Switch Theme:

red paint question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver





Boston

So this is more of a thought than something really effective. now follow my logic here

after rotating a vehicle, heavy weapons(inside) can shoot. because it does not count as moving

if you paint something red, it can move 7 and count as moving 6 for troops inside.

so if you paint a vehicle red, move it 1, it should count as moving 0. but it has still moved.

so does not moving count the same as moving 0?

some real nasty rule shenangians I know.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

That is what is called Vehicle Creep.

Not sure if they can shoot after you move though, since the 1" is something along the lines of when moving they move an extra inch.


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




RPJ lets you add one inch to your movement. No move, no inch.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Agreed. No move, no inch.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






You are not allowed to move 1" or less with a vehicle that has red paint. Red paint states that you add 1" to your move, this is not optional. Also, Vehicles can't move 0", only infantry can do this due to difficult terrain and Run! (rolling for distance but not moving). If your model didn't move, it didn't move and you don't add 1". No loophole here.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Hawwa'





Australia

DakkaDakka wrote:

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/03/15 01:56:05


DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this.  
   
Made in us
Hellacious Havoc



NC

Jidmah wrote:You are not allowed to move 1" or less with a vehicle that has red paint. Red paint states that you add 1" to your move, this is not optional. Also, Vehicles can't move 0", only infantry can do this due to difficult terrain and Run! (rolling for distance but not moving). If your model didn't move, it didn't move and you don't add 1". No loophole here.


the extra 1" is totally optional actually. However as stated there really is no loophole in this one. BRB (pg58) clearly states vehicles "that remained stationary" may fire all weapons. Moving 1" =/= remaining stationary. RJP does not allow you some fancy way to break this rule.

 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






ork_smash wrote:
Jidmah wrote:You are not allowed to move 1" or less with a vehicle that has red paint. Red paint states that you add 1" to your move, this is not optional. Also, Vehicles can't move 0", only infantry can do this due to difficult terrain and Run! (rolling for distance but not moving). If your model didn't move, it didn't move and you don't add 1". No loophole here.


the extra 1" is totally optional actually. However as stated there really is no loophole in this one. BRB (pg58) clearly states vehicles "that remained stationary" may fire all weapons. Moving 1" =/= remaining stationary. RJP does not allow you some fancy way to break this rule.


I'd suggest that you re-read the codex, the +1" is not optional at all. One can either take RPJ and add 1" or not take RPJ. It's on page 93.

"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in us
Flashy Flashgitz






The rules for RPJ say it adds 1" to their move. If the vehicle doesn't move, it's not making a move right? Seems to me that the move is optional, but the +1" if you move is not.

Also, the rules for RPJ say it does not incur penalties for the extra inch(vehicle could move 13" and count as moving 12"). But you couldn't move the extra inch unless you move so it wouldn't work like that for the heavy weapon thing.

I'll show ye..... - Phillip J. Fry

Those are brave men knocking on our door! Let's go kill them! - Tyrion Lannister 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





North Jersey

It's optional in that you don't have to move 13 inches, you can move 1-13. Buying RPJ merely gives you the ability to do so.

-cgmckenzie


1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== 
   
Made in us
Flashy Flashgitz






I don't really see how "add +1" to move in the movement phase" means you MUST move 1 inch in the movement phase. It doesn't say that anywhere in the rules for RPJ. If the vehicle remains stationary, you don't move and there's nothing to add 1" to. Was this FAQ'd or something?

I'll show ye..... - Phillip J. Fry

Those are brave men knocking on our door! Let's go kill them! - Tyrion Lannister 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

beigeknight wrote:I don't really see how "add +1" to move in the movement phase" means you MUST move 1 inch in the movement phase. It doesn't say that anywhere in the rules for RPJ. If the vehicle remains stationary, you don't move and there's nothing to add 1" to. Was this FAQ'd or something?


They're saying that RPJ always adds 1" to the vehicles movement. But, you are free to not move if you so choose.

So, you can do the following:
Not move
Move any distance from 1" to 13" (or more if fast, on a road, etc)

But, you can't move a distance less than 1".


Edit:
And, of course, as long as you're not Tank Shocking, you can use that 1" to move 0.75" forward, 0.25" back and end up 0.5" away from the start. So, really, there's no restriction unless you want to tank shock less than an inch.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/18 17:57:23


6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Flashy Flashgitz






Ahh I see what you're saying.

I'll show ye..... - Phillip J. Fry

Those are brave men knocking on our door! Let's go kill them! - Tyrion Lannister 
   
Made in gb
Courageous Space Marine Captain






Glasgow, Scotland

What moving 0.5 forward and then 0.5 back?

I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!

Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Deadshot wrote:What moving 0.5 forward and then 0.5 back?


you would have to move at least 0.0000001 inches to move the additional inch.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: