Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/08 20:12:08
Subject: mastery 2 force weapons and activating
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Psyker Mastery 2 can activate his force weapon twice.
He does 2 wounds to a complex multi wound unit (Nobs)
Does he choose before the test which wound to attempt to make ID or does he take the test then choose?
Additionally can he (assuming he didn't cast any other powers) try twice to activate on the same wound if the first one fails?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/08 20:36:14
Subject: Re:mastery 2 force weapons and activating
|
 |
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker
United States of America
|
Not quite sure what your asking. Read the rules for Force Weapons again. Once the Force Weapon is activated all subsequent wounds cause instant death. It's not 1 activation per wound, its 1 activation and then ALL wounds cause instant death.
The only reason to ever have to use a Force Weapon twice is if you failed to activate it the first time IE: rolled an 11 or 12 for Psychic test. Other than that activating your Force Weapon twice is a waste of a Psychic Power not to mention a Perils risk. Your better off activating your Force Weapon and then using Hammerhand. Plus if you put your Psyker in a squad you can activate Hammerhand twice and then have your Psyker activate his Force Weapon for Str 6 instant death power weapon attacks!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/08 20:36:42
The God Emperor Guides my blade! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/08 20:47:15
Subject: mastery 2 force weapons and activating
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Not nfw. Just regular force weapons...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/08 20:47:34
Subject: mastery 2 force weapons and activating
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Actually it is the rules for Nemesis Force Weapons that he needs to read, they vary slightly from the standard Force Weapon description in the BRB.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/08 20:48:07
Subject: mastery 2 force weapons and activating
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
1) Only Nemesis weapons do that, not all force weapons
2) ICs with Nemesis weapons are not Brotherhood of psykers, therefore their force weapon does not make all wounds cause instant death.
So, thawn who is not an IC and has mastery 2 would be affected normally by the Nemesis rules, and would make all wounds cause ID
GKGMs etc would not be.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/08 20:49:28
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/08 20:57:54
Subject: mastery 2 force weapons and activating
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
There are several psykers who are can be made mastery 2 with upgrades from codeices other than grey knights. This question is NOT about Nemisis Force Weapons.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/08 21:01:50
Subject: Re:mastery 2 force weapons and activating
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
You use the power "against any one opponent that suffered an unsaved wound."
You must declare which enemy model you are using the Force Weapon power against, then roll.
After this, you can activate it again if you'd like and choose another enemy if you are allowed to use another power.
If you fail the power the first time, you can attempt to use it again.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/08 21:07:15
Subject: mastery 2 force weapons and activating
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Somerandom has it right, you 'use the weapon's power against any one opponent that suffered an unsaved wound by the weapon in that player turn'
So you roll to hit, roll to wound, the opponent takes any invuln saves, then the Psyker picks one of those wounds to roll a ID test for, rolls and pass or fail if he can cast 2 powers per turn, he picks another unsaved wound and rolls again.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/08 21:30:13
Subject: mastery 2 force weapons and activating
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So bythat logic,
A lib with that can cast 2 powers in cc with a hive tyrant and guard that caused 2 wounds can make2 attempts to ID the tyrant should the first test fail due to sitw.
Damn that sucks
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/08 22:46:13
Subject: Re:mastery 2 force weapons and activating
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
|
Doesn't suck considering that Tyranid player probably has Shadows in the Warp meaning the libby is rolling 3d6. And if it isn't a libby or IC then they're making that test at Ld9, or if their Justicar or Knight of the flame have already blown their own heads up then Ld8.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/08 23:03:23
Subject: mastery 2 force weapons and activating
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:1) Only Nemesis weapons do that, not all force weapons
2) ICs with Nemesis weapons are not Brotherhood of psykers, therefore their force weapon does not make all wounds cause instant death.
So, thawn who is not an IC and has mastery 2 would be affected normally by the Nemesis rules, and would make all wounds cause ID
GKGMs etc would not be.
Can you explain the reasoning in the second point? If you are referring to the wording in the NFW activation rules, I'm seeing the Brotherhood of Psykers rule only being referenced to allow the unit to roll once to activate all weapons with a caveat that ICs need to roll separately.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/08 23:23:44
Subject: mastery 2 force weapons and activating
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
nobody wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:1) Only Nemesis weapons do that, not all force weapons
2) ICs with Nemesis weapons are not Brotherhood of psykers, therefore their force weapon does not make all wounds cause instant death.
So, thawn who is not an IC and has mastery 2 would be affected normally by the Nemesis rules, and would make all wounds cause ID
GKGMs etc would not be.
Can you explain the reasoning in the second point? If you are referring to the wording in the NFW activation rules, I'm seeing the Brotherhood of Psykers rule only being referenced to allow the unit to roll once to activate all weapons with a caveat that ICs need to roll separately.
That paragraph says "If the test is passed..." in reference to "unit with BoP need only take a single psychic test." Basically, the whole paragraph only refers to how NFWs interact with BoP units, not regular ICs (that's just how it's phrased, grammatically speaking).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/09 08:02:59
Subject: mastery 2 force weapons and activating
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yonush - then dont use "Mastery 2", given that is a Grey Knight specific term. it would have made things a little clearer!
Xcalibur has it - the "all wounds now cause ID" is only for BoP models; ICs are not BoP. And, while they can join units with BoP, when they come to resolve their attacks they are again a separate unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/09 14:27:29
Subject: mastery 2 force weapons and activating
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Interesting, my reading of the rule was that the BoP statement was only there as a reminder that such units only have to roll once. Was there a thread already dealing with this I can reference for the arguements?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/09 14:35:21
Subject: mastery 2 force weapons and activating
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Its the same context - unit - in both the BOP sentence and the following sentence. The unit with BoP is then referenced with the unit causing ID on all wounds
Whether this is what was meant, I'm not sure.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/09 16:43:15
Subject: mastery 2 force weapons and activating
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
My reading was that the line starting "Note: Units with BoP...." was just reminder, and letting you know that ICs have to roll separately.
The wording is wonky, but I read it as though you could skip from the first sentence where it mentions they act as Force Weapons down to "once the test is passed..." with no interruption. I figured if ICs were going to be treated separately, the caveat for them would have been at the end of the paragraph.
Nevertheless, I can see the other side on this one and the wording is bad enough where I'd most likely not bother arguing this one if it came up in a tournament.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/09 18:02:57
Subject: mastery 2 force weapons and activating
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
Sometimes I really wonder if GW editors would be able to tell a taxi driver where they want to go.
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
|