Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/21 19:05:19
Subject: Power attack limits
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Hey guys, wanted to float this out there to see if someone could point me to a page reference in the Hordes book.
Some abilities say that a warbeast gets to use a Power Attack without being forced. I take this to mean they can just do it without getting a rage point. The question is: What limits how many times they can power attack then?
Example: Say I have a Feral Warp Wolf in contact with an enemy unit of Bloodleakers or something else scrawny, in range of say 4-5. The FWW does not (for whatever reason) have to be forced to power attack. What keeps me from just throwing the little scrawny bastards around over and over until I run out?
It seems to me there should be a limit on how many times you can do things that don't require being forced, but I am new to the book so I might be missing a line here or there.
Thanks.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/21 19:25:42
Subject: Power attack limits
|
 |
Master Tormentor
|
Power Attacks require you to use your action to perform them. As you only have one action, you can only perform one.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/21 23:39:46
Subject: Power attack limits
|
 |
Dakar
|
Laughing Man wrote:Power Attacks require you to use your action to perform them. As you only have one action, you can only perform one.
What about in the case of chain attacks, like Smash and Grab? If the ability allows you to perform a power attack after you succeed with hitting with the two initial attacks, do you have to be forced to perform the power attack conferred from the ability? Or is it free? Or am I messing this up completely?
Sorry to thread-jack, just thought that this was relevant and worth mentioning.
|
Radda
Dark Angels 4,500 points
Skorne 195
Farrow 40
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/22 02:28:55
Subject: Power attack limits
|
 |
Storm Lance
Poznan, Poland.
|
Chain attack is a special case where the power attack is a "bonus" generated by fulfilling certain condition (hitting with both initials in the case of Grab & Smash). So you don't need to spend focus/be forced to execute it (except for possible boosting).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/22 02:29:34
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/22 07:54:45
Subject: Power attack limits
|
 |
Scouting Gnoblar Trapper
Vilnius, Lithuania
|
Laughing Man wrote:Power Attacks require you to use your action to perform them. As you only have one action, you can only perform one.
Power attacks don't require your entire action, however like all special attacks they must must be performed instead of your initial attacks, and since you get your initial attacks only once per activation you can perform only one power attack during tour combat action. You can buy additional normal melee attacks after power attack though.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/22 16:10:56
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/22 13:38:06
Subject: Power attack limits
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Ahh ok, that's what I was missing. I thought you could Power Attack on any extra attack. So basically you get initial and can normally force to do a Power Attack instead, but if you have that ability you can just choose to do it without forcing. Then after you can force to get a single extra attack (not one with every weapon, right?) but you can't Power Attack on it, correct?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/22 14:14:55
Subject: Power attack limits
|
 |
Scouting Gnoblar Trapper
Vilnius, Lithuania
|
Right. Note that regular special attacks like Thresher and such don't require the model to pay focus/force, only to forfeit initial attacks. Only power power attacks have that additional cost.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/22 16:11:17
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/22 14:43:41
Subject: Power attack limits
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Wehrkind wrote:Ahh ok, that's what I was missing. I thought you could Power Attack on any extra attack. So basically you get initial and can normally force to do a Power Attack instead, but if you have that ability you can just choose to do it without forcing. Then after you can force to get a single extra attack (not one with every weapon, right?) but you can't Power Attack on it, correct?
You are correct.
A Warbeast of Warjack with no special rules applying to this situation can give up its initial attacks for a Power Attack at the cost of one Focus or Fury(Forced). The 'Jack or 'Beast may only do this once within the normal rules of the game. After this, it can buy normal attacks as the standard rules (one Focus or Fury(Forced) will grant you one attack with the weapon of your choice).
In your question's situation, you simply do not have to Force the Warbeast to give up its initial attacks to use the Power Attack.
In the other situation you mentioned with Grab and Smash, by using your initial attacks, you have given up the option of giving up your initial attacks for a Power Attack. However, the special rule grants you a free Power Attack if the initial attacks work as the rule specifies.
|
|
 |
 |
|