Switch Theme:

Hive tyrant joining Tyrant guard make it I/C in CC?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Implacable Black Templar Initiate





Sheffield, England

It states in the codex the HT may join the TG exactly as if it was an IC


Will this apply to the IC rules for CC?


We assumed yes last night, resulting in him being squelched by 2 DC Dreads and Mephiston :3

- Hive Fleet Kraken 2500pt

- Coldstrike Cadre 1600pt

Black Templars Epsilon Crusade 1500pt 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

The HT joins as if it were an IC, but isn't an IC. Once it has joined the unit, it is just a part of the unit, since it doesn't have the IC rule.

 
   
Made in gb
Implacable Black Templar Initiate





Sheffield, England

So essentially it can't be targeted in CC?




Automatically Appended Next Post:
just seen the FAQ on GW site, cheers mate!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/07/03 20:32:05


- Hive Fleet Kraken 2500pt

- Coldstrike Cadre 1600pt

Black Templars Epsilon Crusade 1500pt 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

That is correct, the Hive tyrant can not be picked out in CC.

However with two Death company dreadnoughts and Mepheston attacking, your unit is probably going to die anyway.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Considering the MOST wounds you could ever have in the unit is 13 with a Majority Toughness of 6 I'd say you're right.
   
Made in us
Elite Tyranid Warrior






Especially considering your majority WS of 5 (unless you run only one Tyrant Guard) because you are punching a single unit with Complex WS which is given a majority WS.

- 3000+
- 2000+

Ogres - 3500+

Protectorate of Menoth - 100+ 
   
Made in us
Brainy Zoanthrope





Underground in a Mawloc-proof zone.

Yes. An IC can not target the Hive Tyrant/Swarmlord if there is Tyrant Guard with him. The Tyranid player gets to allocate the wounds.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
And yes the downer is if you have more than 1 Tyrant Guard your majority WS will be 5,until the Tyrant Guard(s) die.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/07/05 16:07:03


DT:80S++G++MB+IPw40k056D+A++/areWD375 R+++T(T)DM+

3,500 points
Dwarfs: 150 points?

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




with majority ws 5 most things are hittting on 4+ anyways so that doesn't really matter. WS needs to be double+1 to get 5+ and with meq that's a 9.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Just a note on this: Majority WS only matters when being attacked. Individual models use their own WS for doing the attacking. Not that any of that matters, the BAs will be hitting on 4+ no matter what the majority WS is and only the HT will ever be hitting on a 3+.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Brainy Zoanthrope





Underground in a Mawloc-proof zone.

Kommissar Kel wrote:Just a note on this: Majority WS only matters when being attacked. Individual models use their own WS for doing the attacking. Not that any of that matters, the BAs will be hitting on 4+ no matter what the majority WS is and only the HT will ever be hitting on a 3+.


Unless you are going against Swarmlord with 1 Tyrant Guard(a little off subject though) You would need 5+ to hit.

DT:80S++G++MB+IPw40k056D+A++/areWD375 R+++T(T)DM+

3,500 points
Dwarfs: 150 points?

 
   
Made in us
Elite Tyranid Warrior






Kommissar Kel wrote:Just a note on this: Majority WS only matters when being attacked. Individual models use their own WS for doing the attacking. Not that any of that matters, the BAs will be hitting on 4+ no matter what the majority WS is and only the HT will ever be hitting on a 3+.


Yes, this is true. I did not clarify this in my statement above. It is only for attacking the unit does majority WS matter, not for making the attacks.

- 3000+
- 2000+

Ogres - 3500+

Protectorate of Menoth - 100+ 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Kommissar Kel wrote:Just a note on this: Majority WS only matters when being attacked. Individual models use their own WS for doing the attacking. Not that any of that matters, the BAs will be hitting on 4+ no matter what the majority WS is and only the HT will ever be hitting on a 3+.


The BA's in question, The Death Company Dreadnoughts, hit on a 4+ But Mepheston hits on a 3+ since he has a WS greater than the majority of his target unit. and with his stats I would be shocked if the Hive Tyrant was not dead on Mephistons' Initiative.

If he is not, at least one of the DC dreads would surely cause enough wounds to kill the tyrant, even if the tyrant manages to kill one of the dreads.

Depending on the setup of the HT with its lash whip and all.

Nuclear_Bomb wrote:
Kommissar Kel wrote:Just a note on this: Majority WS only matters when being attacked. Individual models use their own WS for doing the attacking. Not that any of that matters, the BAs will be hitting on 4+ no matter what the majority WS is and only the HT will ever be hitting on a 3+.


Unless you are going against Swarmlord with 1 Tyrant Guard(a little off subject though) You would need 5+ to hit.

The above is incorrect.

The Death Company Dreadnoughts, hit on a 4+ and Mepheston would as well against the swarmlord and 1 tyrant guard. Not 5+, you would need to have something attack the Swarmlord with 1 Tyrant Guard that has a WS of 4 to make the attackers hit on 5's

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/07/05 23:21:20


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Brainy Zoanthrope





Underground in a Mawloc-proof zone.

What is Mepheston's WS?

DT:80S++G++MB+IPw40k056D+A++/areWD375 R+++T(T)DM+

3,500 points
Dwarfs: 150 points?

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Meph's WS is 7

So if the Swarmlord is solo or with 1 guard he hits the unit on a 4+

If it has 2 guard or more he hits on a 3+

Due to majority WS clause.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Which is why you take lash whips on tyrant guard - making meph hit after you is always a good thing
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

and that's also why you assault with a unit and Meph, so you can force the Hive tyrant into B2B with the unit and not meph and disallow attacks onto him from the Hive Tyrant.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/07/06 07:40:42


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: