Switch Theme:

Correct use of wound allocation?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




USA

Just a quick question.

Earlier today I was playing a game against nids with my orks. I had a squad of 8 nobs (including painboy) that were all equipped with different wargear to take advantage of the wound allocation rules. The squad takes an unsaved wound from one tyranid unit in the shooting phase. Later in that same phase, the nobs are hit with a heavy venom cannon fired by a different unit of nids, inflicting two wounds (prior to my invuln save due to cybork bodies). Well, I allocated one of those two wounds to the same nob that was previously injured (but not by the unit firing the hvc), and the other to an unwounded nob. The unwounded nob made his save, but the wounded one did not.

Well, my opponent and I got into a minor disagreement. He believed that I had to take off an unwounded nob, but I tried to explain that since all of the nobs were equipped differently, I had to allocate wounds from the firing unit prior to rolling any saves. To my understanding, it did not matter that the weapon caused ID; since that specific wound was allocated to a nob with only one wound left, I had to take that specific model off the table as a casualty because no other nobs were equipped as he was.

This is correct, isn't it?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/22 04:38:14


 
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One






you are correct
   
Made in nz
Raging Ravener





From my reading of the rule you are correct in how you went about wound allocating. So if you had allocated the wound to the unwounded model he would have too be removed but as you didn't then you are correct. if they had been the same you would still have removed a wounded model as you must remove whole models as casualties where possible.

May Your Souls Be Sacrificed As Penance To The True Machine God
By The Way The Flag Is New Zealand Not Australia.

The Machine is strong. We must purge the weak, hated flesh and replace it with the blessed purity of metal. Only through permanence can we truly triumph, only through the Machine can we find victory. Punish the flesh. Iron in mind and in body. Hail the Machine. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You allocate wounds evenly

You then GROUP wounds into groups of like models

You then take saves, and remove models as required from *within* the group

It is the enitre point of diversified nobs. Stick a warboss in there and you could have allocated that S9 shot on him, as well...
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Waaaaghmaster wrote:He believed that I had to take off an unwounded nob

He is almost correct.

You must remove an unwounded nob from the group of identically equipped nobs to whom the wound was allocated.

Since that was a group of one then that one model was removed, even though it was already wounded. If there had been another identical model in the squad who was unwounded then that model would have been removed.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: