Switch Theme:

Multiple combat question, combat resolution on multiple squads  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight





Overland Park, KS

So Draigo and my Librarian were locked in combat with the last remnant of a outflanking genestealer squad, with one member left it was all but assured they would be wiped out in the subsequent turn. However, a Swarmlord and 3 tyrant guard piled in.

The Swarmlord, like the sissy he is, did not come into base contact with Draigo or my Lib, so I wouldn't be able to allocate my attacks to him, and so his tyrant guard's lash whips would take me down to 1 initiative. After the Swarmlord and his guard made all of their attacks, none of which managed to get through the lib's 2+ warding stave invuln, Draigo attacked back with force weapon attacks, striking with 3. He allocated those wounds to the tyrant guard, removing all 3 of them (6 unsaved wounds); the Swarmlord then took a morale test on a -6, which he failed and fell back.

The whole time, the last member of the genestealer squad was chilling out (having failed to do anything with his attacks) in this combat. My question is: should this genestealer have had to suffer 6 wounds from being fearless, since he was part of a combat that his side lost?

This resulted in quite an outburst, as I would have enjoyed getting Draigo and my Librarian the heck out of there, due to all the damage they had already suffered (lost 5 paladins). We ended up not doing anything to the genestealer as he "was not really part of the combat since I didn't allocate any wounds onto him." I argued that he was indeed part of the combat, and fearless, so should therefore suffer 6 wounds due to being fearless. We ended up winning, and Draigo miraculously survived an entire wave of gaunts and tervigon attacks, killing them all in the process.

   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

Both units are Fearless, both are on the side that lost combat, both take 6 wounds before saves.

As a Synapse Creature, the Swarmlord is Fearless. And yes, each unit in a multiple combat suffers the consequences for a loss by his side individually. So 6 No Retreat wounds per Fearless unit.
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight





Overland Park, KS

Well that is good to know, I can't believe that he didn't know that all synapse creatures are fearless as well. He is terrible about his rules.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Also Swarm isnt an IC, therefore you dont need to be in base to base to attack him - out of those 3 wounds, at least ONE should have been allocated to Swarmlord; theyre all one unit.

You could then have possibly forceweaponed him
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight





Overland Park, KS

Ah well I didn't realize I could allocate to him, I guess he isn't really an IC. I did force weapon all of his hive guard, after all.

   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

He isn't an IC, but that doesn't mean you can allocate to him. Your opponent allocates wounds inflicted on his unit, and with 3 wounds and 3 Guard there's no way he's going to assign a possible Instant Death wound on the Swarmlord. 4+ Invulnerable isn't reliable enough to save his ass.

Although, given the Tyranid player doesn't seem to know his rules, were you aware of Shadow in the Warp? It's the Tyranid anti-psyker ability and might have prevented your force weapon activation.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It's what brotherhood banners were built for

It doesnt alter that everyone on the losing "side" in a multiple combat takes fearless wounds, meaning the stealer should have been very, very dead
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight





Overland Park, KS

Chrysis wrote:He isn't an IC, but that doesn't mean you can allocate to him. Your opponent allocates wounds inflicted on his unit, and with 3 wounds and 3 Guard there's no way he's going to assign a possible Instant Death wound on the Swarmlord. 4+ Invulnerable isn't reliable enough to save his ass.

Although, given the Tyranid player doesn't seem to know his rules, were you aware of Shadow in the Warp? It's the Tyranid anti-psyker ability and might have prevented your force weapon activation.


Yes, he is very aware of Shadow in the Warp. However, his teammate was already an Eldar with Runes of Warding, so I was rolling 3d6 for every power as it was. I was pretty happy I got the force weapon off.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: