Switch Theme:

Stupid ork question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




If you fill fill up the troop slots with orks and gretchen, and then buy a warboss and nobs, do the nobs still count as troops or they stay elites?

Hope more old fools come to their senses and start giving you their money instead of those Union Jack Blood suckers...  
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

The warboss allows one nobs to be taken as a troops choice.

it does not say they must be taken as a troops choice, so they stay as elites, since you have no more troops choices available.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Pete Haines



Springfield, MA

carmachu wrote:If you fill fill up the troop slots with orks and gretchen, and then buy a warboss and nobs, do the nobs still count as troops or they stay elites?
Um. You made me look at the book... 4th is the most up to date codex right?

It looks like warboss and mek allows 1 of a certain unit to be optionally taken as w/e choice they say. It is optional because you don't have to take that 1, so all other types of that unit don't change their type. So if you filled up on troops, you can't take a nob unit as troops, only as elites.

A related problem is when do these things count as one unit type or both unit types? In this case that 1 nob unit, if taken, would be considered troops and not elites.

Can I word this better?

"A rule is only as good as the reasoning behind it."

I played Ordo Malleus since before it had a codex. 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





North Jersey

It is entirely optional.

When you deploy, make it clear which is the troops nob mob and which is the elite nob mob. This will come into play when claiming OBJ at the end of the game but you must do it at the beginning otherwise you could be accused of playing a shell game.

The mob will only count as 1 unit type. Once you choose for it to be troops, it will be troops for the whole game. No switching back and forth.

-cgmckenzie


1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: