Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/26 10:17:40
Subject: Stupid question. Multiple 5 man units in a Rhino.
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
If I have a 5 man Assault Squad in a Rhino, can I add in a Character and retinue of 4 into the same vehicle as there are 5 spare seats?
Oh and can a Chapter master detach from his honour Guard as he is an IC? or do they need to stay with him?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/07/26 10:18:23
Collecting Forge World 30k????? If you prefix any Thread Subject line on 30k or Pre-heresy or Horus Heresy with [30K] we can convince LEGO and the Admin team to create a 30K mini board if we can show there is enough interest! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/26 10:28:40
Subject: Stupid question. Multiple 5 man units in a Rhino.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Rules as written - no. Only one UNIT can embark on a transport. A unit and attached independent character can embark if there are enough seats as they then count as a single unit for transport purposes.
The same is true for combat squads - you're not allowed to 'merge squads' for transport reasons once they're deployed, the exception being if both combat squads are deployed in the rhino.
Same for drop pods - you can deploy 2 combat squads from a drop pod (and have them behave independently once they disembark).
If I were playing you though, I'd let you. Seems reasonable enough.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/26 10:29:59
Subject: Stupid question. Multiple 5 man units in a Rhino.
|
 |
The Hammer of Witches
|
As to the first question: Nope. One unit per transport.
|
DC:80SG+M+B+I+Pw40k97#+D+A++/wWD190R++T(S)DM+
htj wrote:You can always trust a man who quotes himself in his signature. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/26 11:30:04
Subject: Stupid question. Multiple 5 man units in a Rhino.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
For the second question - the honor guard do NOT have to remain "with" the IC. Ever. Theyre not a retinue, so you can deploy them anywhere you want.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/26 12:35:40
Subject: Stupid question. Multiple 5 man units in a Rhino.
|
 |
[DCM]
Moustache-twirling Princeps
Gone-to-ground in the craters of Coventry
|
winterdyne wrote:The same is true for combat squads - you're not allowed to 'merge squads' for transport reasons once they're deployed, the exception being if both combat squads are deployed in the rhino.
Same for drop pods - you can deploy 2 combat squads from a drop pod (and have them behave independently once they disembark).
I thought drop pods got a special rule, allowing splitting the squad on landing.
That transports could only carry 1 combat unit, with/without an IC, but still only half the squad. The other combat unit counts as a non-transport unit.
Will have to go back and check...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/26 12:56:41
Subject: Stupid question. Multiple 5 man units in a Rhino.
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
winterdyne wrote:The same is true for combat squads - you're not allowed to 'merge squads' for transport reasons once they're deployed, the exception being if both combat squads are deployed in the rhino.
You can't deploy both combat squads in the same dedicated transport.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/26 13:00:34
Subject: Re:Stupid question. Multiple 5 man units in a Rhino.
|
 |
Tinkering Tech-Priest
Sitting in the corner of The Eye Of Terror... crying...
|
If the CM rules say that the honor guard is a retinue, than he can't seperate from them until they are all dead (then he becomes a IC again)
and off the top of my head, the transport rules say that you may only have 1 unit and 1 IC in there at any one time (unless it's a super-heavy)
|
The person saying this is a chaos lord, NOT an ork
Firaeveus Carron wrote:Look! Rhinos! RRRRRRHHHHIIIIIIINNNNNOOOSSSSS! Our enemies hide in METAL BAWKSES, DA KOWARDZ! THE FEWLZ!! We...*Asthma attack* We should take away their METAL BAWKSES!...SSSSSINDRRRIIIIIIII!!!
CLANG! WHAT THE FETH WAS THAT?!
http://suptg.thisisnotatrueending.com/archive/1709686/
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/26 15:12:07
Subject: Re:Stupid question. Multiple 5 man units in a Rhino.
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Chuck Norris wrote:and off the top of my head, the transport rules say that you may only have 1 unit and 1 IC in there at any one time (unless it's a super-heavy)
You may have all the ICs there's room for.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/26 15:16:05
Subject: Stupid question. Multiple 5 man units in a Rhino.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
winterdyne wrote:Rules as written - no. Only one UNIT can embark on a transport. A unit and attached independent character can embark if there are enough seats as they then count as a single unit for transport purposes.
The same is true for combat squads - you're not allowed to 'merge squads' for transport reasons once they're deployed, the exception being if both combat squads are deployed in the rhino.
Same for drop pods - you can deploy 2 combat squads from a drop pod (and have them behave independently once they disembark).
If I were playing you though, I'd let you. Seems reasonable enough.
I think the reason is to stop people filling transports to save points.
So 2 x 5 man devastator squads in one rhino bombing into firing position. Dedicated seems to be the key word.
Though with that strategy you are taking the risk of your transport being destoryed so I agree it's a bit silly.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/26 16:29:02
Subject: Stupid question. Multiple 5 man units in a Rhino.
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
The same is true for combat squads - you're not allowed to 'merge squads' for transport reasons once they're deployed, the exception being if both combat squads are deployed in the rhino.
This is incorrect. You may not deploy two combat squads in a Rhino. They are two separate units as soon as they hit the table. Only drop pods may deploy with a single squad that breaks into two combat squads when they disembark because the drop pods rules specifically allow you to do so. The Rhino does not share those rules.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/26 19:21:56
Subject: Stupid question. Multiple 5 man units in a Rhino.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
My bad. Thought the splitting was part of the transport rules.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|