In a recent game against my friend's Grey Knight army I dropped and orbital bombardment on his troops that hit dead on, he argued using his codex it still scatters based on the small arrow on the dice. I not having mine could not argue but felt that wrong, so long story short I lost the game. I went home and read both codexes on the subject scavenged the official
faq and found nothing to that effect for space marine for simplicity sake here are Both Army's rules
SM
Note that if an arrow is rolled on the scatter dice an orbital
bombardment will always scatter the full 2D6" - the Chapter
Master's Ballistic Skill makes no difference
My interpratation of this is an actual arrow image on my scatter dice not the little triangles on my hit marker
GK
Note Orbital Strikes always scatter the full 2d6" in direction shown (if a hit is rolled they scatter the direction of the small arrow on the hit symbol)
The fact that
GK specify this is different from the space marine codex wording. which in my opinion makes it exclusive for their army
Am I wrong? OR should there have been pummeled grey knights under my template?