Switch Theme:

Dred Mob in Apocalypse  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Hi all,

Apologies if this has come up before. I'm planning an apocalypse game, and wanting to bring a stompa/dred mob. Am I right in reading that the stompa (and the rest of the mob within range) would get a 4+ obscured save for 50pts? Seems very powerful for 50 pts. Is there any limit on super-heavies getting these saves? Don't want to read it wrong and unfairly beat my buddies.

Cheers,

Gork
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





North Jersey

Yep, 4+ save for being in range of the KFF. Check the new Orks FAQ.

Shouldn't Gork(or maybe Mork) know this?

-cgmckenzie


1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Ah, this isn't the standard KFF. It's the one in the Dredmob rules. And I agree it seems pretty clear, just very powerful. Giving a 650pt model a 4+ save is enough, being able to convey that on another within 12" is awesome. (And they get grot riggers as well)

My concern was whether super-heavies might be an exception to obscured saves. I note already that they follow all the rules for their unit type, so a super-heavy walker is still a walker.

I haven't played Apoc before.

Mork

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/07/16 17:14:14


 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





North Jersey

It still applies. I don't have my Apoc book handy, but they should get cover just like anything else. An obscured super heavy still gets the obscured save.

-cgmckenzie


1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






The rules for the force field in the dread mob are not the same as a regular KFF.

"Any walker at least partially within 12" of Da Big Dred counts as being an obscured target."

So, yes, any stompas that you may have (not just the ones in the formation) will get a 4+ cover save. However, do note that it applies only to walkers.
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





North Jersey

Who would run stompas not in a dread mob? That's silly.

-cgmckenzie


1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Cheers all. That sounds fantastic. Time to get me some humie.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: