Switch Theme:

Psychotroke & Rad Grenades  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





If a Grand Master & a unit of Purifiers are on a second round of combat with Hive Guard, and a fresh unit (Swarm Lord) charges, is he effected by the Psychotroke & Rad Grenades?

The grenades read, if a unit assaults, or is assaulted, they are effected. Is my Grand Master too tied up with the current assault to ues these grenades on the new units?

Thanks

BTW, Swarm Lord beat the tar outta my Grand Mastery...sigh.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/10 15:01:57


"That's not a CLUB boy, it's a Baton!"
'What do you do with it?'
"We CLUB people with it." 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





If the Grand Master is contacted by the Swarm Lord, he would seem to qualify for the "is assaulted" part.

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I agree, but are these grenades considered Assault and/or Defensive grenades? It's not worded this way, and I hate to be a 'Word Bearers Lawyer.'

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/10 15:27:14


"That's not a CLUB boy, it's a Baton!"
'What do you do with it?'
"We CLUB people with it." 
   
Made in us
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman




Minnesota, the southeastern part that time forgot

The wording seems to support Steel's point. Plus, they aren't considered to be "universal" grenades (Assault or Defensive) so there's nothing that says they would have to follow the restrictions associated with those grenades.

I will split your thoughts open! 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





I agree. They are neither.

They are "special" grenades with their own parameters and effects, not comparable to Defensive and Assault Grenades.

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Cool, next time I'll get that durty git (Swarm Lord).

"That's not a CLUB boy, it's a Baton!"
'What do you do with it?'
"We CLUB people with it." 
   
Made in us
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation





I believe due to the new FAQ that even if the Grand Master doesn't end up in base contact with the Swarm Lord the grenades still affect him. Per the FAQ as long as someone in the unit is holding these grenades the whole unit benefits from them.

Q: Does the entire unit need to be equipped with rad,
psyk-out and/or psychotroke grenades for their effects
to work or is just one model being equiped with them
enough? (p60)
A: One model in a unit is enough.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

The grenades come into effect anytime a unit with one or more grenade armed models assaults or is assaulted

Note that the grenade effects only apply to the unit that charged in this case. The unit already fighting is unaffected this round

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Food for a Giant Fenrisian Wolf



Rockland County, New York

I see no reason as to why the grenades wouldn't go off as there are no restrictions besides the unit being assualted.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/08/10 18:24:45


 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Rad and psychotroke arent defensive grenades. They are their own type.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Great, thanks everyone...now if I can just remember all of these rulz during the Ard Boyz...

"That's not a CLUB boy, it's a Baton!"
'What do you do with it?'
"We CLUB people with it." 
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Ultramarine Devastator




Bay Point CA

Grenades should trigger every time a new unit is assaulting you or when you are assaulting a new unit.

1850 Points NovaMarines
200 Point Kill Team
200 Point Possessed Kill Team 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: