Switch Theme:

Hits vs Garrisoned unit in the building (ruins)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in es
Regular Dakkanaut




Troll's Cave


So the situation: on last game I shot with template (grotzukas) at unit (space marines) next to building (ruins) which was occupied (scouts). The template scatters on to the building (ruins) and I was going to claim a hit against the building (6 strength vs 10 armour) but my opponent has said I can’t as the template did not hit any of his units …. His 2nd argument was: “I intend to hit the unit not the building …..”

My argument was that the template actually hits the building and does not have to hit any unit …. It can be glanced or pen as per RBR (rules of transporting units)

Q. does the hit vs building are resolved only when the template hits the occupying unit? Do I have to intend to hit the building to claim damage to it??? For me that doesn’t make sense…



 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




First off - its a blast marker. Templates are the tear drop

Secondly - the Building is a valid target, when occupied by an enemy, so your shot can perfectly validly scatter onto the building

Thirdly: you can NEVER hit the occupying units with a blast marker, as they are embarked. THink of buildings as static vehicles...
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

Was it a BUILDING or RUINS?

They are two separate entities with different rules.

Buildings: You cannot target any embarked troops*, but you CAN shoot at the building, hoping to bring it down and force them to leave it (if you wreck or destroy it, it becomes ruins with the embarked troops OUTSIDE of it).

Ruins: You MAY NOT target the ruins, but MAY shoot at any troops located within it (LOS dependent), but the troops gain a cover save**

* Template weapons excepted. These may be fired through any of the building's declared "fire points" and will deal d6 hits on embarked models.

** Template weapons, will of course deny this cover save.

I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The fact it had an AV suggests a Building.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Or that they were a little confused about the rules for buildings and ruins, backed up by the fact they he referred to it as both.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Potentially.

Also at AV10 its quite a weak building! A little better than an AV9 shed, however....
   
Made in es
Regular Dakkanaut




Troll's Cave

Ok let’s clarify this one, it was a half ruined building (agreed before game that due to being 50% destroyed is Armou 10) , 3 stores with balcony ,on page nr 83 of RBR it says how to resolve the hits form blast or flamers, but thanks for reminding me about this: the occupied building should be treated same as transport (as we agreed before the game it’s the building I should get my hit resolved)

At Nosferatu1001- English is not my first language, but fire template or blast template is form logical point of view it’s still just a “template”. Might be different rules for the different templates but this in different part of the story: P



 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Its ok - GW manage to occasionally reference Blast "templates", however if you check the BRB it should say "blast marker" and "large blast marker", and not "blast template"

So, if you were playing it as an INTACT BUILDING, aka NOT a ruin (I would call it "semi destroyed" to avoid using the term "ruin" anywehere near it) then you were perfectly able to target the building, or even scatter into the building - it is in effect an enemy unit when occupioed by an enemy.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





god.ra wrote:At Nosferatu1001- English is not my first language, but fire template or blast template is form logical point of view it’s still just a “template”. Might be different rules for the different templates but this in different part of the story: P


Perfectly understandable. The reason this is brought up as often as it is is because there are specific rules for templates, and even though 99 out of 100 people who refer to blast markers incorrectly still understand the difference, there is 1 that get confused.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: