Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/11 04:57:26
Subject: Sweeping advances?
|
 |
Beast of Nurgle
East Texas
|
SO I was playing warhammer tonight and two really awesome things happened for me with sweeping advances (playing CSM vs IG) but it seems so cheesy that I want to make sure we played correctly.
First
My daemon prince assaulted two units at the same time, and killed 4 people in one unit. Both units failed to wound my prince. They both then took and failed morale tests. At this point is where im unsure how the rules work. The way i read the rules (my opponent too) is that I can sweeping advance both of them as long as I roll the check for each squad and win. Which I did. Is this correct?
Scenario 2
This is possibly the best thing to ever happen to me in a game. One plague marine assaulted a combined IG squad ( so like 20 ish guys). They failed to wound the plague marine even once. I inflicted 1 wound. My opponent then failed the morale check, and I beat him in the sweeping advance (since he lost combat I get to attempt a sweeping advance, right?) and wiped the whole damn squad with 1 Plague marine. I perused the rules and saw nothing that said I couldnt do this, but it seems wayyy too cheesy to be true. So my question is again, did we play this right?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/11 05:03:22
Subject: Sweeping advances?
|
 |
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster
East Coast
|
Both of these scenarios are legal. I do agree that the second one seems a little far out but that's just how some rules are. With the first one just remember that if one of his two units stayed in combat then you cant sweep the one falling back
|
'When in deadly danger,
When beset by doubt,
Run in little circles,
Wave your arms and shout.'
-Parody of the Litany of Command,
popular among commissar cadets |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/11 05:05:29
Subject: Re:Sweeping advances?
|
 |
Beast of Nurgle
East Texas
|
yeah, I dont honestly see this happening except against massed guard squads. And the rolls were just horrid. But this gives me gloating rights. Thanks for the help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/11 05:08:30
Subject: Sweeping advances?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
#1) Correct, mostly. The winning side is free to make a sweeping advance if it is no longer locked in combat. Each winning unit makes one roll for Sweeping Advance.
I.E. if all of the opposing units fail their Morale check you Roll the die once, not multiple times, and any you beat you successfully Sweeping advance and wipe them out.
#2) Yes 1 lone plague marine can Sweeping Advance a squad of any size.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/11 05:09:31
Subject: Sweeping advances?
|
 |
Beast of Nurgle
East Texas
|
DeathReaper wrote:#1) Correct, mostly. The winning side is free to make a sweeping advance if it is no longer locked in combat. Each winning unit makes one roll for Sweeping Advance.
I.E. if all of the opposing units fail their Morale check you Roll the die once, not multiple times, and any you beat you successfully Sweeping advance and wipe them out.
#2) Yes 1 lone plague marine can Sweeping Advance a squad of any size.
Thats good to know that I only have to make the check once. Its not too clear on how this works in the book.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/11 05:33:38
Subject: Sweeping advances?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Actually, the first situation was not legal.
A single model can not assault multiple units. You have to declare your assault against a single enemy unit. The only legal way that a multiple assault can be performed is for subsequent models to be moved into contact with other units. You can not move your initial charging model into contact with a unit that you did not declare an assault against. And since you only declare the assault against a single unit, units that consist of a single model can only ever assault a single enemy.
Spin it around, and have the Prince assaulted by two enemy units, and you would have had a legal scenario, other than the whole only rolling once for Sweeping Advance thing....
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/11 05:34:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/11 06:11:16
Subject: Re:Sweeping advances?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Also important to note that in Scenario #1, if one squad had passed their Leadership test, the Daemon Prince would not be able to Sweeping Advance the running unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/11 06:34:00
Subject: Re:Sweeping advances?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I still can't believe he had a blob of 20 guys with no commisar or even a standard nearby
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/11 10:08:43
Subject: Re:Sweeping advances?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
omerakk wrote:I still can't believe he had a blob of 20 guys with no commisar or even a standard nearby
He may have, I've managed to fail two LD 9 tests in a row on numerous occasions...............
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/11 11:36:56
Subject: Re:Sweeping advances?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
When the dice gods hate you........
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/11 13:10:26
Subject: Sweeping advances?
|
 |
Ultramarine Scout with Sniper Rifle
|
insaniak wrote:Actually, the first situation was not legal.
A single model can not assault multiple units. You have to declare your assault against a single enemy unit. The only legal way that a multiple assault can be performed is for subsequent models to be moved into contact with other units. You can not move your initial charging model into contact with a unit that you did not declare an assault against. And since you only declare the assault against a single unit, units that consist of a single model can only ever assault a single enemy.
Im not so sure about this part -- where does it say that your initial model can't be in b2b with a unit you didn't declare assault against? All I can find is that the assaulting model must move into B2B with the closest model in the enemy unit using the shortest route possible.
If you pretend the below ASCII art is three units (small base far left and two large based models), assume the far right "O" is assaulting the tiny "o", then the shortest possible path to the tiny "o" would easily put it in base to base with both units.
oO O
|
1800
500
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/11 13:19:17
Subject: Sweeping advances?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The rules state you cannot be in btb with a unit you are not assaulting
The first model to move in an assault can ONLY move into btb with the unit it is assaulting.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/11 13:19:53
Subject: Sweeping advances?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
The first issue with your argument is the rules are permissive, so you need to be given permission to do something.
The second problem is as Insaniak said, the rule permit you to base a single unit, the one you declared the assault against. There is no provision for the first model charging to move into base contact with the unit you did not declare as your assault target.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/11 13:35:16
Subject: Sweeping advances?
|
 |
Ultramarine Scout with Sniper Rifle
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:The rules state you cannot be in btb with a unit you are not assaulting
The first model to move in an assault can ONLY move into btb with the unit it is assaulting.
Your first sentence I agree with, where does it say "The first model to move in an assault can ONLY move into btb with the unit it is assaulting." What I read is:
"Move the model into contact with the nearest enemy model in the unit being assaulted, using the shortest possible route." p.34
"As usual the closest attacking model must be moved to contact the closest model in the enemy unit against which the assault was declared." p.34
Automatically Appended Next Post: calypso2ts wrote:The first issue with your argument is the rules are permissive, so you need to be given permission to do something.
The second problem is as Insaniak said, the rule permit you to base a single unit, the one you declared the assault against. There is no provision for the first model charging to move into base contact with the unit you did not declare as your assault target.
The rules tell me to move it into B2B with the closest enemy model in the unit I'm declaring assault on using the shortest route. By definition, that shortest route will also be in base to base with the front model in the above configuration, assuming both the small enemy base and large enemy base are in B2B.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/11 13:37:03
1800
500
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/11 13:42:37
Subject: Sweeping advances?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Read the first paragraph of "Moving Assaulting Models"
"..and may not move into base contact with enemy models from a unit they are not assaulting"
You then read the rules allowing you to assault multiple units:
"..THEN remaining models can assault models belonging to other enemy units"
The shortest path is therefore one which does NOT move you into btb with a mdoel from another enemy unit, as ONLY the following models have permission to move into another unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/11 13:50:41
Subject: Sweeping advances?
|
 |
Ultramarine Scout with Sniper Rifle
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Read the first paragraph of "Moving Assaulting Models"
"..and may not move into base contact with enemy models from a unit they are not assaulting"
You then read the rules allowing you to assault multiple units:
"..THEN remaining models can assault models belonging to other enemy units"
The shortest path is therefore one which does NOT move you into btb with a mdoel from another enemy unit, as ONLY the following models have permission to move into another unit.
Ahh, excellent emphasis on the word "then," I had read that as "The" which made it sound more like a clarification to me (to point out that their movement is free, so long as they follow assault rules) rather than a whole new indication of ability to assault separate from the lead model. Thanks!
|
1800
500
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/11 14:14:35
Subject: Sweeping advances?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No worries, they could have made it a bit clearer I reckon
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/11 14:58:57
Subject: Sweeping advances?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
It's something folks not-infrequently overlook. It comes up pretty regularly.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
|