Switch Theme:

Can models move after teleporting to a Monolith that just moved?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Numberless Necron Warrior





The pearl

Can models move after teleporting to a Monolith that just moved, or specifically deepstriked? And if they can, can they assault? The rules say to treat them as having disembarked from a transport, however I don't think that should apply to the monolith's teleportation rule because it is the Necron's only means of transportation.

"May God have mercy upon my enemies, because I won't."
-General George Patton

The Greater Good says you must die.

6k
4k  
   
Made in us
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say





Los Angeles, CA

If it says treat them as having disembarked, then they would not be able to move. Vehicles that have deep struck count as moving at cruising speed for the turn. Therefore, you would not be able to move or assault.


http://www.3forint.com/ Back in Action! 
   
Made in us
Assault Kommando





Related question: If the Monolith deep strikes into difficult terrain and then pulls models through the door and they land in terrain, do those models have to make a dangerous terrain tests? they are considered to be disembarking from a deep striking vehicle and so they would be deep striking themselves (as per the FAQ), correct?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/07/05 16:41:41


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

Actually....the Monolith rule says that when teleporting through a Monolith, you treat it as having disembarked from a stationary vehicle.

So regardless of what the monolith has done, the teleportation is treated as having disembarked from a stationary vehicle - so models having teleported can still assault.

However, the FAQ made a clarification noting that a teleporting unit cannot move after teleporting through a monolith that has already moved. IE, you cannot move the monolith, teleport a unit, then move again with the unit.

You can however move a monolith, move a unit, then teleport - after which you are free to assault, just like having disembarked from a stationary vehicle.

You can also teleport a unit, move them, and then move the monolith.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Hellstorm wrote:Related question: If the Monolith deep strikes into difficult terrain and then pulls models through the door and they land in terrain, do those models have to make a dangerous terrain tests? they are considered to be disembarking from a deep striking vehicle and so they would be deep striking themselves (as per the FAQ), correct?


And no - they are considered disembarking from a stationary vehicle, with the caveat that a teleporting unit may not move again after teleporting through a monolith that has already moved.

The following are allowed:
Move, teleport, shoot, assault.
Teleport, move, shoot, assault.

The caveat that you can't move if you have already moved or if the monolith has moved is to prevent abuse. Imagine this: Move, teleport (stationary vehicle), move again, shoot, assault. Or to gain extra inches the same way: Move monolith forward, teleport unit, move unit forward additional 6", shoot, assault.

The rules are in place to only let you move, shoot and assault the normal distance you would be allowed to do so, albeit from a different starting point (via teleportation).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/07/05 16:46:10


   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Dashofpepper wrote:Actually....the Monolith rule says that when teleporting through a Monolith, you treat it as having disembarked from a stationary vehicle.
.


Well, no, it doesn't say that. Not anymore. It did say that in the first printing, but they took the word 'stationery' out in the second printing. So if the Monolith moved prior to the teleport, then they are treated as disembarking from a transport that moved. hence the FAQ, to reinforce the 2nd printing.

Oh, and they also disallow moving a unit and then teleporting said unit through the Monolith....................... Last line on the Monolith page in the newer print:
"A unit phasing out to re-emerge from the portal may not move before phasing out."

It's these little things that even Necron players don't know that led me to buy a 2nd printing even tho I don't play Necrons.................................
And to photocopy that one page and put it with the current Necron FAQ in my FAQ binder.

So to answer the OPs original question, no, they may neither move nor assault after 'disembarking' from a Monolith that has already moved or arrived via deep strike.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/07/05 17:36:13


Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: