Switch Theme:

No Retreat on wyches  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Los Angeles

RuleBook, page 44, RH column, the "except for Cover Saves" sentence and the rest.

Let's say player Bob's Wyches have earned Fearless status with 3 pain tokens, but they lose a combat, by 4 wounds. He thinks that according to the cited passage, they can use their Invulnerable h2h Save against the No Retreat wounds.

Fran says no, it's no longer h2h, so only the army saves apply.

Who is right?

"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.

"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013

Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Dodge - "against wounds caused by close combat attacks."

That's a very specific wording. If it had said "against wounds inflicted in close combat" then it might work. As it is, it does not.

ETA - P44 tells you that there is no prohibition against using invulnerable saves. That does not mean that the dodge save can be used. The shooting rules tell us that invulnerable saves may be taken against normal shooting attacks, doesn't mean that dodge applies.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/05/28 18:14:32


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Los Angeles

Scott-S6 wrote:ETA - P44 tells you that there is no prohibition against using invulnerable saves.
Right. Okay. So how do you come to this conclusion/interpretation:
Scott-S6 wrote:That does not mean that the dodge save can be used.
?

No Retreat says, "All types of Saving throws, except for Cover Saves, can be taken against these wounds."

I interpret that as All types includes the wyches' crappy Armor Save and their Invuln/Dodge, "all". The only noted exception is Cover.

So, politely I ask, can you cite something else than:
Scott-S6 wrote:The shooting rules tell us that invulnerable saves may be taken against normal shooting attacks, doesn't mean that dodge applies.
... because we're not talking about shooting rules, nor a shooting situation.

We're talking about No Retreat wounds.

"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.

"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013

Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

No Retreat wounds are not "wounds caused by close combat attacks." They are caused because you lost combat.

So the Dodge - "against wounds caused by close combat attacks." would not apply and you would have to take armor saves Vs the No Retreat wounds.

However demons, that have no armor save and only an Invuln save can use their Invuln save against no retreat wounds.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/28 19:31:27


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




As above

NR! wounds are NOT caused by close combat attacks, they are caused by the NR! rule. No Dodge save
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Brothererekose wrote:
Scott-S6 wrote:ETA - P44 tells you that there is no prohibition against using invulnerable saves.
Right. Okay. So how do you come to this conclusion/interpretation:
Scott-S6 wrote:That does not mean that the dodge save can be used.
?
No Retreat says, "All types of Saving throws, except for Cover Saves, can be taken against these wounds."
I interpret that as All types includes the wyches' crappy Armor Save and their Invuln/Dodge, "all". The only noted exception is Cover.

No retreat tells us that invulnerable saves may be taken. If I had an invulnerable that only worked against shooting attacks would I be able to use it? No, because no retreat wounds are not shooting attacks. Likewise, the dodge invulnerable only works against close combat attacks. No retreat wounds are not close combat attacks.

Brothererekose wrote:We're talking about No Retreat wounds.

If you want to use the dodge save against no retreat wounds you need to find a way to show that they are "wounds caused by close combat attacks".

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/05/28 21:09:09


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: