Switch Theme:

Scoring units in transports and claiming objectives  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Battlefield Professional





New York

Can a scoring unit in a transport, say a Marine Tac squad in a rhino, claim an objective in an objective mission? Also do non-scoring units contest objectives?

Current Armies:

Warmachine:
Shae Pirate's Life 50
Durgen attrition 50

WH40K:
Orks (5,000 pt Apoc Kan Wall, 1850 Bikerz)
Grey Knights (1850 Crowe Purifiers, 2500 'Ard Boyz Draigo)
Sisters of Battle (Seraphim spam)

WHFB:
2400 Empire
3000 Tomb Kings 
   
Made in se
Wicked Warp Spider






Ios

Yes and yes.

I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Yes to the first, not sure what you mean by non-scoring to the second.

Only troop units (and those with special exemptions) can claim objectives, but other slots are allowed to contest an objective. So if I have a unit of Kommandos next to your Tac Marines, you do not get the objective.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Any unit can contest an objective.

For WHY an embarked unit can claim an objective, see Page 67, from memory, about Embarked troops and measuring to them./
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

nosferatu1001 wrote:Any unit can contest an objective.

For WHY an embarked unit can claim an objective, see Page 67, from memory, about Embarked troops and measuring to them./


It's actually on page 90 that says umbarked troops can control an objective.
Page 67 has dedicated transports on it.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Page 90 is a logical extension of the rules for measuring to embarked models, which is page 66 - I was close!

You dont need page 90 to tell you embarked models can score - its just a reminder.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: