Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/01 15:10:56
Subject: Challenges
|
 |
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer
|
In the rules, it says when you accept a challenge that you are supposed to take the characters that are fighting in the challenge and "set them aside." What does this mean exactly?
For example, I have a Skaven Warlord on a Rat Ogre Bonebreaker that offsets 4 Clanrats in a 50-rat strong unit. When the Warlord accepts a challenge, are you actually supposed to "remove" him from the unit and set him aside and then the 4 clanrats that were put in the back rank actually move up and take his place?
The reason why I am asking is because it makes it seem as though that you lose out on attacks because my Warlord is taking up "slots" in the unit when rank-and-file models COULD be making attacks instead. This matters most when there are two units that charges a single unit and my Warlord is taking up space where my Clanrats could instead be making attacks.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/01 18:19:29
Subject: Challenges
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Its more so you remember theyre in a challenge; you dont actually remove them if you dont want to.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/01 18:45:02
Subject: Challenges
|
 |
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Its more so you remember theyre in a challenge; you dont actually remove them if you dont want to.
So, let's say that I do want to move them. Do I get to fill in the "empty space" in the ranks with rank-and-file models?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/01 21:12:21
Subject: Challenges
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, as the model isnt dead. In practice - dont move anything
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/01 21:56:33
Subject: Challenges
|
 |
Scribe of Dhunia
|
It doesn't actually say "set them aside" it says put them into base contact with each other. So within the unit itself, you would (if you felt inclined or just wanted to remember) shift the two characters so that they sit in base to base with each other. No slots are lost when this happens, they simply switch places with someone in that rank.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/01 22:15:39
Subject: Challenges
|
 |
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer
|
Scarecrow456 wrote:It doesn't actually say "set them aside" it says put them into base contact with each other. So within the unit itself, you would (if you felt inclined or just wanted to remember) shift the two characters so that they sit in base to base with each other. No slots are lost when this happens, they simply switch places with someone in that rank.
And there lies the problem.
g's are gnoblars.
s's are skaven clan rats.
the l's are the warlord that has joined that rank of rats (riding a rat ogre bonebreaker, so taking up 4 slots).
o's are the ogres that have charged the skaven flank.
t's are the ogre tyrant.
As it stands, they cannot fight each other because they are not in base-to-base. When the challenge happens, do I move my Warlord down to where he is in base-to-base contact with the Tyrant; thus, having my Clan rats "fill up the space" that the Warlord left? Or, do I just leave them there and say "they are fighting" but don't move anything?
Note that the Ogre base sizes aren't an actual reprsentation of how they sync up when fighting Skaven since Ogres have a funky base size.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/01 22:16:10
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/01 22:41:00
Subject: Re:Challenges
|
 |
Skillful Swordsman
|
Mid paragraph under "Fighting a Challenge" on pg 102 of the BRB.
"If... [you can't put them in base contact]..., assume that the two models are in base contact..."
|
"What holds the Empire together, lad, is that our mutual dislike of each other is less than our dislike of everyone else."
- A Priest of Sigmar |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/02 13:06:57
Subject: Re:Challenges
|
 |
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer
|
Verd_Warr wrote:Mid paragraph under "Fighting a Challenge" on pg 102 of the BRB.
"If... [you can't put them in base contact]..., assume that the two models are in base contact..."
I fail to see how that resolves my issue because I CAN put them into base contact. My question is what do I do with the empty part of the unit that the Warlord left behind by moving into base contact with the Ogre Tyrant? It would seem to me that you fill it up with RnF units.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/02 13:12:36
Subject: Challenges
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
The warlord cannot leave the unit when moving in base contact so if he goes over to the tyrant he will likely displace a bunch of clanrats those will then go on to fill his previous spot.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/02 13:26:51
Subject: Re:Challenges
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
well he also is still considered in the front rank, so in this case he would be moving to the flank.
best rule is just consider them in base, and leave people where they are.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/02 15:00:59
Subject: Challenges
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Or just move the tyrant over?
Edit: If they're corner to corner, as I think the picture is trying to show, aren't they already in B2B?
IIRC, the Warlord isn't allowed to leave base contact with the gnoblar unit, since he's already in B2B with it. The Tyrant, on the other hand, is in B2B with only one unit, and isn't breaking any rules by moving over.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/02 15:02:37
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/02 15:03:22
Subject: Challenges
|
 |
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer
|
HoverBoy wrote:The warlord cannot leave the unit when moving in base contact so if he goes over to the tyrant he will likely displace a bunch of clanrats those will then go on to fill his previous spot.
In this case, I now get more attacks on the Gnoblars, right? That is what I am trying to get at...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/02 15:13:51
Subject: Challenges
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Well provided they weren't indeed corner to corner you could get more clanrats on the bignos... er gnoblars.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/02 18:52:18
Subject: Challenges
|
 |
Scribe of Dhunia
|
I think i'm finally starting to see what your getting at. When you slide your warlord over, you would displace the clanrats, and they would slide over to take the warlords place. They are essentially switching places with each other.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/02 19:05:18
Subject: Re:Challenges
|
 |
Mighty Gouge-Horn
|
lixulana wrote:well he also is still considered in the front rank, so in this case he would be moving to the flank.
Wrong
The diagram has the Tyrant in the flank, which means that the Warlord would have to Make Way in order to reach the Tyrant thus displacing him from the front rank
|
D.O.O.M.F.A.R.T's 30th man!
Red_Zeke wrote:Now if your theme, is Hans, the arch-lector, who likes taking out the war altar to go watch his steam tank race around, while shooting off 3 cannons and 3 mortars for a fireworks display, it gets a little iffy.
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/390844.page
CowPows ying to his WoC Yang |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/02 22:09:39
Subject: Re:Challenges
|
 |
Skillful Swordsman
|
Kurce wrote:Verd_Warr wrote:Mid paragraph under "Fighting a Challenge" on pg 102 of the BRB.
"If... [you can't put them in base contact]..., assume that the two models are in base contact..."
I fail to see how that resolves my issue because I CAN put them into base contact. My question is what do I do with the empty part of the unit that the Warlord left behind by moving into base contact with the Ogre Tyrant? It would seem to me that you fill it up with RnF units.
But you don't have to. If, in moving them into BtB the PITA outweighs the fun, it is completely legal to just pretend/imagine/visualize it.
|
"What holds the Empire together, lad, is that our mutual dislike of each other is less than our dislike of everyone else."
- A Priest of Sigmar |
|
 |
 |
|