Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/26 23:09:25
Subject: Lone IC's in dedicated transports?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Can a lone independent character start in a dedicated transport, without accompanying a squad. This was just a rules question that appeared out of nowhere in my head. I can't see why I'd want to do it, but it is an interesting issue to try and figure out.
P67.- "The only limitation of a dedicated transport is that when it is deployed it can only carry the unit it was selected with (plus any independent characters)..."
The "plus any independent characters" is unclear if it means attached independent characters, or if it is listing it as an additional option, for example "I like blue clothes (plus any with polka-dots)." If the rule said "...can only carry the unit it was selected with (plus any dreadnoughts)," would you then argue that it can't actually carry the dreadnought since it is not purchased with the transport?
To further illustrate my point, read the transport rules on p. 66, it doesn't even say that IC's have to join the unit in the transport, it just says "A transport may carry a single infantry unit and/or any number of independent characters..." A unit and any number if IC's, it doesn't say a unit with IC's attached, not that it has any bearing on the main question asked, it just shows that IC's tend to follow different rules entirely for transports.
I posted this on Warseer and got the usual "if you don't agree with me you're wrong" arguments, so I thought I'd try it here for a change.
Thanks!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/26 23:10:31
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/26 23:18:06
Subject: Lone IC's in dedicated transports?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The IC is not the unit it was bought for. The Parenthesis is there simply to say that, if you attach ICs to the unit that bought it, they can still embark in the DR
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/26 23:35:25
Subject: Lone IC's in dedicated transports?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Thank you for the response nosferatu1001, I dont' want to sound like I'm splitting hairs but I'm afraid I have to disagree, the parentheses only say "(plus any independent characters)," it doesn't make any mention of attached or otherwise.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/26 23:36:00
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/26 23:40:49
Subject: Lone IC's in dedicated transports?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
It includes that restriction by including the ICs in parenthesis rather than as a separate statement.
You can embark the unit plus any ICs. Not ICs by themselves.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/26 23:42:34
Subject: Lone IC's in dedicated transports?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
insaniak wrote:It includes that restriction by including the ICs in parenthesis rather than as a separate statement.
You can embark the unit plus any ICs. Not ICs by themselves.
Yeah, someone just finally pointed that out on warseer, the parentheses turn the statement into a subsidiary clause, so it can only be valid if the other clause is valid, yaddah yaddah...
Thanks guys, especially for being more civil, I think I'll be posting my rules questions here first now...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/26 23:44:39
Subject: Lone IC's in dedicated transports?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
But to start in the DT, you have to have a unit in there, otherwise you can not add the IC. it can only carry the unit it was selected with (plus any independent characters). That is why they say "(plus any independent characters)". You can not add an IC to a squad if they are not in the same transport. the "(plus any independent characters)" is saying the squad needs to be there to attach an IC to.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/26 23:45:36
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/27 00:14:43
Subject: Lone IC's in dedicated transports?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
minionboy wrote:
I posted this on Warseer and got the usual "if you don't agree with me you're wrong" arguments, so I thought I'd try it here for a change.
Thanks!
No, we actually said pretty much the same thing you've been told here. Deal with it.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/27 00:33:19
Subject: Lone IC's in dedicated transports?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
don_mondo wrote:minionboy wrote:
I posted this on Warseer and got the usual "if you don't agree with me you're wrong" arguments, so I thought I'd try it here for a change.
Thanks!
No, we actually said pretty much the same thing you've been told here. Deal with it.
Actually, here they gave me an answer without being rude, on Warseer I'm sorry to say, the responses were negative and condescending before someone put together a thoughtful and accurate response.
Also, there is no sense in telling me to "Deal with it"." I'm not complaining about the ruling, I was just looking for the answer on why that perspective is correct, instead your response was literally "Well, if you want to say that this isn't clear, then nothing we can say will help you." Telling me to "Deal with it" only further illustrates my point on why I avoided Warseer after your response and posted it here.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/27 01:08:59
Subject: Lone IC's in dedicated transports?
|
 |
Space Marine Scout with Sniper Rifle
|
What about the reverse of this scenario?
can a lord commissar start in his dedicated transport? also can a unit attach to him and start inside the chimera?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/27 01:24:29
Subject: Lone IC's in dedicated transports?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
RAW I'd have to say no, but he could go in there with any other IC's you wanted.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/27 01:53:39
Subject: Lone IC's in dedicated transports?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
insaniak wrote:It includes that restriction by including the ICs in parenthesis rather than as a separate statement.
You can embark the unit plus any ICs. Not ICs by themselves.
