| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/23 02:39:14
Subject: Deciated Transports rules. Please help.
|
 |
Dangerous Outrider
|
Like many of you on Dakka Dakka know, I am starting a Grey Knights army. So I have a few questions, mainly about just what 'dedicated transport' means.
Can I put my troops into Rhino's? Even though they aren't dedicated transports? What does it mean to have a dedicated transport?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/23 02:44:46
Subject: Deciated Transports rules. Please help.
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Most units can purchase a dedicated transport and deploy in it. For the relevant rules, see:
Rulebook p67, box at the end of the page labelled "Dedicated Transports".
Rulebook p87, "Dedicated Transports".
Codex: Grey Knights p81, "Dedicated Transports".
That's about all there is to know about them
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/23 02:49:11
Subject: Deciated Transports rules. Please help.
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
Yeah, from what I know, and that is very little, "dedicated transport" pretty much just means that they deploy in it. No dedicated transport means you can't deploy in it. Correct me if I'm wrong as I'm pretty green myself, but that is how I have planned my army.
|
"I have two hands, therefore, I can hold two shovels"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/23 02:56:17
Subject: Deciated Transports rules. Please help.
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
Dedicated transports may only transport the unit they were purchased with (and any joined IC) before the game begins. After the game start they can play taxi for any unit they like just like a normal undedicated transport. However none dedicated transports have no restrictions, any unit may start the game being transported. (assuming they fit)
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/07/23 02:57:20
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/23 02:58:17
Subject: Deciated Transports rules. Please help.
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
jirc wrote:Yeah, from what I know, and that is very little, "dedicated transport" pretty much just means that they deploy in it. No dedicated transport means you can't deploy in it. Correct me if I'm wrong as I'm pretty green myself, but that is how I have planned my army.
Not completely correct. Dedicated transports cannot start the game or come in from reserves while transporting other units, but either type of transport can start the game empty if you wish. Dedicated transports also do not take up any force organisation slots (but it should be noted that they DO count as separate units, so are not forced to fire at the same target as their parent unit and count towards the maximum number of units deployable in Dawn of War). You can start the game with a unit embarked in a non-dedicated transport. See the rulebook FAQ.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/07/23 03:01:30
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/23 08:47:30
Subject: Deciated Transports rules. Please help.
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
Cheexsta wrote:jirc wrote:Yeah, from what I know, and that is very little, "dedicated transport" pretty much just means that they deploy in it. No dedicated transport means you can't deploy in it. Correct me if I'm wrong as I'm pretty green myself, but that is how I have planned my army.
Not completely correct. Dedicated transports cannot start the game or come in from reserves while transporting other units, but either type of transport can start the game empty if you wish. Dedicated transports also do not take up any force organisation slots (but it should be noted that they DO count as separate units, so are not forced to fire at the same target as their parent unit and count towards the maximum number of units deployable in Dawn of War).
You can start the game with a unit embarked in a non-dedicated transport. See the rulebook FAQ.
Thanks for that. I'm very new to 40k and so am still learning myself.
|
"I have two hands, therefore, I can hold two shovels"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/23 16:01:03
Subject: Deciated Transports rules. Please help.
|
 |
Dangerous Outrider
|
Alright, I was just worried that I wouldn't be able to have my Grey knights inside of rhino's the first turn...wait...does that mean I could have them in the Inquisterial Chimera on turn one?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/23 16:34:46
Subject: Deciated Transports rules. Please help.
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
The only unit allowed to start the game (be deployed) inside a Dedicated Transport is the unit it was bought for, ie, the unit from whose entry it was bought.
Did the Grey Knights buy the Inquisitorial Chimera from their unit entry?
|
-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."
18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/23 17:39:15
Subject: Deciated Transports rules. Please help.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Avrik, look at the unit entry in the codex, the section with points values, not the fluff section. If it has a Dedicated Transport option, then the unit can purchase one of the listed transports as a dedicated transport.
Then check pg. 67 in the BRB. There is a box there that explains how dedicated transports work. Which basically just says what Steelmage said.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/23 23:11:24
Subject: Re:Deciated Transports rules. Please help.
|
 |
Pete Haines
Springfield, MA
|
So I don't know why this site keeps not loading for me, but again i'll talk because there is alot of words above.
I have been working on a codex variant, and therefore I have compiled all the rules into 1 location. I will post what I have for dedicated transports, because it should be everything;
"Dedicated Transports Certain units have the option of selecting a dedicated transport, as indicated in their unit entry. Unless mentioned otherwise, dedicated transports are not free.
What makes dedicated transports different from normal vehicles is they do not use up any force organization chart selections, but otherwise function as separate units. Only the unit the transport is bought for can start the game in the vehicle, but they don’t have to (even drop pods can deploy empty). After deployment the transport can be used by any friendly unit, assuming that it’s possible to begin with.
A unit which is too large to fit in their dedicated transport obviously can’t enter it, but nothing prevents them from purchasing it. Units can’t have more than 1 dedicated transport.
The rules for transports, dedicated or not, states that only 1 infantry unit can be transported at a time. This also applies to combat squads, because they are treated as 2 separate units for game purposes.
"
|
"A rule is only as good as the reasoning behind it."
I played Ordo Malleus since before it had a codex. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/23 23:27:57
Subject: Re:Deciated Transports rules. Please help.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
erikwfg wrote:
A unit which is too large to fit in their dedicated transport obviously can’t enter it, but nothing prevents them from purchasing it.
"
Most Marine armies (not BT) can purchase a Razorback even if the squad has more than 6 members. But everybody else (as far I know) cannot purchase a dedicated transport if the unit size is too large to embark in the dedicated transport.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/24 00:07:52
Subject: Deciated Transports rules. Please help.
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Yeah, that one really comes down to a codex-by-codex basis. Many units are restricted from purchasing a transport if they go over the cap.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/24 01:20:21
Subject: Re:Deciated Transports rules. Please help.
|
 |
Pete Haines
Springfield, MA
|
I actually have something to add somewhere in my above stuff;
"A dedicated transport is treated as the same force organization chart category as the unit it was bought for (elites, heavy support, troops, hq, fast attack)."
and no this does not make at troop choice a scoring unit, because rules say vehicles aren't scoring.
The SM faq says you can buy a razorback even if you have too many models to fit (still can't enter it). I don't see anywhere that says a generic rule about armies being able to do similar, but I also can't go through books anymore. So stupid as it might be, if normal armies can't do that, then the thing I posted should at least be accurate for SM, maybe other armies who are allowed to do the same.
For now I'm assuming if they can anyone can, unless codex rules restrict it.
|
"A rule is only as good as the reasoning behind it."
I played Ordo Malleus since before it had a codex. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/24 01:34:51
Subject: Re:Deciated Transports rules. Please help.
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
erikwfg wrote:For now I'm assuming if they can anyone can, unless codex rules restrict it.
Well, yeah, that's more or less the point.
Space Marines are allowed to buy transports with no size cap. Pretty much everyone else has a rule in their army list entries stating that they can purchase a transport if the unit is under a certain size.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/24 09:53:36
Subject: Re:Deciated Transports rules. Please help.
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
erikwfg wrote: I don't see anywhere that says a generic rule about armies being able to do similar, but I also can't go through books anymore. So stupid as it might be, if normal armies can't do that, then the thing I posted should at least be accurate for SM, maybe other armies who are allowed to do the same.
There is no rule concerning this. Your army list tells you if there are restrictions on purchasing a dedicated transports. Most armies do not have squad size restrictions, a few do.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/24 10:18:43
Subject: Deciated Transports rules. Please help.
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
Some codices do indeed have the restrictions, but it's not found in the obvious places.
Dark Eldar, for example, have the restriction, but instead of listing it in the unit list entries, it's stated in the summery regarding Dedicated Transports - which the vast majority of people skip.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/24 10:44:08
Subject: Re:Deciated Transports rules. Please help.
|
 |
Pete Haines
Springfield, MA
|
How annoying. You are proven right because I read through the book and have no clue what you speak of.
|
"A rule is only as good as the reasoning behind it."
I played Ordo Malleus since before it had a codex. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/25 14:19:12
Subject: Deciated Transports rules. Please help.
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
USA
|
Reading through this post I have a question of my own now. Never thought about it till yesterday (first game using land raiders), but Land Raiders for some armies (GK I know, i'm sure some others) are not dedicated transports, so technically I'd have to start my palladins/termies outside of the LR? Cause I've never seen that done at my FLGS.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/25 14:30:09
Subject: Deciated Transports rules. Please help.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Noone in this thread ever said that.
Read the BRB FAQ. You can deploy in non-dedicated transports just fine.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/27 01:19:01
Subject: Re:Deciated Transports rules. Please help.
|
 |
Pete Haines
Springfield, MA
|
and some land raiders can be dedicated transports.
Like in Daemonhunters or up to 2 terminator squads in SM's, just off the top of my head.
|
"A rule is only as good as the reasoning behind it."
I played Ordo Malleus since before it had a codex. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/27 04:52:20
Subject: Re:Deciated Transports rules. Please help.
|
 |
Zealous Sin-Eater
Chico, CA
|
erikwfg wrote:and some land raiders can be dedicated transports.
Like in Daemonhunters or up to 2 terminator squads in SM's, just off the top of my head.
Deamonhunter is a dead Codex it Grey Knights now, and sadly no more DT Landraiders.
|
Peter: As we all know, Christmas is that mystical time of year when the ghost of Jesus rises from the grave to feast on the flesh of the living! So we all sing Christmas Carols to lull him back to sleep.
Bob: Outrageous, How dare he say such blasphemy. I've got to do something.
Man #1: Bob, there's nothing you can do.
Bob: Well, I guess I'll just have to develop a sense of humor. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/27 09:24:22
Subject: Re:Deciated Transports rules. Please help.
|
 |
Pete Haines
Springfield, MA
|
Noir wrote:erikwfg wrote:and some land raiders can be dedicated transports.
Like in Daemonhunters or up to 2 terminator squads in SM's, just off the top of my head.
Deamonhunter is a dead Codex it Grey Knights now, and sadly no more DT Landraiders.
No u! Daemonhunters is still a valid codex, it's just stupid. GK's are not the same army, and if you say GK's are Daemonhunters then you have to say it's Witch Hunters too (and many other groups that never got a codex).
Between IG and GK's, everything left in that book is inferior and outdated, but being outdated is just codex rotation. Saying it's not allowed because something similar is out, means DA and BT (and who else?) have to use SM codex.
I'm still considering my Daemonhunters as an option for fielding Inquisitors and storm troopers (but switching stormtroopers with IG, or just using modern gun stats).
|
"A rule is only as good as the reasoning behind it."
I played Ordo Malleus since before it had a codex. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/27 10:55:27
Subject: Deciated Transports rules. Please help.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
False comparisons are false.
DA /= SM codex.
The DH can be used, like ANY codex, between friends. At any tournament the chances are you are out of luck, and now it isnt in production or available anywhere you're likely to struggle to find people who accept it as valid
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/27 11:25:58
Subject: Re:Deciated Transports rules. Please help.
|
 |
Pete Haines
Springfield, MA
|
I think I take back what I said, because removing the FAQ also seems to indicate it's just another army lost in the warp. Sure glad I didn't buy those 50 extra storm troopers...
...sure still don't want Xenos and Hereticus in my GK book. Uh... wait WH are still a codex. I don't want to talk anymore...
|
"A rule is only as good as the reasoning behind it."
I played Ordo Malleus since before it had a codex. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|