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: