Switch Theme:

Locator Beacon and Gate of Infinity  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gr
Perfect Shot Ultramarine Predator Pilot




In a Space Marine Army that contains a single Drop Pod with a Locator Beacon and a Librarian, it is my understanding that the player can not on his first turn drop the Pod and then Gate the Librarian close to it using the LB, since the beacon is not on the table at the start of the turn.
Am i correct or the truth lies elsewere?

Thanks!
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

Yes, you are correct. The Locator Beacon can only be used if the model with it was on table at the start of the turn.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

However, The locator beacon says "If a unit wishes to arrive on the battlefield via deepstrike and chooses to do so within 6"of a model carrying a locator beacon..."

Since the Librarian is not arriving on the battlefield It does not seem that he can use the locator beacon at all.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





The rules for Gate of Infinity state that "the librarian...is removed from the table and immediately placed back"

Couldn't you make the argument that 'placing back' constitutes arriving? The word "arriving" does not only mean the first time, something can arrive multiple times.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: