Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/17 04:12:57
Subject: Gaunts assualting Drop pod...Legal?
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
Hi all!
This is just something that came up when I was at the 'Ard boyz tournament. I didn't really talk about it at that moment since it did not affect my game much, but now that I think about it, I think there was something wrong. So I was playing against a tyranid player, he had a pretty interesting list, and it involved a huge group of hormagaunts. My question is that can they assualt a drop pod even though they cannot hurt it? Does the rule book say anything about it?
Also, can you have furious charge, re-roll to wound and rending all at once for a ravaner? I don't have a nid codex, and my LGS closed down, so I can't really check right now. The tyranid player had maybe 10 raveners that just chewed through my front line in 2 turns...
Thanks for your time!
|
1500pt O'Vesa Star W: 27 D: 2 L: 1
The challenge: in a 1500pt game I will play 900pt + D6x100 pts, if I roll a 6 I reroll and -100 to that second number (down to 1000pt minimum)
W:6 D:0 L:1 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/17 04:19:52
Subject: Gaunts assualting Drop pod...Legal?
|
 |
The Hammer of Witches
A new day, a new time zone.
|
No, there is no rule that prevents you from shooting or assaulting something that your weapons can't actually hurt.
As for the ravenor, no, it can't do that. If they have rending, that means they gave up one set of scything talons, and so can only reroll ones to hit. They don't inherently possess furious charge, and I don't think they can take adrenal glands. Also, max unit size is 9.
|
"-Nonsense, the Inquisitor and his retinue are our hounoured guests, of course we should invite them to celebrate Four-armed Emperor-day with us..." Thought for the Day - Never use the powerfist hand to wipe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/17 06:35:53
Subject: Gaunts assualting Drop pod...Legal?
|
 |
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord
|
A recentish WD battle report (IG vs DE ) had a unit of DE hellions assaulting a tank they couldn't hurt to gain a free move in that direction.
No rule against it.
|
The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/17 07:06:15
Subject: Gaunts assualting Drop pod...Legal?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Wings of Purity wrote:Also, can you have furious charge, re-roll to wound and rending all at once for a ravaner?
Rending claws for giving up some rerolls on misses, check. Furious Charge can be gained from another unit, check. Rerolls to wound, now those I'm unable to find in my Tyranid codex.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/17 07:10:21
Subject: Gaunts assualting Drop pod...Legal?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Wings of Purity wrote:Also, can you have furious charge, re-roll to wound and rending all at once for a ravaner? I don't have a nid codex, and my LGS closed down, so I can't really check right now. The tyranid player had maybe 10 raveners that just chewed through my front line in 2 turns...
Furious Charge - Adrenal Glands.
Reroll to Wound - Toxin Sacs (always wounds on a 4+, if you equal their toughness with your strength, you can reroll to wound as per poison rules).
Rending - Rending Claws.
Perfectly fine (pretty sure they can take adrenal glands and toxin sacs, it's been a while since I read their entry). The only part that could be considered cheating is if he was rerolling successful, non-rending hits to get rending out of it, but I'm not sure how the poison rule is worded.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/17 07:11:50
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/17 07:14:34
Subject: Gaunts assualting Drop pod...Legal?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
-Loki- wrote:Perfectly fine (pretty sure they can take adrenal glands and toxin sacs, it's been a while since I read their entry).
In the previous codex perhaps, not in the new one. Now they're only allowed the Rending claws and a choice of three different guns.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/17 07:22:52
Subject: Gaunts assualting Drop pod...Legal?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Wow. After reading this I was thinking of running some... that's quite the limitation they put on Ravenors.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/17 07:33:33
Subject: Gaunts assualting Drop pod...Legal?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
-Loki- wrote:Wow. After reading this I was thinking of running some... that's quite the limitation they put on Ravenors.
Considering they have a 19-24 inch assault range, I think its fair.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/17 12:17:34
Subject: Re:Gaunts assualting Drop pod...Legal?
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
Raveners cannot take toxin sacs or adrenal glands.
They do get 12" charge range and have dual scything talons as standard (so reroll all misses) or can take rending claws (reroll 1s to hit, but rending on the to wound roll).
If they are in the hive tyrants preferred enemy bubble though, then go for rending and you can still reroll your misses. No way for them to reroll to wound though.
|
"We didn't underestimate them but they were a lot better than we thought."
Sir Bobby Robson |
|
 |
 |
|