Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/26 13:32:48
Subject: Is the roll of “1” always makes the action to fail? ?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Q. Killakan (armour 11) hit with strength 10 Weapon and the opponent rolled 1 for strength of hit still claiming Glance, is that correct ?
If yes, which other actions are failed on roll of 1 apart of :
- Shooting
- HTH hit
- Wonding (hth and shooting)
- Warp (psionic) on double 1
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/26 13:41:47
Subject: Is the roll of “1” always makes the action to fail? ?
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
A 1 to glance is a 1 to glance. Unless the rules say so a '1' is not an auto-fail, and armor penetration does not say so.
Shooting will never hit on a 1 because the rules say so. You get rerolls for BS better than 5.
HTH will hit on 3+ at best, unless the attacking model is using special wargear/rules.
Wounds will never wound on a 1 because the table is that way, there is no 1+ poison either.
Double '1' on psy tests is actually a successful roll, you just get hit by perils in the process.
Characteristic tests will always fail on a 6.
Leadership tests will always fail on double '6', mostly due to characteristics, including LD being capped at 10.
Saving throws can never be better than 2+, so they basically auto-fail on '1', too.
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/26 13:58:31
Subject: Is the roll of “1” always makes the action to fail? ?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
There is no general rule that a "1" is always a fail; in fact it would be immediately contradicted by the rules for Characteristic Tests, which state that a roll of a 1 is *always& a pass.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/26 14:45:02
Subject: Is the roll of “1” always makes the action to fail? ?
|
 |
Long-Range Ultramarine Land Speeder Pilot
|
In fact, when shooting str 10 weapons, there are situations where you don't even need to roll for penetration because they "auto-penetrate" versus armor 10 (str 10 + 1D6 is always at least 11). Automatically Appended Next Post: Also double 1's on leadership tests is in fact a critical success (I believe the rules call it "insane heroism") and double 1s for IG orders gives you a free bonus order.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/26 14:45:43
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/26 15:12:38
Subject: Is the roll of “1” always makes the action to fail? ?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Funny. I played a guy once where my Warboss assaulted an immoblized Rhino. STR 10 on the charge autohitting rear armor 10, meant I was going to get 6 (add in the attack squig) penetrating hits. He still requested I roll to see the strength of the hits he was taking. Even on a 1 the worste I was going to get would be an 11. Go figure.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/26 15:18:56
Subject: Is the roll of “1” always makes the action to fail? ?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
maybe he was trying to wear out your lucky dice rolling
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/26 15:19:06
|
|
 |
 |
|