Switch Theme:

Multiple Mindstrike Missile hits?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator




Falls Church, VA

Quick question: If a psyker (let's say a librarian, so he has multiple wounds) is hit by 4 mindstrike missiles fired from a GK Stormraven, does he take 1 perils, or 4?

I believe it's 4, the wording of the rule is below, and this makes me think you take 4 hits, each one causes perils, and you resolve it from the point of the hit. IE, I roll to hit with missile 1, it hits, you take a perils, I roll to hit with missile 2, etc.

"Any psyker hit by a mindstrike missile suffers the effects of the perils of the warp in addition to any other effects"

Any opinions/does this make sense?
   
Made in us
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker




United States of America

It is 4 wounds in the example you gave.

I would, however, pay attention to the fact that if you hit a Grey Knight squad with a Mindstrike Missile and hit 5 guys the squad would take 5 Str 4 hits but would only suffer 1 Perils of the Warp per missile because of the wording of the Brotherhood of Psykers rule.

The God Emperor Guides my blade! 
   
Made in us
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator




Falls Church, VA

Sanguinis wrote:It is 4 wounds in the example you gave.

I would, however, pay attention to the fact that if you hit a Grey Knight squad with a Mindstrike Missile and hit 5 guys the squad would take 5 Str 4 hits but would only suffer 1 Perils of the Warp per missile because of the wording of the Brotherhood of Psykers rule.


Ah, good catch there, I'd forgotten about that. This is how I'd read it as well, so it's good to see I'm not going crazy!
   
Made in us
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker




United States of America

Haha no problem targetawg, you should have seen the look on the other Grey Knight players face when we thought the rule was the other way around. I was using a 2 Stormravens and he was using all footslogging troops and I wiped out two whole squads with 4 Mindstrike missiles each until we figured out a few days later it doesn't work like that. Woopsie .

The God Emperor Guides my blade! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Also, all perils would hit the justicar....unless he was already dead, in which case one member of the squad gets his brain eaten 4 times
   
Made in us
Apprehensive Inquisitorial Apprentice





nosferatu1001 wrote:Also, all perils would hit the justicar....unless he was already dead, in which case one member of the squad gets his brain eaten 4 times


Do the Parils wounds happen as soon as the missles hit, or do they get "allocated" along with the other wounds? As in, can a Justicar take one of the str4 wounds from the blasts along with the parils?

From without, the Imperium is assailed by alien monsters from the depths of space, nightmare death-machines and soulless daemons (as well as soulless death-machines and nightmare daemons, and the occasional soulless daemon in a nightmare death machine). 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




They happen immediately - they are not an allocatable wound, EVER, as they must affect the psyker.

By the time the wounds from the blast are worked out, any psykers are porbably dead....
   
Made in us
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator




Falls Church, VA

nosferatu1001 wrote:They happen immediately - they are not an allocatable wound, EVER, as they must affect the psyker.

By the time the wounds from the blast are worked out, any psykers are porbably dead....


Would all perils hit the justicar as you said, or would each resolve independently, eating them one at a time?

Ie, they take a hit, 1 guy pops from perils. Second missile hits, next guy pops from perils, and down the ranks?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




All the Perils are caused simultaneously, as ALL shooting from one unit is simultaneous. There is no order of hits - you place all the balsts down, add up, unit hit 4 times = 4 perils on the justicar. You can then roll all 4 saves (if any useable!) at once.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

What about a squad of guardians with a Warlock? If you don't allocate the wounds for the mindstrikes to the Warlock does it avoid perils?

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




HIT, not wounded

Seriously, it states it is any psyker hit. YOu determine hits when you place the blast; any psyker covered by the blast suffers a perils, as they have been hit
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

the GK player could aim for the Warlock specifically.


if he ends up under the template, he suffers a perils. even if he never gets allocated a wound from the actual missile blast(unlikely as he is most certaintly dead)

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator




Falls Church, VA

How would a combined situation work for this:

Brotherhood of psykers rule + attached GK IC

Template hits, and the IC and the squad are tagged. Does the justicar suck up all the perils? Does the IC automatically get one?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The IC is a seperate psyker from the unit; think of the BoP unit and the IC as two psykers,

Means if you hit both the unit and the IC you get 2 perils.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

in that case you would actually have to have the IC under the blast as well as the unit.

then, both the justicar(or some random dude) and the IC take a perils.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Which is why I said "if you hit both the unit and the IC"
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

I would just like to point out that you shoot at units, not models. I'm not really sure that you could state that just placing the blast over the psyker it is hit because the squad is hit, not the psyker per say.

Then again it wouldn't shock me that codex creep has made several Eldar unit completely useless for tourny play.

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Then reread the blast marker rules, and note it explicitly states that the models underneath the marker are hit.

SO, if your blast marker covers an IC, that IC is hit. Does that matter for most shooting? No, because wound allocation means you dont necessarily *have* to put any resultant wounds on that model.

Does it matter for the mindstrike? Yes, because the mindstrike missile cares about who is hit.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: