Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/05 11:10:39
Subject: Transports and Multiple Units
|
 |
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body
|
Forgive me if this is an elementary question, I don't have my BRB to hand.
Can a transport be deployed with/carry more than one unit if there is sufficient capacity?
Eg Dark Eldar Raider is bought as a transport for a 5 man Kabalite Warrior Squad, can then another unit of up to 5 other models ride along?
Gut says no, but can't actually remember reading anything to the contrary.
|
We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark
The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.
The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox
Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/05 11:11:44
Subject: Transports and Multiple Units
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
No.
|
-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."
18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/05 11:15:51
Subject: Transports and Multiple Units
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
The Transport rules specify a single unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/05 12:59:37
Subject: Transports and Multiple Units
|
 |
Rifleman Grey Knight Venerable Dreadnought
Realm of Hobby
|
insaniak wrote:The Transport rules specify a single unit.
However, an IC can join the unit if there is room.
|
 MikZor wrote:
We can't help that american D&D is pretty much daily life for us (Aussies)
Walking to shops, "i'll take a short cut through this bush", random encounter! Lizard with no legs.....
I kid  Since i avoid bushlands that is
But we're not that bad... are we?  |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/05 13:22:15
Subject: Transports and Multiple Units
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
This one annoys a lot of people but I guess the reasoning behind it is that if you had say... two 5 man devastator squads and stuck them together in a rhino and deployed them quickly it hands you a really big advantage in a 6 turn game in terms of speed and of points.
And that's why dedicated is the word to note.
I would allow it in fun games, just gives me a better chance of wrecking two units and a vehicle with one shot!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/05 13:22:34
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/05 15:30:31
Subject: Transports and Multiple Units
|
 |
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body
|
That was my thinking, suspected it was a no, as that feels like the way GW normally rule these things.
As you say, would probably allow it in a fun game, as the advantage is countered by an increased vulnerability, one lucky shot and a few poor armour saves could really put a dent in your (or your opponents) list.
|
We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark
The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.
The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox
Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/05 16:31:02
Subject: Transports and Multiple Units
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
insaniak wrote:The Transport rules specify a single unit.
Technically, a transport is given the ability to hold a "single infantry unit and/or any number of independent characters" (p. 66). This IC is automatically joined to the unit inside.
But, there are some ICs that are forbidden from joining some units. For example, an Eldar Phoenix Lord cannot join squads from other aspects. So, you could end up with the situation where a transport is holding a unit of infantry, and an IC that is NOT joined to that unit.
Or, you could transport Mephiston and an IC in the same Rhino.
So, there is the possibility of a transport holding multiple units, but it's pretty rare.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/05 16:37:18
Subject: Transports and Multiple Units
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
Grakmar wrote:insaniak wrote:The Transport rules specify a single unit.
Technically, a transport is given the ability to hold a "single infantry unit and/or any number of independent characters" (p. 66). This IC is automatically joined to the unit inside.
But, there are some ICs that are forbidden from joining some units. For example, an Eldar Phoenix Lord cannot join squads from other aspects. So, you could end up with the situation where a transport is holding a unit of infantry, and an IC that is NOT joined to that unit.
Or, you could transport Mephiston and an IC in the same Rhino.
So, there is the possibility of a transport holding multiple units, but it's pretty rare. IC must be place +2" from a unit they cannot join (or are not choosing to join). You measure to the hull if you need to measure to a transported unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/05 16:44:21
Subject: Transports and Multiple Units
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Tri wrote:Grakmar wrote:insaniak wrote:The Transport rules specify a single unit.
Technically, a transport is given the ability to hold a "single infantry unit and/or any number of independent characters" (p. 66). This IC is automatically joined to the unit inside.
But, there are some ICs that are forbidden from joining some units. For example, an Eldar Phoenix Lord cannot join squads from other aspects. So, you could end up with the situation where a transport is holding a unit of infantry, and an IC that is NOT joined to that unit.
Or, you could transport Mephiston and an IC in the same Rhino.
So, there is the possibility of a transport holding multiple units, but it's pretty rare. IC must be place +2" from a unit they cannot join (or are not choosing to join). You measure to the hull if you need to measure to a transported unit.
Hmmm... that brings up an interesting issue.
Can an IC embark on a transport at all? He needs to stay more than 2" away from a unit he cannot join. A transport vehicle is a unit, and he can't join it. If he's embarked, he's within 2". Ergo, an IC can't ever get inside a transport.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|