Switch Theme:

New Acts of Faith  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Just pondering something, and thought I'd get some opinions. The new Acts of Faith rules state that Acts of Faith are used at the beginning of the appropriate phase, before a squad acts - they don't mention or imply any exceptions regarding squads of Sisters being embarked. My interpretation, then, would be that Sisters can use shooting-phase Acts of Faith before firing from a vehicle's firepoints - that is to say, for example, a squad of Retributors embarked in a Rhino could activate Divine Guidance before firing two Heavy Flamers, or a squad of Dominions embarked in a Repressor could use Holy Fusillade before rapid-firing six bolters. Anyone particularly disagree with that interpretation?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/09 18:42:22


 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Can't see any reason why not.

Why wouldn't they be able to?

Of course, the usual restriction on only being able to move 6" in the vehicle and still shoot out will still apply.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Mannahnin wrote:Why wouldn't they be able to?


I couldn't see any reason why not either, but was curious if there were rules-lawyering precedents that might say it was illegal - better safe than sorry, after all. Particularly when it comes to using Endless Crusade to make embarked Multi-Melta Celestians Relentless.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/08/08 11:21:19


 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Was testing the new Sisters of Battle rules today using the old points costs. As an experiment, I was running a 4 Multi-melta Retributor Squad.

The new Divine Guidance rule grants the 'Rending' quality to all of the Retributor Squad's weapons. When I successfully triggered the act, and unloaded the Multi-meltas on my opponent's Land Raider at a little less than 24 inches. Two of the Armour Penetration rolls came up as 6s, granting Rending's +1d3, resulting in 2 penetrating hits.

My opponent argued that the Rending attribute made my Multi-meltas AP2 instead of AP1. I argued that the wording of the Rending characteristic states that only Wound rolls of 6 make Rending weapons count as AP2, and you make Armour Penetration rolls against Vehicles, not Wound rolls.

Eventually I let him have his way over the issue, but do folks here agree with his interpretation, that Rending Multi-meltas count as AP2 against vehicles?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/09 18:41:42


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Nope, you were correct Mythal. Rolling to Wound <> Rolling Armour Penetration.

Also, no issue with AoF being used in transports. The rules in the WD tell you explicitly how they function, and make no prohibition to using them while Embarked.
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





You were right on the Rending MM. Softens the blow of having to get them within the 2d6 range.

I look forward to Rending Heavy Flamers personally.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: