Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/11 14:01:36
Subject: Librarian Powers While in CC / Tank Shock
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
|
I just took a quick glance through the BRB... but I can't find this anywhere.
Is a Librarian allowed to make psychic tests while in CC? I know that the Librarian can choose to use his psychic ability to make a single force weapon attack - but what about the other powers?
Could the Librarian cast Null Zone? Might of the Ancients? What about Gate of Infinity? Could the Librarian just deep strike himself, and the unit that he's with, OUT of CC?
Thanks Dakka!
[edit] And while I'm asking questions.... I played a game last week where I tank shocked an enemy unit, in an attempt to keep them off of my objective. My opponent passed his leadership test, allowed my tank to pass through his unit, and then put his models right back where they were BEFORE I tank shocked. I was under the impression that I would at very least push a few of his models out of the way, and away from my objective.... let me see if I can illustrate this, using the powers of microsoft paint.
His unit just formed right back into position, rather than getting pushed to the side. He was able to waltz right onto my objective on his next turn. If I had split his unit in two, as I had thought I would, he wouldn't have been able to cover the distance to my objective in 1 turn.
[/edit]
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/11 14:16:10
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/11 14:04:01
Subject: Librarian Powers While in CC
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
HtH doesn't prevent use of psychic powers. Many are designed specifically to be used in HtH, like Might of the Ancients, Quicksilver, or Unleash Rage.
You can'y use Psychic Shooting Attacks in HtH, obviously, as they cound as shooting.
Gate of Infinity has been the subject of much debate and several threads. Sorry the search function is broken at the moment, or I'd give you some links. :(
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/11 14:04:59
Subject: Librarian Powers While in CC
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
That is really two questions.
A. Can psychic powers be used in close combat?
B. Can a Librarian GoI out of close combat?
For A, yes (assuming they are not shooting psychic powers or specifically prevented from working while locked in cc, of course)
For B.....use the Search function.
|
-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."
18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/11 14:22:35
Subject: Librarian Powers While in CC / Tank Shock
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
|
I did try searching prior to posting - but the search function appears to be busted at the moment
Just added in another question about Tank Shock. Thanks for the quick responses, gents.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/11 14:28:02
Subject: Re:Librarian Powers While in CC / Tank Shock
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
You can't split a unit in half when you tank shock them.
They have to move out of the way of the tank by the shortest possible distance while maintaining coherency.
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/11 14:29:22
Subject: Librarian Powers While in CC / Tank Shock
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
|
Right. They have to move out of the way of the tank. But do they get to move BACK to where they were, if the tank moves past where they were standing?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/11 14:36:35
Subject: Librarian Powers While in CC / Tank Shock
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes. Only if the tank would end up ON models do those models have to move. That's part of the basic rules, as it only tells you to move models when the tank finishes its move on them...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/11 14:37:40
Subject: Librarian Powers While in CC / Tank Shock
|
 |
Preacher of the Emperor
|
Baron Von Eptastic wrote:Right. They have to move out of the way of the tank. But do they get to move BACK to where they were, if the tank moves past where they were standing?
Yes. You only have to move models that are physically under the vehicle when it finishes its move. If you declare a distance that takes the tank completely through the enemy unit, it can remain in its current position. To achieve the effect you wanted, you would have had to declare a shorter tank shock distance so that the tank finished its move inside the enemy unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/11 14:39:37
Subject: Librarian Powers While in CC / Tank Shock
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
|
Alright, thanks! I won't be tank shocking again any time in the near future! I should have just parked the damn thing in front of him.
|
|
 |
 |
|