Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/12 11:06:56
Subject: Markerlight question
|
 |
Hungry Little Ripper
|
Hey!
If I use a few markerlight on a transport vehicle and 1 of my units destroys the vehicle. Does the remaining markerlights stay on the disembarked unit?
|
Tyranid & Tau Empire |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/12 11:15:30
Subject: Markerlight question
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
No, the mark lights only work on the unit that they're targeted at. Transport dies you loose those marker light (edit) hits.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/12 11:16:30
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/12 16:59:11
Subject: Markerlight question
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
The transport is a separate unit from the unit inside. This is made clear by the fact that it gives a kill point and can operate independently from the unit if necessary.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/14 16:13:09
Subject: Markerlight question
|
 |
Hungry Little Ripper
|
juraigamer wrote:The transport is a separate unit from the unit inside. This is made clear by the fact that it gives a kill point and can operate independently from the unit if necessary.
Ye I know that, but stil a unit firing at a vehicle, can assault the unit inside if vehicle is destroyed
|
Tyranid & Tau Empire |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/14 16:28:01
Subject: Markerlight question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
But the 'unit firing at a vehicle' rules tell us you can not blow up the transport and then kill the now disembarked unit with that units other shooting.
As the Shooting rules go, you pick a target, check LoS then if you have LoS you fire all that units weapons at the chosen target.
So if the vehicle is the target that is the only thing the markerlight will affect.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/14 17:58:18
Subject: Markerlight question
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
A transport is always a separate unit for all purposes during the game. Even a Dedicated Transport; see page 92.
The only reason a given unit can still assault an enemy unit after blowing up their transport in the shooting phase is because page 67 makes an explicit exception to allow that.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/14 17:58:45
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/16 08:43:00
Subject: Markerlight question
|
 |
Water-Caste Negotiator
|
Follow up question: Can I put a Markeright token on a unit inside a Transport? I can't shoot them when they're inside the Vehicle, but once it blows up, they're marked...
Would the fact it was Open-Topped matter?
|
DS:70+S-G+M--B-I++Pw40k11#+D++A+/areWD-R+T(D)DM+
elchristoff wrote:Shoot the choppy things, chop the shooty things :-)
GENERATION 8: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/16 10:14:48
Subject: Markerlight question
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
Bounty wrote:Follow up question: Can I put a Markeright token on a unit inside a Transport? I can't shoot them when they're inside the Vehicle, but once it blows up, they're marked...
Would the fact it was Open-Topped matter?
you need LOS (which you haven't got) and to be able to target a unit in a transport with a shooting attack (which can't do). Being open-topped makes no difference.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/16 11:09:54
Subject: Markerlight question
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
You can never draw LoS to embarked models.
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/18 09:33:13
Subject: Markerlight question
|
 |
Wondering Why the Emperor Left
|
juraigamer wrote:The transport is a separate unit from the unit inside. This is made clear by the fact that it gives a kill point and can operate independently from the unit if necessary.
i didn't realise you got seperate kill tokens for transports. In the space marine codex they are effectively bought as an upgrade for units so i always believed they counted as one. my cousin plays chaos and does the same.
quite of topic, sorry.
|
Luna Wolves
Pre-Heresy Thousand Sons
Pre-Heresy Space Wolves
Orks |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/19 01:04:41
Subject: Markerlight question
|
 |
Water-Caste Negotiator
|
I actually thought there was an exclusion for Dedicated Transports from Kill Points. But I'm a newb, and have apparently gottten most my rules info from TFG, so I've no clue if that's true, or where you'd find it in the BRB if it were.
Also, it may have been exclusive to Tau Pathfinders, for whom the Transport is required wargear, not an option.
|
DS:70+S-G+M--B-I++Pw40k11#+D++A+/areWD-R+T(D)DM+
elchristoff wrote:Shoot the choppy things, chop the shooty things :-)
GENERATION 8: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/19 01:11:18
Subject: Markerlight question
|
 |
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard
|
Nope.
Even pathfinders with their Mandatory transport still have it count as an extra killpoint (because it is STILL a separate unit.) just like any other DT.
|
I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.
That is not dead which can eternal lie ...
... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
|
|
 |
 |
|