Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/09 09:11:59
Subject: Boomgun, Waaagh & Burna's
|
 |
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy
UK
|
Hi All,
First off apologies if this is in the wrong section, but it is regarding rules so hopefully its the right place! I have just started having my first few battles and a few issues came up I need clarification on. (We have one rulebook between me and my Brother and he currently has it so I cant check)
------------------------
Boomgun - Looted Wagon
Its an Ordinance gun, so how does it work? We used it as following.
-Nominated a Target
-Measured
-Roll to Scatter
-Resolve attacks
1. Am I suppose to "guess range", then measure and place on guessed range?
2. What happens if the unit isnt in range? (No shot, or does it land at furthest distance and then scatter?)
3. Ordianance... What does this weapon type mean, I know it cant be carried by Infantry according to the rule book, but couldn't find any unique rules regarding it?
------------------------
Waaaagh rule
I'm used to using the older edition Waagh, and this was first time I called it. I moved my troops 6" shot with some of my boyz and then declared Waaagh, ready for assaulting. However after reading it again "Fleet of Foot" sounds like it should be granted in Movement phase? Can someone please explain what exactly I get by declaring Waaagh during shooting phase?
------------------------
Burna's
In the old rules, I think you got the option of rolling 2D6 for attacking a vehicle... (never used them under old codex), I didnt see anything mentioned in the newest edition. Does this mean they only get to roll one D6 and add that to their strength for Vehicles?
Thanks for any helps!
|
We need MOAR Dakka!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/09 10:24:55
Subject: Boomgun, Waaagh & Burna's
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Boomgun
Any references to a "Guess range" should be ignored. This was a rule in the 4th Edition where, IIRC, you did actually have to guess how far you were firing, and was common for weapons like Mortars and Earthshakers. However, this rule has now been removed with the arrival of 5th Edition, and should now be replaced with the Barrage rule.
In regards to the actual firing of the weapon, first you must declare a target and then check the range from the firer to the target. If the target is out of range the shot is wasted, if it is in range, you place the marker and resolve scatter as normal.
Waaagh
Again, Fleet of Foot had different meanings back in 4th Edition, where it was exactly the same as the Run rule, but only available to a select number of units. Due to the changes in the new Codex, the most common resolution to this predicament is to say that the Orks affected gain the newer version of Fleet, allowing them to assault after they have Run. So by declaring the Waagh, you are allowing your Boyz to Run (automatically 6" if using Ghazzy's Waagh), and then assault in the same turn, whereas you would not normally be able to do that.
Burnas
If the new Codex does not state they get any bonuses to penetration, then they don't get any bonuses to penetration.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/09 10:26:02
Subject: Boomgun, Waaagh & Burna's
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
Sorry, we are not allowed to post rules here(see Forum rules).
However:
1. Guess range weapons are now barrage weapons. See barrage rules for detail.
2. The hole of the blast marker has to be in range after you placed it. If you find you placed the marker out of range, the shot will automatically miss. If the blast marker was in range when you placed it, it will still hit if it scatters out of range.
3. Ordinance weapons are shortly described in the infantry rules, their exact rules are found on pages 58 and 60, in the vehicles section. Note that the ork big mek is an infantry model that can carry an ordinance weapon.
Waaagh! rule
Fleet of foot is a USR explained in the rulebook. It allows you to assault after running. "Run!" is a move during your shooting phase, you can find the corresponding rules on page 16.
Burnaz
They no longer get additional penetration against vehicles. However, they count as having power weapons if they did not shoot their flamethrower that turn.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/09 12:10:01
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/09 11:29:54
Subject: Re:Boomgun, Waaagh & Burna's
|
 |
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy
UK
|
Thankyou both for your clarifications. I was under the assumption you run units in the movement phase! That must be where im going wrong! The waagh rule make more sense now. Cheers for clearing that one up.
Thanks for also clearing up the Burnas rule, will have to read up on Power weapons when I get the rulebook off my brother regarding any changes from the old rules.
I'm glad I don't have to do the guess range thing! Will also read up on barrage, the only thing I dod find odd, is that in RL if a unit you shot at was out of range the shell would still land (at the furthest distance most likely) so wasnt sure if that would apply. Thanks for all the help guys.
I wasn't asking for the specific rules, just a general clarification, but thanks for pointing that out.
|
We need MOAR Dakka!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/09 12:12:21
Subject: Boomgun, Waaagh & Burna's
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
Scattering represents unforeseen winds, shells bouncing of armor/terrain or enemy countermeasures. That way the shell can hit something that normally would have been out of range.
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
|
|