Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/11 18:20:54
Subject: Trapped! Questions
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Scenario:
Eldar player moved behind a squad of my boyz and a Deff Dread. He disembarked and did the nasty with his Dire Avengers (Doom, Bladestorm Etc.) -- With the re-rolls all said and done he killed about 15 boyz.
I immobilised his wave serpent which landed behind his avengers, and then I moved my Boyz and Deff Dread towards him and killed off enough (Skorcha on the Dread) of his units to force a leadership, which he unfortunately managed to fail.
The VERY crudely drawn pic shows the jist of the terrain and positioning.
He rolled a 6 for his fallback move, which puts him right into my Boyz/Dread. -- There was enough room for him to run around my Boyz and squeeze between them and the board edge on the right, and since this was technically the shortest route to his own board edge, he had to go that way, but doing so and rolling a 6 for movement put him 1" or less from my models.
He thought he could move backward around the bunker, but I argued that would count as doubling back, which from the Trapped! wording makes it sound like he is not allowed to do so.
Was he Trapped! and subsequently, the unit died?
Hope this wasn't too confusing.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2011/05/11 18:22:53
::1750:: Deathwatch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/11 18:29:18
Subject: Re:Trapped! Questions
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Can he squeeze in between the WS and the bunker? If so, then he is not Trapped!
"Doubling-back" doesn't care about actual distance moved closer to the board edge. What it actually cares about is how your movement takes you from the start position. If, in order to move the whole 6", he'd have to move one way, and then move the opposite direction (effectively going nowhere/less than 6") then he would be Trapped!
The picture in the rulebook actually demonstrates this, and the FAQ specifically addresses the point that moving away from the baord edge does not result in Trapped! on its own.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/11 18:30:18
Subject: Trapped! Questions
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
He can move around the bunker. By "doubling back" they mean that the unit is unable to move anywhere during the fallback move except back and forth in their own tracks.
They clarify this in the main rulebook FAQ, by stating that to be destroyed the unit has to be completely surrounded. Page 2:
http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1620222a_40k_Rulebook_version_1_2.pdf
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/11 18:45:33
Subject: Re:Trapped! Questions
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
somerandomdude wrote:Can he squeeze in between the WS and the bunker? If so, then he is not Trapped!
"Doubling-back" doesn't care about actual distance moved closer to the board edge. What it actually cares about is how your movement takes you from the start position. If, in order to move the whole 6", he'd have to move one way, and then move the opposite direction (effectively going nowhere/less than 6") then he would be Trapped!
The picture in the rulebook actually demonstrates this, and the FAQ specifically addresses the point that moving away from the baord edge does not result in Trapped! on its own.
The wave serpent was pretty close to the bunker, that bases of his models scraped the edges of the bunker/ WS (moving the serpent slightly) so that was another "iffy" move. If the WS was too close to the bunker and he couldn't squeeze through, then he would have been trapped for sure?
I also had another squad of boyz that I could move to block him from the other side so he would have been trapped either way, but getting clarification on doubling back and how he has to move during fallback was something that was confusing.
|
::1750:: Deathwatch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/11 19:26:33
Subject: Trapped! Questions
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
As the FAQ specifies, the unit has to be completely surrounded by enemy models and/or impassible terrain, to the extent that it has nowhere to go except back and forth or in circles in the same patch of ground.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/11 20:19:08
Subject: Trapped! Questions
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
If he has to move the waveserpent and can't get around the ork boys, while staying at least 1" away from them then he's trapped. But if there is enough room to get around the wavesepent then he can go that direction without being considered trapped.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/12 05:45:13
Subject: Trapped! Questions
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
As vox said, if there was room around the wave serpent, either between the bunker and the WS, or between the edge of the board and the WS then they are not trapped.
The unit that is falling back is only trapped if it it totally surrounded with nowhere to go.
Of course If the bunker was just difficult terrain and not a 'Building' then they could just run through the terrain.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/12 06:27:08
Subject: Trapped! Questions
|
 |
Deadshot Weapon Moderati
|
The bunker was impassible terrain right? If not they could simply fall back through the bunker.
|
"Innocence Proves Nothing... Except That You've Done Nothing Wrong"
Welcome to the Daemonhunters, the ranks of the exalted Ordo Malleus and their cannon fod....er, I mean, loyal allies. Remember...the only ones who need fear the righteous might of the Ordo Malleus are the Daemonic.
quote: Dashofpepper: ...sad rivulet of demon prince tears. He ponders for a moment, then lashes the demon hunters into him. He assaults them, kills a terminator or two....and then demon hunters being demon hunters....they proceed to wtfpwn him. Second player leaves the table... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/12 13:37:09
Subject: Re:Trapped! Questions
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
The bunker was treated like a vehicle and had a unit of lootas embarked in it.
|
::1750:: Deathwatch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/12 13:43:27
Subject: Trapped! Questions
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
As long as there is any possible route to move the rolled distance, the unit is not trapped.
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/12 20:08:56
Subject: Trapped! Questions
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Jidmah wrote:As long as there is any possible route to move the rolled distance, the unit is not trapped.
+1. This is the way I always explain it to people who are unsure about the rule.
|
|
 |
 |
|