| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/26 03:42:12
Subject: Assaulting From Monoliths
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
The Monolith appears to be a closed top vehicle. Would assaulting from it after teleporting out of it not be legal?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/26 03:53:59
Subject: RE: Assaulting From Monoliths
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ok i have no idea what you are trying to say but the monolith has it's own rules. If a unit hasn't moved the monolith can teleport the unit and the unit can move out of the monolith and then assault. If a unit has moved then the monolith can teleport them and the unit just deployes within 2 inches of the door.
Close top, open top or convertable have nothing to do with the monolith rule.
|
I know the rules. Do you? |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/26 07:27:29
Subject: RE: Assaulting From Monoliths
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ahoj! This issue is a mess. 1 - the 1st printing (not sure if there were more) flatly stated, that for assaulting purposes the Teleported units counts as disembarking from the a stationary vehicle; 2 - the "stationary" was omitted from the copy&paste corrections on the GWUK site; 3 - in the 4th edition Nekron FAQ the ability to assault after teleporting has been connected with a unit's movement before teleportation.
If you play by 1 or 3, the issue of close topped or not is not relevant; if you play by 2, then the teleported unit may not assault if the Monlith had moved.
Borys
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/26 17:11:17
Subject: RE: Assaulting From Monoliths
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Pirate Ship Revenge
|
I agree.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/27 13:29:06
Subject: RE: Assaulting From Monoliths
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Eye of Terror
|
Now this is a tough one! From wot I have read above I would say no assaulting the turn they arrive from the Monolith.
|
Loved by many!!! Don't you know it too! Heh. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/27 14:25:49
Subject: RE: Assaulting From Monoliths
|
 |
Incorporating Wet-Blending
|
The 2nd printing of the Necron codex (yes there IS one I have it!) states on Pg. 21 :
""if there are no eligible reserves, and a Necron unit (specifically blah blah blah) is at least partially within 18" of the Monolith - even if they are in close combat - they may phase out and re-emerge from the portal. Any models in the unit, although able to self-repair, failed their "We'll be Back" roll at the start of their turn and were removed, may re-roll once as they emerge from the portal. If you intend to use the portal in this way during a turn then leave models that faile to self-repair on their sides until the end of the movement phase. A unit phasing out to re-emerge from the portal may not move before phasing out."
However the FAQ states:
"When using the Monolith Portal, the Codex states that a unit disembarking from a Monolith counts as getting out of a stationary vehicle. (uh........ not anymore!) This rule means that the move to emerge from the Monolith constitutes the transported unit's move. After all an extra move beyond teleportation is not stated as part of the deal. If the unit teleported has already moved before being telelported, it may only deployed within 2" of the portal; if it hasn't already moved, it may deploy out and then move normally."
So.... if you have the first printing you can teleport, then move then assault, or move then teleport then assault, whether the Monolith has moved or not, as the Monolith always counted as being stationary.
In the new codex the FAQ seems not to apply anylonger and the disembarking unit is bound by 4th ed rules concerning dis-embarkation, and assaults.
|
Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/27 15:47:51
Subject: RE: Assaulting From Monoliths
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Well, if the FAQ says it counts as a stationary vehicle, it still does. FAQs always override a codex. It's why we need new FAQ's...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/28 18:08:10
Subject: RE: Assaulting From Monoliths
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Well, if the FAQ says it counts as a stationary vehicle, it still does. FAQs always override a codex. It's why we need new FAQ's...
I believe you mean, Its why the editers should be taken out and beaten with a wire hanger, this and so many other discussions would be easier to decide if the brainless editors would have the lazy buggers make examples showing the intent of the rules. . .
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/03/01 06:12:15
Subject: RE: Assaulting From Monoliths
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Well the FAQ says that if a unit didn't move it can assault the turn it goes through the mononlith. Even if the Monolith moved that turn.
|
I know the rules. Do you? |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/03/01 10:35:20
Subject: RE: Assaulting From Monoliths
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
The FAQ doesn't explicitly state assault, but it does say you can move as normal after teleporting through the Monolith. Being the unit had not moved yet and was simply teleported, and can "move as normal" afterwards, I would say this means they can move, then assualt.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|