Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 21:30:57
Subject: Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Do Dedicated transports count for Compulsory selections on the Force Org chart?
I am leaning towards yes, This had never occurred to me until today, and I have been thinking about it, What do you guys think?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 21:41:36
Subject: Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
Somewhere Ironic
|
Page 67, BRB, Dedicated Transports. It doesn't take up a slot, and the rules for FOC are that you need to take a unit that takes a slot. (Page 87 BRB, FOC)
EDIT; to clarify, dedicated transports have no FOC selections associated with them. If they did, we'd be able to use Chimeras as Objective Holders. That would be broken.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/13 21:43:54
DQ:90S++G++MB++I--Pw40k01+D+A++/hWD-R+++T(D)DM+
Organiser of 40k Montreal
There is only war in Montreal
kronk wrote:The International Programmers Society has twice met to get the world to agree on one methodology for programming dates. Both times they met, the meeting devolved into a giant Unreal Tournament Lan party... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 21:52:48
Subject: Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Shadelkan wrote:Page 67, BRB, Dedicated Transports. It doesn't take up a slot, and the rules for FOC are that you need to take a unit that takes a slot. (Page 87 BRB, FOC) EDIT; to clarify, dedicated transports have no FOC selections associated with them. If they did, we'd be able to use Chimeras as Objective Holders. That would be broken. The FaQ for the Emperors Champion Disagrees with you. As for your edit, dedicated transports count as being from the same force organisation category as the unit they were bought for. P.87 Also Vehicles can not claim Objectives, unless specifically allowed to.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/13 21:53:19
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 21:55:04
Subject: Re:Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Point the first, units do not have to take up a slot to fulfill a mandatory choice. All that is required is to "make one selection from that portion of your army list".
Point the second, no, dedicated transports do not qualify as your second troop.
"Dedicated transports
Dedicated transport vehicles sit outside the Force Organisation structure, as they are attached to the unit they are bought for. When this distinction is called for (for example in some missions or deployment types), dedicated transport vehicles count as being from the same force organisation category as the unit they were bought for."
So when you take a dedicated transport, you are not making a selection from that portion of the army list. You're making a selection that might, a t a later time in the game (iDawn of War deployment for example) have a Force Org type assigned to it based on the unit it is bought for. But when bought and making the list, it does not have a Force Org 'type'.
Oh, and Shadelkan, even if they were always Troops, they couldn't hold an objective due to being vehicles........................
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 22:02:57
Subject: Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Wouldn't the distinction be called for by virtue of needing two compulsory selections?
E.G. You need one HQ, Check, I now need two Troop selections, well I have a infantry squad, that is one, and I have a drop pod, does the drop pod count? well what does the drop pod count as? Troops, okay so I must have two troop selections?
Either way it is not 100% clear.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 22:05:11
Subject: Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
Somewhere Ironic
|
Right, I forgot about the vehicle bit.
You answered your own question when you replied to me, didn't you DeathReaper?
Course, that said, we were talking about Dedicated Transports, what did that have to do with the Emperor's Champion? Automatically Appended Next Post: Its very clear, you need to make a troops selection, not a unit that counts as troops.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/13 22:06:20
DQ:90S++G++MB++I--Pw40k01+D+A++/hWD-R+++T(D)DM+
Organiser of 40k Montreal
There is only war in Montreal
kronk wrote:The International Programmers Society has twice met to get the world to agree on one methodology for programming dates. Both times they met, the meeting devolved into a giant Unreal Tournament Lan party... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 22:14:58
Subject: Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
A unit that counts as troops = a unit of troops (Without using a troops slot thus you can have more than six of these) If it counts as troop unit, and it is a selection, then it is a troop selection. I am not really sure I agree with my stance, I am just trying to find out what is legal and what is not. The Emperor's Champion does not take up a force org slot, but Can fill the 'One HQ Compulsory selection' of the chart. (Similar to a dedicated transport)
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/06/13 22:16:15
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 22:34:15
Subject: Re:Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
Somewhere Ironic
|
Yknow that rule that says rules in Codices take precedence (ie, are exceptions)? The EC is part of a codex, and does not apply his rules to every other Codex out there!!
I'm trying to answer the first question; you obviously have a specific situation, but the general answer is that ya can't use a dedicated transport as a troops selection. Unless it specifies (such as in the case for EC), a dedicated transport does not count towards your compulsory selection. As don_mondo put it, they sit outside of the FOC chart, and therefore do not fill it.
Imagine the FOC is a bunch of blinky lights. Now imagine that in order for an army to be good to go, you need to have the HQ and two Troop slots go all "on" and stuff. Well, taking a tac squad gets ya one; but then taking a drop pod for that tac squad doesn't change anything. It just turns on a light in an invisible section with a billion other off-lights.
Basically, COUNTS AS =/= IS. DTs, on page 87, says it COUNTS as being from the same FOC selection, it doesn't say it IS a selection of the same type its bought from.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/13 22:34:49
DQ:90S++G++MB++I--Pw40k01+D+A++/hWD-R+++T(D)DM+
Organiser of 40k Montreal
There is only war in Montreal
kronk wrote:The International Programmers Society has twice met to get the world to agree on one methodology for programming dates. Both times they met, the meeting devolved into a giant Unreal Tournament Lan party... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 23:09:49
Subject: Re:Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Shadelkan wrote:Yknow that rule that says rules in Codices take precedence (ie, are exceptions)?
No, because there is no such rule.
It's generally the case, but it works that way because of the specificity of the rules in question, not just because the rule happens to be in a codex.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 23:15:27
Subject: Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
But with 'Counts as' you regard that unit 'as if it were that type'
and 'When this distinction is called for' is in this instance.
even though they 'sit outside the force org chart, The Emperor's Champion is worded the same way and does not take up a force org slot
But he can fill the 'One HQ Compulsory selection' of the chart.
I know he does not apply his rules to others, but this is in the BT FaQ, so it sets a precedent for things that do not take up a force org slot to count for the minimums.
Also look at summoned daemons from Codex CSM, they Specifically disallow you to use summoned daemons as your two selections. why would it have to say this if things that did not take up a selection on the FoC did not count as FoC compulsory selections?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 23:47:25
Subject: Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
Somewhere Ironic
|
If were going to go on about "why does one codex specify," then let's look at Tau; their transport, the devilfish, is a unit you can take without first taking another; it is an actual troops choice. It clearly gives you the option of, say, taking firewarriors, a devilfish, an HQ, and your good to go.
Plus, last I checked, just cause one codex bothers to specify, doesn't mean the opposite must be the normal assumption. Okay, so CSM specified, so what? The BRB clearly says DTs sit outside the FOC, why are we kicking a dead horse? If its outside of the FOC, it doesn't work with the FOC at all except to determine its unit type. Unit type =/= FOC selection slot type.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/13 23:56:08
DQ:90S++G++MB++I--Pw40k01+D+A++/hWD-R+++T(D)DM+
Organiser of 40k Montreal
There is only war in Montreal
kronk wrote:The International Programmers Society has twice met to get the world to agree on one methodology for programming dates. Both times they met, the meeting devolved into a giant Unreal Tournament Lan party... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/14 00:09:44
Subject: Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Shadelkan wrote:If were going to go on about "why does one codex specify," then let's look at Tau; their transport, the devilfish, is a unit you can take without first taking another; it is an actual troops choice. It clearly gives you the option of, say, taking firewarriors, a devilfish, an HQ, and your good to go. Plus, last I checked, just cause one codex bothers to specify, doesn't mean the opposite must be the normal assumption. Okay, so CSM specified, so what? The BRB clearly says DTs sit outside the FOC, why are we kicking a dead horse? If its outside of the FOC, it doesn't work with the FOC at all except to determine its unit type. Unit type =/= FOC selection slot type.
Where does it say this (The underlined) That is just it, Unit taken as troops = selection of a troop unit = one of the two compulsory selections from the troops section. Because being "outside the force org chart" simply means they can fill any role as noted in their entry, they count as troops if bought for a troop choice, they count as elites if bought for an elite unit, that is why they sit outside the normal force org chart, because one drop pod might be troops, one might be heavy support, and one might be HQ
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2011/06/14 00:12:30
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/14 01:35:34
Subject: Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
Somewhere Ironic
|
Do you know what the difference between 'counts as' and 'is'?
If you do, is a dedicated transport a troops choice? The answer is no, its not a troops choice; but it counts like one. The answer is right there, if you refuse to accept that, whatever.
The only time you'll ever need to sell this point is in competitive or non-competitive; the former will have your wrist slapped, and the latter doesn't matter much except for fun; so why not bend the rules for fun right?
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2011/06/14 01:40:30
DQ:90S++G++MB++I--Pw40k01+D+A++/hWD-R+++T(D)DM+
Organiser of 40k Montreal
There is only war in Montreal
kronk wrote:The International Programmers Society has twice met to get the world to agree on one methodology for programming dates. Both times they met, the meeting devolved into a giant Unreal Tournament Lan party... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/14 01:51:00
Subject: Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Right, you need to have two troops choices. I take one troops choice, and a dedicated transport for that troops choice. One is a troops choice. One counts as a troops choice. how many troops choices do you have? Well we know they are each their own separate unit, they will each give one Kill point in Kill point games. It seems we have two Troops units. two different units = two selections. Its like rending CCW's, on a to wound roll of a 6 they count as power weapons. they arent power weapons, but if you roll a 6 they count as power weapons granting all of the same effects as a power weapon. (I.E. the rending acts exactly like a power weapon in the listed situation) I.E. dedicated transports act exactly like a troops choice "When this distinction is called for" Clearly the distinction is called for regarding the Force org chart. So why would a dedicated transport that 'Counts as' troops not affect the game in the same way as an actual troops choice?
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2011/06/14 01:55:28
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/14 03:00:11
Subject: Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
Somewhere Ironic
|
I give up, I don't care for this anymore. We can't convince each other anything, so why bother? Play the game as you wish, make sure opponent is okay with it; after that, who really cares?
|
DQ:90S++G++MB++I--Pw40k01+D+A++/hWD-R+++T(D)DM+
Organiser of 40k Montreal
There is only war in Montreal
kronk wrote:The International Programmers Society has twice met to get the world to agree on one methodology for programming dates. Both times they met, the meeting devolved into a giant Unreal Tournament Lan party... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/14 04:56:29
Subject: Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
I was more asking for solid rules against my position, I am not sure it should work as I have presented it, but I do not see rules that prove me wrong.
Yet.
They could be out there, I may be missing them. so if anyone has rules references and page numbers please post them.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/14 04:57:42
Subject: Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
I don't believe it is "called for" when you are making an army list.
------------
On a side note, I think that Emp's Champ ruling was extremely dumb and appears to be messing with the game.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/14 05:04:45
Subject: Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Without the Emp's Champ ruling, I would have no thoughts about Dedicated transports being troop unit choices able to fill the compulsory selections.
That rule makes me think they can though.
"When this distinction is called for" is ambiguous language on GW's part.
We know GW tries to make all rules free of ambiguous language [/sarcasm]
Stupid RaW is Stupid.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/14 07:27:02
Subject: Re:Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
Spawn of Chaos
|
I dont know what codex you're reading this from but in all the ones I have dedicated transports are listed under "Dedicated Transports" and not "Troops." If you're reading a codex where a transport is listed under the "Troops" heading I guess I don't see a problem with it then. Just because a troop can take a dedicated transport doesn't automatically make it a troop choice.
The emperor's champion did make a mess of things though... If they don't want to take up organizational slots but still want to limit their number they should have put in a heading of "Additional units." That would have cleared this whole mess up. It would be easy to say "Ministorum Priest, your army may include up to 4 ministorum priests." Except they didn't put that into their original framework so they usually put them in as HQ choices.
I don't see a huge advantage of this unless you have a specific plan in mind since vehicles can't hold objectives anyways. If you're playing random missions out of the BRB then you're going to get objectives 66% of the time.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/14 07:37:28
Subject: Re:Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Brennus43 wrote:I dont know what codex you're reading this from but in all the ones I have dedicated transports are listed under "Dedicated Transports" and not "Troops." If you're reading a codex where a transport is listed under the "Troops" heading I guess I don't see a problem with it then. Just because a troop can take a dedicated transport doesn't automatically make it a troop choice.
<snip>
From Page 87 of the 40k Rulebook:
under the heading: Dedicated transports
"Dedicated transport vehicles sit outside the Force Organisation structure, as they are attached to the unit they are bought for. When this distinction is called for (for example in some missions or deployment types), dedicated transport vehicles count as being from the same force organisation category as the unit they were bought for."
So a Drop pod bought for a troops choice is a troops choice drop pod "When this distinction is called for"
Of course what they mean by "When this distinction is called for" is anybody's guess. Automatically Appended Next Post: Here we go, Page 92 under Multiple unit choices:
"Note that occasionally the codexes allow the player to include several units in his army at the cost of a single force organisation slot (Like dedicated transports, etc). apart from being bought as a single choice, these units operate and count as separate units in all respects"
why could they not have put that under the dedicated transport rules in the Force organization chart section?
I hate GW's writing.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/14 07:42:38
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/14 07:45:28
Subject: Re:Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
Spawn of Chaos
|
Yeah I don't have my BRB in front of me, but I vaguely recalled that. It seemed like something they put in there as a future CYA thing in case they decided to add rules about FoC to things like Planetstrike or Battlemissions.
I'm sitting here trying to come up with a reason why it *shouldn't* be allowed. I really can't come up with one, lol.
I can only think of point shaving reasons. 40 point troop choice would allow you to use those points on other units in other FoC spots.
I'd allow it in a game.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/14 09:26:18
Subject: Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Shadelkan wrote:If were going to go on about "why does one codex specify," then let's look at Tau; their transport, the devilfish, is a unit you can take without first taking another; it is an actual troops choice. It clearly gives you the option of, say, taking firewarriors, a devilfish, an HQ, and your good to go.
Kind of late, but the Devilfish is a "Transport" not a "Troops". Look at the sideways text under the grey bar at the bottom of page 36.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/14 10:25:22
Subject: Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
DeathReaper wrote:Wouldn't the distinction be called for by virtue of needing two compulsory selections?
E.G. You need one HQ, Check, I now need two Troop selections, well I have a infantry squad, that is one, and I have a drop pod, does the drop pod count? well what does the drop pod count as? Troops, okay so I must have two troop selections?
Either way it is not 100% clear.
Wow, you missed the entire point of my post, didn't you? The dedicated transport does NOT automatically count as a troops unit the second you assign it to a Troops squad. It only becomes a Troops unit if the scenario or deployment requires a distinction to be made as to what type of unit it is. Otherwise, it's a null, with no force org type. Got it now?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/14 10:27:50
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/14 16:48:33
Subject: Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
Somewhere Ironic
|
MasterSlowPoke wrote:Shadelkan wrote:If were going to go on about "why does one codex specify," then let's look at Tau; their transport, the devilfish, is a unit you can take without first taking another; it is an actual troops choice. It clearly gives you the option of, say, taking firewarriors, a devilfish, an HQ, and your good to go.
Kind of late, but the Devilfish is a "Transport" not a "Troops". Look at the sideways text under the grey bar at the bottom of page 36.
You're  kidding. Are you serious? That barely noticeable grey text automatically makes it a non-troops? I don't believe this... Besides, it doesn't say anywhere that it's a dedicated transport, or it doesn't take force org chart slots. So... what the deal?
|
DQ:90S++G++MB++I--Pw40k01+D+A++/hWD-R+++T(D)DM+
Organiser of 40k Montreal
There is only war in Montreal
kronk wrote:The International Programmers Society has twice met to get the world to agree on one methodology for programming dates. Both times they met, the meeting devolved into a giant Unreal Tournament Lan party... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/14 17:02:29
Subject: Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
Death Reaper already quoted the relevant rule. A dedicated transport occupies the same FOC-slot as its "parent" unit, so buing fire warriors with a DT would result in both being one troops choice. It's the same with IG plattoons, many units counting as a single troops choice.
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/14 18:37:19
Subject: Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Shadelkan wrote:MasterSlowPoke wrote:Shadelkan wrote:If were going to go on about "why does one codex specify," then let's look at Tau; their transport, the devilfish, is a unit you can take without first taking another; it is an actual troops choice. It clearly gives you the option of, say, taking firewarriors, a devilfish, an HQ, and your good to go.
Kind of late, but the Devilfish is a "Transport" not a "Troops". Look at the sideways text under the grey bar at the bottom of page 36.
You're  kidding. Are you serious? That barely noticeable grey text automatically makes it a non-troops? I don't believe this... Besides, it doesn't say anywhere that it's a dedicated transport, or it doesn't take force org chart slots. So... what the deal?
You can't just ignore what's written.
It also says "Transport" before the name of the unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/16 16:53:39
Subject: Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
DR: They are 2 separate units, but not selected as such. DTs are selected as part of a troops unit; just the same as you cannot take 1 10-man SM squads, Combat squad them and claim that you have fulfilled the FOC 2-troop requirements.
You also need not fill the FOC slots, only select units from the required sections(summoned daemons in CSM have specific rules stating that they do not count as required selections, along with not filling slots). The FOC never has any requirements that the slots be filled only, that selections from them are made.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/16 21:38:33
Subject: Dedicated transports and Force Organisation.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Death you quoted the reason a DT doesn't count as a compulsory choice. A DT uses the same force org selection as its parent unit. Pg 92
|
|
 |
 |
|