Just to clarify something which is a bit off the OP's question:
A lone IC can still get into a transport, but later in the game, yes?
This'll come up a lot for me, so I'd like to walk this around a bit. I frequently use haems and wyches starting in the girls' raider. Often, everyone gets out, heading separate directions for destruction and fun. Let's say my wyches are still busy, but after using the Shattershard my haem decides it's time to head for a transport.
It is okay for him to hop into an empty raider or venom somewhere in Turn 3?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/27 01:53:51
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/27 01:57:28
Subject: Lone IC's in dedicated transports?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
The commissar can start in his own transport, yes, of course. He is the unit to which the transport belongs.
Any IC joined to him could also start in his transport. A squad that he is joined to could not... it's his transport, and they're not ICs. Automatically Appended Next Post: Brothererekose wrote:A lone IC can still get into a transport, but later in the game, yes?
Yes, so long as he is infantry, he can board transports just the same as any other infantry unit.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/27 01:59:18
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/27 03:38:02
Subject: Lone IC's in dedicated transports?
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
don_mondo wrote:minionboy wrote:
I posted this on Warseer and got the usual "if you don't agree with me you're wrong" arguments, so I thought I'd try it here for a change.
Thanks!
No, we actually said pretty much the same thing you've been told here. Deal with it.
So.... you chased his other post down here to prove to him you could be rude on two forums?!
|
DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0
QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/27 04:04:47
Subject: Lone IC's in dedicated transports?
|
 |
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker
|
Lobukia wrote:don_mondo wrote:minionboy wrote:
I posted this on Warseer and got the usual "if you don't agree with me you're wrong" arguments, so I thought I'd try it here for a change.
Thanks!
No, we actually said pretty much the same thing you've been told here. Deal with it.
So.... you chased his other post down here to prove to him you could be rude on two forums?!
That's what I call dedication. LMFAO
|
It is the 3rd Millennium. For more than a hundred months Games Workshop has sat immobile on the Golden Throne of Nottingham. It is the foremost of wargames by the will of the neckbeards, and master of a million tabletops by the might of their inexhaustible wallets. It is a rotting carcass writhing invisibly with business strategies from the early Industrial Revolution Age. It is the Carrion Lord of the wargaming scene for whom a thousand veteran players are sacrificed every day, so that it may never truly die. Yet even in its deathless state, GW continues its eternal vigilance. Mighty battleforce starter-sets cross the online-store-infested miasma of the internet, the only route between distant countries, their way lit by a draconian retail trade-agreement, the legal manifestation of the GW's will. Vast armies of lawyers give battle in GW's name on uncounted websites. Greatest amongst its soldiers are the Guardians of the IP, the Legal Team, bio-engineered super-donkey-caves. Their comrades in arms are legion: the writing team and countless untested rulebooks, the ever vigilant redshirts, and the writers of White Dwarf, to name only a few. But for all their multitudes, they are barely enough to hold off the ever-present threat from other games, their own incompetence, Based Chinaman - and worse. To support Games Workshop in such times is to spend untold billions. It is to support the cruelest and most dickish company imaginable. These are the tales of those times. Forget the power of sales discounts and Warhammer Fantasy Battle, for so much has been dropped, never to be re-published again. Forget the promise of cheaper digital content and caring about the fanbase, for in the GW HQ there is only profit-seeking, Space Marines and Sigmarines. There is no fun amongst the hobby shops, only an eternity of raging and spending, and the laughter of former employees who left GW to join better companies. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/27 05:46:54
Subject: Lone IC's in dedicated transports?
|
 |
Rifleman Grey Knight Venerable Dreadnought
Realm of Hobby
|
sub-zero wrote:Lobukia wrote:don_mondo wrote:minionboy wrote:
I posted this on Warseer and got the usual "if you don't agree with me you're wrong" arguments, so I thought I'd try it here for a change.
Thanks!
No, we actually said pretty much the same thing you've been told here. Deal with it.
So.... you chased his other post down here to prove to him you could be rude on two forums?!
That's what I call dedication. LMFAO
I would now encourage everyone in this thread to click on the little Triangle of Friendship on don_mondo's post.
Enjoy your weekends!
|
 MikZor wrote:
We can't help that american D&D is pretty much daily life for us (Aussies)
Walking to shops, "i'll take a short cut through this bush", random encounter! Lizard with no legs.....
I kid  Since i avoid bushlands that is
But we're not that bad... are we?  |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/27 05:54:41
Subject: Lone IC's in dedicated transports?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
I think we're done here.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|