| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/09 06:56:09
Subject: Mastercraft Weapons and Preferred Enemy - Multiple Rerolls in Close Combat?
|
 |
Helpful Sophotect
|
I'm playing around with Blood Angels lists and I have another rules question. How many rerolls are you allowed to have on a To-Hit roll? If a group of Sanguinary Guardsmen (each equipped with a Glaive Encarmine, which lets them reroll a single missed attack in each assault) is joined by a Libarian with the Unleash Rage power (grants each member of the Preferred Enemy rule, which lets them reroll missed attacks) does that mean that the entire unit can reroll all missed attacks, and then each guardsman can reroll a single attack that still misses? Or do the rules not stack?
Thanks.
|
The 12th Dat'ya Expeditionary Cadre
My P&M blog - in which I chronicle the transformation of a battered windfall of models into an awesome addition to my Blood Angels force (hopefully) - can be found here: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/431820.page.
======Begin Dakka Code======
DQ:80S+GMB++I+Pw40k11+D++A+/mWD364R+++T(T)DM+
======End Dakka Code====== |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/09 06:58:34
Subject: Mastercraft Weapons and Preferred Enemy - Multiple Rerolls in Close Combat?
|
 |
Mechanized Halqa
Pacific Northwest
|
A die can only ever be re-rolled once.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/09 16:54:53
Subject: Mastercraft Weapons and Preferred Enemy - Multiple Rerolls in Close Combat?
|
 |
Revving Ravenwing Biker
|
However, if the librarian DIDN'T use the Unleash Rage ability, left the squad for some reason, or was killed, the Sanguinary Guard could still use their master-crafted re-roll, so having the upgrade is not totally redundant.
-VardenV2
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/09 17:03:38
Subject: Mastercraft Weapons and Preferred Enemy - Multiple Rerolls in Close Combat?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
With the assumption the guardsmen has 2 attacks on the charge wouldn't you have to roll each guardsmen attack separate if they had a glave so you could determine how many rerolls you'd get?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/09 17:06:18
Subject: Mastercraft Weapons and Preferred Enemy - Multiple Rerolls in Close Combat?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Yes Master Crafted Weapons are rolled individually, as Each one is only allowed 1 reroll.
It's annoying as I play Vukan and TH/SS termies sometimes
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/09 18:25:59
Subject: Re:Mastercraft Weapons and Preferred Enemy - Multiple Rerolls in Close Combat?
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Grand ol US of A
|
No you cannot reroll a reroll...thus it is pointless to take a mastercrafted weapon in a BT army with AAC. Now in the BA example should the Libby dies or moves on you still get one reroll per weapon.
|
d3m01iti0n wrote:
BT uses the Codex Astartes as toilet paper. They’re an Imp Fist successor, recruit from multiple planets, and are known to be the largest Chapter in the galaxy. They’re on a constant Crusade, keeping it real for the Emperor and not bumming around like the other guys. They hate psykers and can’t ally with them. They’re basically an entire chapter of Chaplains. CC lunatics. What every Space Marine should aspire to be, if not trapped in a Matt Ward nightmare.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/09 20:00:40
Subject: Mastercraft Weapons and Preferred Enemy - Multiple Rerolls in Close Combat?
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
Everyone should direct their attention to the INAT FAQ, under Bjorn's section regarding his re-roll. Many tournaments use this FAQ, and this FAQ states that if you re-roll the roll-off with Bjorn and get a tie as a result, and the tie's roll-off is a loss for you, you can use Bjorn's power to re-roll that result as well. That's three re-rolls, so bear in mind there are indeed instances where dice can be re-rolled.
|
"Use the Force, Harry." -Gandalf
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/09 20:06:46
Subject: Mastercraft Weapons and Preferred Enemy - Multiple Rerolls in Close Combat?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Stormcrow wrote:Everyone should direct their attention to the INAT FAQ, under Bjorn's section regarding his re-roll. Many tournaments use this FAQ, and this FAQ states that if you re-roll the roll-off with Bjorn and get a tie as a result, and the tie's roll-off is a loss for you, you can use Bjorn's power to re-roll that result as well. That's three re-rolls, so bear in mind there are indeed instances where dice can be re-rolled.
That is an entirely different issue. And, even then, you don't re-roll a re-roll.
When rolling to determine who goes first, you have a roll off. A roll off can consist of many different rolls. But, each of those rolls is a new roll, it is NOT a "re-roll".
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/09 20:10:25
Subject: Mastercraft Weapons and Preferred Enemy - Multiple Rerolls in Close Combat?
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
It's not a different issue as I was quoted that exact phrase" you cannot re-roll a re-roll" by my opponent before the TO pulled out the INAT. Plus, you are indeed re-rolling a re-roll. You re-rolled the initial result. Then you re-rolled the second result from the tie, which was also a re-roll. It specifically says "re-roll." I'm just trying to inform the poster that he should double check what he reads if he has a reason to believe he is correct. You never know for sure until you've checked multiple FAQs.
|
"Use the Force, Harry." -Gandalf
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/09 20:13:21
Subject: Mastercraft Weapons and Preferred Enemy - Multiple Rerolls in Close Combat?
|
 |
Wicked Canoptek Wraith
|
FYI this goes for squads with Chaplains who charged as well.
|
2500
5000
12,500
4000
5000
2500
3500
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/09 20:18:49
Subject: Mastercraft Weapons and Preferred Enemy - Multiple Rerolls in Close Combat?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Stormcrow wrote:It's not a different issue as I was quoted that exact phrase" you cannot re-roll a re-roll" by my opponent before the TO pulled out the INAT. Plus, you are indeed re-rolling a re-roll. You re-rolled the initial result. Then you re-rolled the second result from the tie, which was also a re-roll. It specifically says "re-roll." I'm just trying to inform the poster that he should double check what he reads if he has a reason to believe he is correct. You never know for sure until you've checked multiple FAQs.
Roll 1: You roll the dice to determine who goes first.. SW player loses this roll.
Roll 2: SW player uses Bjorn to re-roll Roll#1. The result is a tie.
Roll 3: Because the roll to go first is a tie, you roll off. This is NOT a re-roll, this is a new roll. SW player loses this roll.
Roll 4: SW player uses Bjorn to re-roll Roll#3. This is NOT a re-roll of #1 or #2.
You still haven't re-rolled a re-roll. See page 2 of BGB for the difference between a re-roll and a roll off. And, see pages 92 and 93 for the players being instructed to roll off to determine who goes first.
If a TO had you re-roll a re-roll, they were wrong.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|