Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/05 11:29:27
Subject: Do you have to roll to hit with Lash of Submission?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
This has come up recently, i think you don't have to roll to hit with Lash, because it is not a shooting attack, its just a psychic power.
The wording from CSM codex, page 86:
'A psyker may use this psychic power in the shooting phase instead of using another ranged weapon. Pick any non-vehicle unit visable to the psyker and within 24", and then take a psychic test in order to use the power. OIf the test is passed the target is moved 2D6 by the chaos player.'
And wording from Rulebook FAQ page 3:
Q: What psychic powers count as psychic shooting attacks? (p50) A: Any psychic power with a profile like that of a ranged weapon (i.e. has a range, strength and AP value) and any psychic power that specifically states that it is a psychic shooting attack.
So, i think its fairly simple unless i'm missing something. What does Dakka say?
|
DC:90-S+G++M--B++I+pW40k08+D++A++/eWD257R++t(S)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/05 11:42:21
Subject: Re:Do you have to roll to hit with Lash of Submission?
|
 |
Raging Ravener
The Black Planet
|
The Rulebook FAQ only applies if the psychic power actually inflicts damage, (i.e. has a range, strength & AP value); lash does not.
As you've said yourself, Lash allows the Chaos player to move the target 2D6, but does not inflict damage directly . . .
As such, no, lash does not need to roll to hit
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/07/05 11:43:15
Don't Panic !
4000pts 4000pts
2500pts 2000pts
1500pts 1500pts
Dwarf 4000pts Skaven 3000pts
O&G 3000pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/05 11:53:21
Subject: Do you have to roll to hit with Lash of Submission?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
According to the New FAQ, Lash no longer meets the criteria for a PSA (it does not state it is a PSA, neither does it have a weapon profile) and therefore does not follow the rules for PSAs, ergo you do not roll to hit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/05 12:45:27
Subject: Re:Do you have to roll to hit with Lash of Submission?
|
 |
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes
|
Hmm, is lash useable on friendly units? Can you move your own guys closer to the enemy, melta units closer to vehicles (which then shoot), CC units into assault range etc? It looks like it just says it has to be any non-vehicle unit within 24" and in LOS of the psyker. I don't play CSM but it sounds like a pretty useful psychic power.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/05 12:57:27
Subject: Do you have to roll to hit with Lash of Submission?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, only enemy units.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/05 13:15:44
Subject: Do you have to roll to hit with Lash of Submission?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
rodgers37 wrote:
'A psyker may use this psychic power in the shooting phase instead of using another ranged weapon. Pick any non-vehicle unit visable to the psyker and within 24", and then take a psychic test in order to use the power. OIf the test is passed the target is moved 2D6 by the chaos player.' [/i]
If this is truly how the spell is worded, why wouldn't you be able to use it on friendly units? before when it was a psa I would have tended to agree, but now...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/07/05 13:16:43
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/05 13:24:08
Subject: Re:Do you have to roll to hit with Lash of Submission?
|
 |
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer
Alabama
|
Because that is not how it is worded. "Pick any non-vehicle enemy unit visible to the psyker and within 24".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/05 14:18:37
Subject: Re:Do you have to roll to hit with Lash of Submission?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yes it does say 'non-vehicle enemy unit' i managed to miss out the enemy.
I'm quite glad i'm not going mad and missing something. Being told i had to roll to hit (and then i managed to miss) was a bit factor in me losing a game last week.
|
DC:90-S+G++M--B++I+pW40k08+D++A++/eWD257R++t(S)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
|