Switch Theme:

+4 cover save to +3?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





I wanna go back to New Jersey

Two days ago I had 2 battles against my Necron playing friend and came across a situation that felt a bit shakey. I was using my Hammerhead to toss a Submunition large blast onto a gun line squad of Necron Warriors, but the blast scatters and catches a few Scarabs behind the Necrons.

I agreed to allow his scarabs get a +3 cover save because they were sitting behind friendly troops and we could both see that the HH could most certainly not see them as they are a lot shorter compared to the Warriors.

What I'm asking here is, when in a serious environment do they receive just a +4 cover save, or does it get modified for not having TLOS?

bonbaonbardlements 
   
Made in us
Superior Stormvermin





The scarabs get a 3+ cover save due to being a swarm. Not having LOS does not effect cover from a scattering blast weapon. It just means you could not originally pick them as a target.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/03 14:59:56


Steve Perry.... STEEEEEEVE PERRY.... I SHOULD'VE BEEN GOOOONE! 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

The Scarabs, or any other unit, get a base of a 4+ cover in the situation described.

Intervening units provide a 4+ cover save to any units behind them as long as the firing unit fires through the intervening unit. (If the shots go over the unit as opposed to through it they do not receive a cover save.)

LoS does not affect the cover save number.

So scarabs, or any unit with the stealth rule would receive a 3+ in the situation you described.



"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





I wanna go back to New Jersey

Ok good, that clears things up.

Thank you both!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/03 16:31:52


bonbaonbardlements 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: