| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/01 14:46:54
Subject: Is it possible with RAW to give Logan's "The High King" rule to 2 units?
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
It says that the unit he is with is granted the ability for the duration of the turn, so if he was to die when he granted them preferred enemy they would clearly still get it, but what I am wondering about is since dying would basically have the same effect as leaving the unit would it not be possilbe to give it to another unit be joining them seeing as the original units keeps the rule RAW wise for the duration of the turn and seeing as he is with another therefore grants the ability onto them since he has now joined them.
P.S This is mroe of a RAW arguement then actually trying to use this for any future posters.
|
My purpose in life is to ruin yours. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/01 15:06:08
Subject: Is it possible with RAW to give Logan's "The High King" rule to 2 units?
|
 |
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought
|
Grey elder wrote:It says that the unit he is with is granted the ability for the duration of the turn, so if he was to die when he granted them preferred enemy they would clearly still get it, but what I am wondering about is since dying would basically have the same effect as leaving the unit would it not be possilbe to give it to another unit be joining them seeing as the original units keeps the rule RAW wise for the duration of the turn and seeing as he is with another therefore grants the ability onto them since he has now joined them.
P.S This is mroe of a RAW arguement then actually trying to use this for any future posters.
Or, as has been suggested elsewhere, drop logan + long fangs + 3 ICs in a pod then detach all and have logan attach to a different squad and then have them all run amok.
I think "NO."
subscribed.
|
I have a love /hate relationship with anything green. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/01 17:44:10
Subject: Is it possible with RAW to give Logan's "The High King" rule to 2 units?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The second unit was not the unit chosen, neither was Logan.
So, no, you cannot give it to another unit than the initial one
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/01 18:30:25
Subject: Is it possible with RAW to give Logan's "The High King" rule to 2 units?
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:The second unit was not the unit chosen, neither was Logan. So, no, you cannot give it to another unit than the initial one
For one Logan is choosen as apart of the effect( hence apart of the intial unit in your main arguement) and any squad he is with gets the ability for the rest of the turn. and he can be with 2 units in one turn. Also the rule does not give a timeline of when a unit is selected just when the rule starts so its a blanket statement by the means of him giving it to any unit he is with gets the special rule which you choose at the beginning of that player turn .Since it really is required on the wording i would suggest reading it and maybe not going of memory if that is what you did. PS. I do mean too offend you wiht this but merely a suggestion of reading.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/01 18:31:13
My purpose in life is to ruin yours. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/01 19:00:53
Subject: Is it possible with RAW to give Logan's "The High King" rule to 2 units?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
"and any unit he IS WITH" - direct quote
Present tense. When you use the unit - do they have Logan with them? If so they have the rule, if not they do not.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/01 19:45:06
Subject: Is it possible with RAW to give Logan's "The High King" rule to 2 units?
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:"and any unit he IS WITH" - direct quote Present tense. When you use the unit - do they have Logan with them? If so they have the rule, if not they do not.
But here is the thing he can be WITH 2 units in one turn by leaving the current one which has the special rule and then by joining another which allows him to be with both in the same turn. 1. Does the special ability have to be called at the start yes. 2. The unit he starts with now has the Special ability coffered from high king rule. And will not lose it till the end of the turn even if he dies or leaves the unit. 3. If Logan joins another unit once the movement phase is over and now the wording would effect that unit because he just joined them and are now currently with him. It is fulfilling all the requirements for the rule yes the unit was with him at the start of the turn so they benefit from it till the end. The other unit is with him currently and thus now benefit from the wording " Logan and any unit he is with benefit from this ability for the duration of the turn" The only part that is decided at the start of the turn is what special rule you are going to choose, not what unit is with him at that specific moment in time. It gives you a limit to when you choose the rule and not a limit to when the rule affects the Squads he with. But main point is the fact that once they gain the ability they get it for the duration of that turn.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/01 19:46:07
My purpose in life is to ruin yours. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/01 19:48:22
Subject: Is it possible with RAW to give Logan's "The High King" rule to 2 units?
|
 |
Bush? No, Eldar Ranger
|
This will not end well....
MA.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/01 19:56:07
Subject: Is it possible with RAW to give Logan's "The High King" rule to 2 units?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
"IS WITH"
Not "was with"
"is with"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/01 19:56:33
Subject: Is it possible with RAW to give Logan's "The High King" rule to 2 units?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Why is it that people are always trying to make Space Wolves better?
|
I RIDE FOR DOOMTHUMBS! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/01 19:59:28
Subject: Is it possible with RAW to give Logan's "The High King" rule to 2 units?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Noone knows.
To be fair - logan is a points sink, so making him better isnt too bad an idea. Still doesnt work.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/01 20:03:13
Subject: Is it possible with RAW to give Logan's "The High King" rule to 2 units?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Grey elder wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:"and any unit he IS WITH" - direct quote
Present tense. When you use the unit - do they have Logan with them? If so they have the rule, if not they do not.
But here is the thing he can be WITH 2 units in one turn
Irrelevant. The unit he is with - present tense - benefit. Units that he was with earlier in the turn do not benefit.
Do blood angels benefit from the sanguinary priest if he was within 6" earlier? No.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/01 20:12:58
Subject: Is it possible with RAW to give Logan's "The High King" rule to 2 units?
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:"IS WITH" Not "was with" "is with"
Ok Logan has it for the rest of the turn and so does the starting unit, and also the unit he joins after that. This is because the starting unit is with him at the start and now benefit from his ability because it now last till the end of the turn which is the major part. No matter what happens to Logan they keep that rule. Because once they obtain the special rule its impossible for them to lose it, This is due to the wording " for the duration of the player turn". This is Due to the fact he can presently be with one squad give them that rule, they now have it for the rest of the turn even if he wasn't there. This was because when they gain the rule he IS with them and there fore never again lose it till the end of the turn since it last for the durations of the turn even if he no longer exist. And this is merely a RAW argument I am not gonna use this is a real game.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/06/01 20:18:28
My purpose in life is to ruin yours. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/01 20:16:28
Subject: Is it possible with RAW to give Logan's "The High King" rule to 2 units?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Grey elder wrote: there fore never again lose it till the end of the turn since it last for the durations of the turn even if he no longer exist.
Nothing in the rule says that - that is pure fabrication. Can you produce anything at all to suggest that an ability conferred by another model's presence is retained in that model's absence? If that was the case then they would never lose the rule, not lose it at the end of the turn.
I'll give you an example from the BA codex:
Q: At what point does a model need to be in range of a
Blood Chalice or The Red Grail in order to gain the
bonuses of Furious Charge? (p48, 49, 52)
A: When you put the bonuses to use, i.e. when the model
makes its close combat attacks.
So, it's clear that the proximity of the other model is required at the time "when you put the bonuses to use".
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/01 20:17:08
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/01 20:29:23
Subject: Is it possible with RAW to give Logan's "The High King" rule to 2 units?
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
But here is the possible loophole Ive been going for is that "have that rule for the durations of that player turn" line and how it can be interpreted.Their is 2 ways :
1. He needs to be there for them to benefit.
2. Was the rule is conferred and he is there they now get it for the rest of the turn because he was there when the rule was conferred and they met the requirements and now receive it for the duration of that player turn.
|
My purpose in life is to ruin yours. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/01 20:31:35
Subject: Is it possible with RAW to give Logan's "The High King" rule to 2 units?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Grey elder wrote:But here is the possible loophole Ive been going for is that "have that rule for the durations of that player turn" line and how it can be interpreted.Their is 2 ways :
1. He needs to be there for them to benefit.
2. Was the rule is conferred and he is there they now get it for the rest of the turn because he was there when the rule was conferred and they met the requirements and now receive it for the duration of that player turn.
Nope. That is specifying that they cannot benefit in the other player's turn.
The trigger is "unit he is with". If they do not qualify for that then they no longer have the special rule.
If the rule was "any unit that of which he is a member at some point in the turn ... have that rule for the duration of the turn" then yes, it would work as you describe.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/01 20:35:13
Subject: Is it possible with RAW to give Logan's "The High King" rule to 2 units?
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
So the only possible Rule it would work with is Relentless then?
|
My purpose in life is to ruin yours. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/01 20:37:35
Subject: Is it possible with RAW to give Logan's "The High King" rule to 2 units?
|
 |
Hunter with Harpoon Laucher
Castle Clarkenstein
|
Grey elder wrote:And this is merely a RAW argument I am not gonna use this is a real game.
Sure you won't.)
|
....and lo!.....The Age of Sigmar came to an end when Saint Veetock and his hamster legions smote the false Sigmar and destroyed the bubbleverse and lead the true believers back to the Old World.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/01 21:54:14
Subject: Is it possible with RAW to give Logan's "The High King" rule to 2 units?
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
mikhaila wrote:Grey elder wrote:And this is merely a RAW argument I am not gonna use this is a real game. Sure you won't.) 
Actually I love law and actually read most of the Canadian law book for fun, so yes I do not intend to use this in a game but I merely like an agruement. And any dice one the Relentless rule working out?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/01 21:55:34
My purpose in life is to ruin yours. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/01 22:02:08
Subject: Is it possible with RAW to give Logan's "The High King" rule to 2 units?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You are attempting to read one part of a sentence - the final part - in exclusion to the first bit
"any unit he IS WITH... for the rest of the player turn"
You cannot read the first bit and ignore the second bit. So no, it works on nothing.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/02 05:37:18
Subject: Is it possible with RAW to give Logan's "The High King" rule to 2 units?
|
 |
Hunter with Harpoon Laucher
Castle Clarkenstein
|
Grey elder wrote:So the only possible Rule it would work with is Relentless then?
It won't work for any of them. Period.
|
....and lo!.....The Age of Sigmar came to an end when Saint Veetock and his hamster legions smote the false Sigmar and destroyed the bubbleverse and lead the true believers back to the Old World.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|