Switch Theme:

New FAQ Question regarding skimmers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




It is now quite clear that you only take into account the base of your Valkryie for difficult terrain and other models. Does this mean now that you can overhang the board edge as well? I know that outflanking from reserve you were destroyed if you did not get completely onto the board (meaning you had to move over 6" just to make it into the game), but did the FAQ change that regarding wings or tails, and only require that the base make it onto the board?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/07/13 14:48:23


 
   
Made in us
Dusty Skeleton




I think (cant stress that enough as I dont use vehichles really) in the FAQ it still said that Wings etc are still counted as part of the hull. If a peice of the hull is off the table I would guess its destroyed?

The base I could see for difficult/models as its hovering above and would only be in trouble if something was real close to its underbelly.

But again I am unsure.

- Strig
   
Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon





The FAQ says that the large oval base is used for determining terrain effects. Surely that includes the open terrain of the board near the edge.

Homer

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/07/13 15:09:16


The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

There's a difference between terrain and the edge of the board.

You use the base to determine what terrain the model is in. But, you use the model itself to determine if it is on the board.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Grakmar wrote:There's a difference between terrain and the edge of the board.

You use the base to determine what terrain the model is in. But, you use the model itself to determine if it is on the board.


So the Space Marine captain model that ends up with a sword point over the edge of the board is destroyed, too?
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

solkan wrote:
Grakmar wrote:There's a difference between terrain and the edge of the board.

You use the base to determine what terrain the model is in. But, you use the model itself to determine if it is on the board.


So the Space Marine captain model that ends up with a sword point over the edge of the board is destroyed, too?


Well, you can't move off the board, so the Space Marine Captain in question wouldn't be able to end up with his sword over the edge by movement.

If he comes onto the board from reserves and is only able to move partially onto the board with his sword sticking over the edge, he would be destroyed, as would any squad he was attached to.

But, these issues should be incredibly rare.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in gb
Fully-charged Electropriest





solkan wrote:
Grakmar wrote:There's a difference between terrain and the edge of the board.

You use the base to determine what terrain the model is in. But, you use the model itself to determine if it is on the board.


So the Space Marine captain model that ends up with a sword point over the edge of the board is destroyed, too?


No, because the area occupied by models which aren't vehicles is defined by the size of their base, NOT by the size of the model. Only vehicles are defined by the size of their hull. Skimmers on large bases are a weird middle ground where the base is used to determine whether or not you're in terrain, but I'd still say that overhanging the board edge is a no-go area.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/07/13 16:18:15




“Do not ask me to approach the battle meekly, to creep through the shadows, or to quietly slip on my foes in the dark. I am Rogal Dorn, Imperial Fist, Space Marine, Emperor’s Champion. Let my enemies cower at my advance and tremble at the sight of me.”
-Rogal Dorn
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Grakmar wrote:Well, you can't move off the board, so the Space Marine Captain in question wouldn't be able to end up with his sword over the edge by movement.

If he comes onto the board from reserves and is only able to move partially onto the board with his sword sticking over the edge, he would be destroyed, as would any squad he was attached to.

But, these issues should be incredibly rare.


No. The way I describe it to people is to imagine a cylinder that goes up vertically about 2" from the base. That (for all intents purpose) is where the model is. Bits that overhang the cylinder aren't really there per say (i.e. backpacks and weapons). The rulebook states that certain additives do not count as the model itself.

GWAR wrote:Lol PBS are Psyker Battle Squads and are in the IG codex lolololol!!!1!!!1!!11eleventyone!!!!!!11!!!
 
   
Made in us
Kid_Kyoto






Probably work

Devil's Advocate:

FAQ wrote:Q: What happens when a unit arrives from reserves but
is unable to completely move onto the board? (p94)
A: The unit is destroyed and removed from play.


The Vendetta is able to move to completely move onto the board. You just choose not to move it completely onto the board.

Assume all my mathhammer comes from here: https://github.com/daed/mathhammer 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





North Jersey

The edge of the board is the edge of reality; if something is out there, it doesn't exist. Bits of the aircraft hanging over the edge and subsequently being destroyed would destroy the aircraft too, much akin to how removing the tail or wing of a plane midflight will cause it to crash horribly.

-cgmckenzie


1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== 
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

Or to put it another way

'Go cruising speed already and quit complaining '

The Valk/Vendetta/Stormraven/Razorwing/Rubber chicken on a flying stand (new necron flyer ) can all get on the board from reserve within their max speed. Even a Monolith can (barely). If you opt not to then that's your business, but your opponent is within their rights to point out that your vehicle is dead.

The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Corrode wrote:
solkan wrote:
Grakmar wrote:There's a difference between terrain and the edge of the board.

You use the base to determine what terrain the model is in. But, you use the model itself to determine if it is on the board.


So the Space Marine captain model that ends up with a sword point over the edge of the board is destroyed, too?


No, because the area occupied by models which aren't vehicles is defined by the size of their base, NOT by the size of the model. Only vehicles are defined by the size of their hull. Skimmers on large bases are a weird middle ground where the base is used to determine whether or not you're in terrain, but I'd still say that overhanging the board edge is a no-go area.


This.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





The monolith cannot, actually. It's base is >6" long on one side. It is impossible for the monolith to get on the board from reserves without deep striking, yet another way that Dawn of War feths over the Necron players.
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

Mine measures as exactly 6'' front to back. I've just checked. The guns are rotatable, and so won't be an issue.

If you try to drive it on sideways it might be an issue, i suppose, as the exhaust vents make the model a little wider than long.

With a 6'' length and a move of 6'' it will exactly fit onto the board, touching the edgeline.

If you have an ssue with this take sandpaper to the corner between the pyramid and the base and sand it down a little, and do the same on the rear.


The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: