Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 07:21:40
Subject: Alrahem's Stalk the Enemy Rule and IC's
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
Can you join an IC to AlRahem's platoon? ( they must outflank, what if the IC does not have access to that ability. You normally join an IC to a squad before nominating what the squad will do deployment wise).
|
.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 07:51:27
Subject: Alrahem's Stalk the Enemy Rule and IC's
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
If the IC does not have the capability to outflank IE scout or infiltrate, then no he cannot join that unit and have it outflank. You would have to just hole up the IC somewhere and then sprint him over to the squad if it happens to come in on the right side.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 07:54:25
Subject: Alrahem's Stalk the Enemy Rule and IC's
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
... Well technically yes but only if you place him in one of the platoons transports ... he's not outflanking its the chimera.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 10:36:11
Subject: Alrahem's Stalk the Enemy Rule and IC's
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You join the IC before deployment, now - meaning he is part of the platoon at the point you are forced to Outflank.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 12:54:48
Subject: Alrahem's Stalk the Enemy Rule and IC's
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
Check the FAQ for IG, specifically the part of SITNW and IC. To paraphrase, it says that the IC is added to the unit after purchase, so it doesn't gain the SITNW. The same would apply to STE.
The IC is added after purchase so he doesn't get to outflank unless in a transport.
-cgmckenzie
|
1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 13:00:24
Subject: Alrahem's Stalk the Enemy Rule and IC's
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Except those are two entirely different situations.
You declare Outflank WHEN deploying. The BRB FAQ states you join ICs to units BEFORE deploying. Once the IC is joined to a unit, he is part of that platoon (p48 - 49) as a "normal" member, and therefore gains Outflank
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 13:03:07
Subject: Alrahem's Stalk the Enemy Rule and IC's
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
So what would happen if you joined the IC to the unit as Al'Rahem's rules state that he must outflank, it's not a choice.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 13:49:30
Subject: Alrahem's Stalk the Enemy Rule and IC's
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Huh? Covered that already.
The Platoon must ouflank. The IC is a "normal member" of the unit he has joined (p49) and is therefoer a member of the platoon. The IC must then outflank with the unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/07 13:51:50
Subject: Alrahem's Stalk the Enemy Rule and IC's
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
My bad, you posted after I opened the thread and didn't see your post after cgmckenzie's.
That's how I thought it worked. Not that the IG have a whole lot of IC's, more of a point of interest than something that comes up all that often.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/08 20:54:46
Subject: Alrahem's Stalk the Enemy Rule and IC's
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
So here's a question I thought of today about 4 hours into a 6 hour training session, figured I'd post it in this thread instead of starting a new one.
You take Al'Rahem and 4 Infantry squads, you take a Chimera with each squad. Now can you mount say veteran squads in the Chimeras before deployment and outflank all of the vet squads in the Chimeras with the infantry squads walking on?
Also don't have my rulebook/codex handy right now but how does rolling for location work for platoons? You roll for reserves as an entire platoon but how do you roll for each squad, individually or is it the same as reserves where they all make one roll?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/08 20:56:06
Subject: Alrahem's Stalk the Enemy Rule and IC's
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Page 67, dedicated transports states no.
Separate units therefore you roll each units "side" individually.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/08 21:07:35
Subject: Alrahem's Stalk the Enemy Rule and IC's
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
Pg 96 C:IG regarding platoons 'Each Infantry Platoon counts as a single Troops choice on the force organization chart when deploying, and it is rolled for collectively when rolling for reserves.'
I read that as it outflanking as a platoon. Roll once for the entire platoon just as if it were 1 unit.
Makes sense to me because the squads operate in concert with the rest of the platoon, not a whole lot of room for going ronin. You want to pincer the enemy, use 2 platoons and squeeze!
-cgmckenzie
|
1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/09 07:56:22
Subject: Alrahem's Stalk the Enemy Rule and IC's
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Rolling for reserves it is one unit - thats in the rules, and is clear enough. It only applies to when it is rolling for reserves.
Rolling for which side you appear on in outflank is NOT rolling for reserves, and therefore is NOT one unit. As such you fall back to the basic rules, which is that each unit rolls separately
|
|
 |
 |
|