| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/06 16:47:06
Subject: Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Unshakeable Grey Knight Land Raider Pilot
|
I do not have the codex in front of me at this time. How far can a Vindicator move and shoot its ordinance shot?
|
MY current trades/ sales:
Tau empire codex
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/399175.page |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/06 19:07:47
Subject: Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord
|
Depends...
Is it a regular VIndicator or a turbocharged rodimus-boom BA Vindicator?
Assuming a regular one you can move 6'' and fire the boomgun  , but no other weapons.
Blood Angels ones can go 12'' and fire it :(
|
The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 02:22:46
Subject: Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Spawn of Chaos
|
Black Templars can move twelve and fire as well. Assuming they are equipped with PotMS.
-Nara
|
40k Radio Freeboota
Feel free to check out my blog!
http://chaoticpainter.blogspot.com/ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 02:41:41
Subject: Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Sniping Gŭiláng
|
You can not move at all and fire indirect... it's barrage on the profile...
(if you dont play GW FAQ's)
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 02:47:53
Subject: Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Seriphis wrote:You can not move at all and fire indirect... it's barrage on the profile...
(if you dont play GW FAQ's)
It's an Errata, not an FAQ. It's an official change in the codex. You must play it as such
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 06:04:39
Subject: Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Ordnance Weapons, whether barrage or not, cannot be moved and fired. If the Vindicator moves 6", it can fire its pintle-mounted storm bolter, but nothing else.
|
~1200
DT:90-S+G++M---B--I+Pw40k10+D+A+/mWD372R+T(D)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 06:28:21
Subject: Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard
|
Incorrect.
BARRAGE cannot move and fire.
Vindicators are NOT barrage.
Ordnance (whether or not it is also blast) has been able to move and fire for the last two editions.
A regular SM vindicator can move 6" and still fire (but may not fire anything else if it does so)
BT can go 12" and fire with POTMS.
BA can go 12" and fire because of "FAST vehicle" rules.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/07 06:29:03
I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.
That is not dead which can eternal lie ...
... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 06:37:27
Subject: Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Sam__theRelentless wrote:Ordnance Weapons, whether barrage or not, cannot be moved and fired. If the Vindicator moves 6", it can fire its pintle-mounted storm bolter, but nothing else.
You're thinking of 3rd edition. This is 5th edition. Reread the ORdnance rules and note that there is no such restriction listed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 09:12:30
Subject: Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
chromedog wrote:Incorrect.
BARRAGE cannot move and fire.
Vindicators are NOT barrage.
Ordnance (whether or not it is also blast) has been able to move and fire for the last two editions.
A regular SM vindicator can move 6" and still fire (but may not fire anything else if it does so)
BT can go 12" and fire with POTMS.
BA can go 12" and fire because of "FAST vehicle" rules.
I don't know about the BA etc. but I know for a fact that a demolisher cannon clearly says "Ord 1, Barrage" in the weapons profile.
nosferatu1001 wrote:Sam__theRelentless wrote:Ordnance Weapons, whether barrage or not, cannot be moved and fired. If the Vindicator moves 6", it can fire its pintle-mounted storm bolter, but nothing else.
You're thinking of 3rd edition. This is 5th edition. Reread the ORdnance rules and note that there is no such restriction listed.
Sorry. I don't actually have 3rd edition, but neither do I have the 5th brb in front of me at the moment. Will do.
|
~1200
DT:90-S+G++M---B--I+Pw40k10+D+A+/mWD372R+T(D)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 09:28:54
Subject: Re:Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I don't know about the BA etc. but I know for a fact that a demolisher cannon clearly says "Ord 1, Barrage" in the weapons profile.
No it doesn't, they are Ord 1, Blast in all the space marine codexs as well as imperial guard.
And even if they were barrage,because they are ord-barrage, you are still allowed to move and fire directly; you just can't fire them as a barrage attack unless your unit stands still
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 09:55:12
Subject: Re:Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Yes, okay. You're right about being able to choose whether to fire them barrage or not, but obviously if you don't fire it barrage you don't cause pinning.
Nevertheless, see the attached picture.
|
~1200
DT:90-S+G++M---B--I+Pw40k10+D+A+/mWD372R+T(D)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 09:58:16
Subject: Re:Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Sam__theRelentless wrote:Yes, okay. You're right about being able to choose whether to fire them barrage or not, but obviously if you don't fire it barrage you don't cause pinning.
Nevertheless, see the attached picture.
Yes, but they made a mistake, they cleaned this up in the FAQ.
Sort Of Off Topic: Can a BT Vindicator move 6", fire it's Demolisher and then fire the Storm bolter with PotMS?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/07 09:58:37
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 10:09:38
Subject: Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Aha, sorry. I'm new to the FAQs, but I have just downloaded them and read through them. You are correct.
I just like to think I understand the rules well.
|
~1200
DT:90-S+G++M---B--I+Pw40k10+D+A+/mWD372R+T(D)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 10:50:34
Subject: Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You should have noticed it was also only Barrage in one place - the summary - which in general is the most error prone part of any codex (sadly!)
The FAQs are two parts - Errata, actual rules changes, and FAQs (which sometimes do change the rules....!)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 10:51:42
Subject: Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:You should have noticed it was also only Barrage in one place - the summary - which in general is the most error prone part of any codex (sadly!)
The FAQs are two parts - Errata, actual rules changes, and FAQs (which sometimes do change the rules....!)
Everyone makes mistakes...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 10:53:17
Subject: Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yep, and GW do a lot of the time - which is why they have FAQs. Sadly those FAQs often have mistakes - the first version of the SW one had furious charge working when counter attack is used...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 12:10:38
Subject: Re:Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Can a BT Vindicator move 6", fire it's Demolisher and then fire the Storm bolter with PotMS?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 12:13:45
Subject: Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No. PotMS lets you fire one more weapon than normal - if you fire the SB, EVEN WITH potms, you are still trying to also fire Ordnance "normally" - which you cannot do if you are firing other weapons.
Either way round you shoot, the ordnance rule kicks in.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 12:18:41
Subject: Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Grovelin' Grot Rigger
USA
|
Yes, a BT vindicator with potms can move 6" and fire both it's demolisher and a Storm Bolter (and may fire at different targets as per potms rules).
|
"Ah, the Breakfast Club soundtrack! I can't wait til I'm old enough to feel ways about stuff!" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 12:21:43
Subject: Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Except you cant
If you fire the Cannon "normally", then by trying to fire the SB with PotMS you cannot fire the cannon, a you are firing other weapons
If you fire the SB "normally", then you cannot use PotMS to fire the Cannon, as doing so invokes the Ordnance rules and prevents you firing the SB.
No matter which way round you try it, the Ordnance rules will prevent the "normal" shooting from working.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 12:28:50
Subject: Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Grovelin' Grot Rigger
USA
|
I stand corrected, you can't fire any other weapon with ordnance (BRB p.58)
|
"Ah, the Breakfast Club soundtrack! I can't wait til I'm old enough to feel ways about stuff!" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/08 01:47:40
Subject: Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
One other tidbit that most people miss. A Fast vehicle can move up to 6" and still fire an Ordnance Barrage weapon (Page 70, main rules). So if the Vindicator was a Barrage it could move and shoot it indirectly.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/08 08:42:03
Subject: Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
don_mondo wrote:One other tidbit that most people miss. A Fast vehicle can move up to 6" and still fire an Ordnance Barrage weapon (Page 70, main rules). So if the Vindicator was a Barrage it could move and shoot it indirectly.
If It was from BA or BT
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/08 09:48:16
Subject: Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Only BA, as PotMS simply lets you fire the weapon, it doesnt let you fire a weapon mode you cannot use if you have moved.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/08 11:07:15
Subject: Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:don_mondo wrote:One other tidbit that most people miss. A Fast vehicle can move up to 6" and still fire an Ordnance Barrage weapon (Page 70, main rules). So if the Vindicator was a Barrage it could move and shoot it indirectly.
If It was from BA or BT
?? This is a main rulebook rule that allows Fast vehicles to fire Ordnance Barrage as long as they move at Combat speed. So it applies to ALL armies.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/08 11:29:56
Subject: Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
don_mondo wrote:GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:don_mondo wrote:One other tidbit that most people miss. A Fast vehicle can move up to 6" and still fire an Ordnance Barrage weapon (Page 70, main rules). So if the Vindicator was a Barrage it could move and shoot it indirectly.
If It was from BA or BT
?? This is a main rulebook rule that allows Fast vehicles to fire Ordnance Barrage as long as they move at Combat speed. So it applies to ALL armies.
Yeah but a vindicator isn't a fast vehicle in C: SM Or C: Dark Angels
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/08 11:30:10
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/08 11:40:23
Subject: Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It also isnt barrage in either.
If BA could take a fast Whirlwind it would matter....
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/08 13:05:01
Subject: Vindicator, moving and shooting.
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:don_mondo wrote:GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:don_mondo wrote:One other tidbit that most people miss. A Fast vehicle can move up to 6" and still fire an Ordnance Barrage weapon (Page 70, main rules). So if the Vindicator was a Barrage it could move and shoot it indirectly.
If It was from BA or BT
?? This is a main rulebook rule that allows Fast vehicles to fire Ordnance Barrage as long as they move at Combat speed. So it applies to ALL armies.
Yeah but a vindicator isn't a fast vehicle in C: SM Or C: Dark Angels
I never said they were. All I was doing was pointing out a little known rule that Fast Vehicles can move and fire Ordnance Barrage. Geez!!
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|