Switch Theme:

Units that don't fit in their transports  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fr
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer







I have a double question: can i take a venom with a 10 (wo)men wych squad and deploy the transport on the table and put the wyches in reserve?

1250 Eldar
1250 Dark Eldar (still building)
DE Kabal fluff
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/338476.page

Human: Why are you so cruel.
DE: Why not. 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






There is no rule which says a unit may not take a transport that it fits into. However, some codexes do have prohibitions on it.

The Dark Eldar codex does not have the prohibition. (see the Ork codex for a counter example - "mobs of 12 or fewer models may take...")


With all dedicated transports, there is no requirement to deploy them together. They are entirely independent units.
   
Made in za
Mutilatin' Mad Dok





Scott-S6 wrote:The Dark Eldar codex does not have the prohibition. (see the Ork codex for a counter example - "mobs of 12 or fewer models may take...")
Took a while to find it in the DE codex, but it's on page 91, in the description of Dedicated transports.

In other words, Dark Eldar units are indeed restricted by only being allowed to opt for a dedicated transport if the squad could fit into it.

As for deploying the two separately... I can't find any rules that force you to embark the squad in the vehicle during deployment... so I suppose it's feasible.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2011/07/24 09:56:20


 
   
Made in us
Pete Haines



Springfield, MA

As soon as I find out we moved our conversation it ended...

"A rule is only as good as the reasoning behind it."

I played Ordo Malleus since before it had a codex. 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Kharrak wrote:
Scott-S6 wrote:The Dark Eldar codex does not have the prohibition. (see the Ork codex for a counter example - "mobs of 12 or fewer models may take...")
Took a while to find it in the DE codex, but it's on page 91, in the description of Dedicated transports.

Well spotted

Yay for consistent rules writing.
   
Made in jp
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer






Somewhere in south-central England.

"A foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds"

I'm writing a load of fiction. My latest story starts here... This is the index of all the stories...

We're not very big on official rules. Rules lead to people looking for loopholes. What's here is about it. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: