Switch Theme:

Question about rolling to wound  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Death-Dealing Ultramarine Devastator





Nebraska

I was playing a game and the group of people were split on a rule. I am probably wrong but hopefully someone hear can finally answer this question.
I'll use and example, if I hit and ork boy with a rocket and I got the hit would I still role to wound. The hit is double his strength so wouldn't that be an instant kill or do I still have to roll to wound. Does the same rule apply with template hits as well. It's an automatic hit but would the orks or w/e until still get a wound roll.

S.O.U. (Straight Outta Ultramar)
4000 points + fully painted!


Eldar of Ulthwe
1,500 points

Rid-Ex Nids
1,600 points-in progress

 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




You still roll to wound. In both cases.

Double toughness only helps you once you've actually wounded and is obviously only helpful against multi-wound models.

   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Remember, too, that all rolls of 1 fail to wound. Hence there is always a 16.66% chance that a wound will fail to occur. Thus you must always roll to wound in all cases I know of, unless it is incredibly one-sided (i.e. a unit of 5 orks get targeted by 89 genestealer attacks, of which 49 hit. They wound on a 4+. Do you need to roll in this situation? you could, if you felt really lucky, but most players would save you some time and remove the unit)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/14 19:19:55


Fiat Lux 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




ID specifically states UNSAVED wound. Meaning you have to cause a wound and they have to fail any applicable save.
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Ultramarine Devastator





Nebraska

cool now I can put the wound argument to a halt, thank you all.

S.O.U. (Straight Outta Ultramar)
4000 points + fully painted!


Eldar of Ulthwe
1,500 points

Rid-Ex Nids
1,600 points-in progress

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: