Switch Theme:

Assaulting multiple units.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




I was told rather matter of factly, that you must declare a muliti-assault. Where is this in the rule book?

My understanding was that you have to declare the primary unit you are assaulting. Then when moving the assaualting unit, you may attempt to multi-assault.

Can someone please verify?
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

you are correct, they are wrong. However if you're attempting a Multi Assault and one of the units is in Diff Terrain you must roll for it, and apply the max number towards both

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The person is "mistaken" - you NEVER declare a multiassault, you can only declare assaults.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Best way to handle someone who says that you must declare a muliti-assault is to ask them to show you where in the rules that it says this.

They will not be able to find such a rule.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in nz
Kabalite Conscript





That is partially right.

You declare an assault, then move the first model, then you can choose to multi-assault with the rest of the squad if you choose to, you still have to declare this, although its only so your opponent knows that you've done it, he cant say no cos you didn't declare it

*DR is right, there is no rule, its more of a formality

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/16 15:10:13


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Hukoseft wrote:That is partially right.

You declare an assault, then move the first model, then you can choose to multi-assault with the rest of the squad if you choose to, you still have to declare this, although its only so your opponent knows that you've done it, he cant say no cos you didn't declare it

*DR is right, there is no rule, its more of a formality


You don't have to declare that you're assaulting the 2nd unit. You just move your models into base-to-base with an enemy model from a different unit and then you're in a multi-assault! No declaration is required (unless your playgroup has you openly declare each and every time you move a model).

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in gb
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver





Birmingham, UK

To muddy the waters a bit, I think that following the rules for moving models into assault closely. You have to multi assault in some situations as you are required to move models into base to base contact with as many enemy models as possible. - it doesn't specify that they must all be in the squad you declared assault against - just that you contact as many as possible.

So in a situation where all enemy models in the target squad in charge range are already in base to base - you would have to charge another squad if their models were in range

HAve I got this wrong?

   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Kapitan Montag wrote:So in a situation where all enemy models in the target squad in charge range are already in base to base - you would have to charge another squad if their models were in range

That is one (IMO technically correct) interpretation of the RAW... although from my experience most players tend to assume that multi-assaults are optional.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: