Switch Theme:

Does Lokir Get His Extra Attacks in Challenges?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Howdy everyone! Last game I charged my lord with his unit of clanrats into the flank of Lokir and some corsairs. I issued a challenge and he accepted. Now, would Lokir get his red blades attacks in a challenge with my lord because he is fighting only my character and not the unit? Thanks guys!
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You may need to quote the rule, I dont have it to hand
isnt it Lokhir?
Assuming he gets bonus attacks equal to the ranks in the unit he is fighting, he is still fighting the unit, just one model in it.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Thanks for the reply nos. Indeed it is Lokhir and his rule reads for every rank in the enemy unit he is attacking. Your point was the main one he made during the game. I made the point, in CC, you must choose to fight the character or the unit and that in a challenge. Since all attacks are made against the character, you aren't fighting the unit, so you wouldn't get the extra attacks.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






It's worth noting that the Brass Cleaver for Beastmen operates on a similar principle, granting an extra attack for each model in B2B contact with the user. The Brass Cleaver, however, specifically states that in a challenge the bearer gets only a single extra attack.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Fair enough. What if I just charged my lord out of the clanrats and and the clanrats charge the same unit. I challenge Lokhir and although the situation is exactly the same, he wouldn't get the extra attacks correct?
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Except that if the charcter charges out of the unit, it can't charge.

CHAOS! PANIC! DISORDER!
My job here is done. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Goretok - he is still attacking the unit, he is just forced tro allocate all attacks onto one model in the unit

If you have your character by his lonesome and another unit in the battle, then no extra attacks for lokhir
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Aye, I knew that. Just seems silly that the 2 situations are basically exactly the same, but Lokhir gets magically stronger because my character is "in" a unit that is not providing him any help at all during the fight.
   
Made in us
Wraith





Raleigh, North Carolina

I don't think that's quite so silly. A challenge in fluff terms is when the two masters of combat command their subordinates to stay out of the fight, leaving it just to the two of them. The subordinates don't go away, they're just fighting everyone else. Lokhir gets stronger when he has an audience watching his mayhem, whether they are actively the target of his mayhem or if he is directing it toward a single person out of that group. That's how I envision it anyhow.

 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: