Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/17 14:31:16
Subject: Multiple Assault Question
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Hey guys.
Sometimes when we run into a complicated assault with multiple units on each side, I start second-guessing myself as to how it's supposed to work. I think we played this correctly, but let me make sure.
We had a large combat involving a squad of Killa Kans, a Deff Dread, and some Boyz on my side, and some Gargoyles, a Hive Tyrant w/ Tyrant Guard, and some Genestealers on my opponent's side.
Three questions came out of the assault:
In the 2nd round of combat, the Genestealers assaulted the Boyz, who were locked in with the Hive Tyrant. The Boyz were cut down to 4 remaining members, and failed their morale save. The Genestealers were ONLY in B2B contact with the Boyz, not the Killa Kans or the Dread. When the Boyz fail their morale save, this means that the Genestealers are free to make a sweeping advance and destroy the Boyz, correct? Now, after the Boyz are destroyed, the Genestealers are NOT in B2B with any unit that took part in the Assault, however, the Genestealers must STILL make a pile-in move to the Killa Kans and Deff Dread who are still in the Assault, correct? They do NOT consolidate?
As mentioned above, the combat involved a Hive Tyrant with a Tyrant Guard. Forgive me because I don't often run into players using Retinues. I understand that because the Hive Tyrant is in a Retinue I cannot allocate attacks to the Hive Tyrant specifically. However, what if the Hive Tyrant is NOT in B2B with any opponent in the Assault, only the Tyrant Guard? Is the Hive Tyrant Still allowed to Attack?
This assault BEGAN as an assault between a large group of Gargoyles and the Kans / Dread. My opponent assaulted with the Tyrant Guard by putting the Tyrant Guard in B2B with my Deff Dread, and BETWEEN two Gargoyles who were in B2B with him. I thought this was a bit odd, since at this point the Tyrant Guard and Hive Tyrant had essentially divided the Gargoyle unit in half. Technically the two halves were in unit coherency, barely, so I assume this didn't matter.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/17 14:43:50
Subject: Multiple Assault Question
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Grand ol US of A
|
I may be wrong on this, but if this is one giant combat the genestealers can't persue the boyz as they are still in CC with the Kans and Dread.
Since the Tyrant Guard are a retinue for the Hive Tyrant...taking your word here...then yes he can attack as he is not an IC until that retinue is destroyed. If it is a squad that he is joined to and not a retinue no he cannot.
As long as everyone is in unit coherency then they are fine.
|
d3m01iti0n wrote:
BT uses the Codex Astartes as toilet paper. They’re an Imp Fist successor, recruit from multiple planets, and are known to be the largest Chapter in the galaxy. They’re on a constant Crusade, keeping it real for the Emperor and not bumming around like the other guys. They hate psykers and can’t ally with them. They’re basically an entire chapter of Chaplains. CC lunatics. What every Space Marine should aspire to be, if not trapped in a Matt Ward nightmare.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/17 15:04:32
Subject: Re:Multiple Assault Question
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
|
The genestealers aren't in base contact any more so they can sweep and than move away from combat, they don't have any one that they can pile into. so they are no longer apart of the combat.
The hive tyrant and the guard are a squad, so the hive tyrant doesn't have to be in base contact to be able to attack. At the same time he can still be hit with wound allocation. The hive tyrant isn't an IC. He is acting more or less like a squad upgrade or Sergent.
Models in the same unit have to be with in 2 inches, if they are not they must move so that they are with in 2 inches, this rule doesn't apply to close combats since you can't move your models, so at the start of the close combat that they are out of 2 inches they are fine and attack normal, at the pile in move; any none engaged models have to move and try and keep 2 inches while at the same time getting into base contact. Some times you can't do this, so next turn you try again.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/17 15:11:25
Subject: Re:Multiple Assault Question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
PapaPiggy wrote:The genestealers aren't in base contact any more so they can sweep and than move away from combat, they don't have any one that they can pile into. so they are no longer apart of the combat.
The above is not correct, it was one big combat and the Genestealers could not pursue the boys and would have to make a pile in move towards the kans or the deff dread.
PapaPiggy wrote:The hive tyrant and the guard are a squad, so the hive tyrant doesn't have to be in base contact to be able to attack. At the same time he can still be hit with wound allocation. The hive tyrant isn't an IC. He is acting more or less like a squad upgrade or Sergent.
This part is correct.
PapaPiggy wrote:Models in the same unit have to be with in 2 inches, if they are not they must move so that they are with in 2 inches, this rule doesn't apply to close combats since you can't move your models, so at the start of the close combat that they are out of 2 inches they are fine and attack normal, at the pile in move; any none engaged models have to move and try and keep 2 inches while at the same time getting into base contact. Some times you can't do this, so next turn you try again.
This is correct as well. Coherency can be broken by casualties. But that is okay, you just try to restore coherence as soon as you can.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/17 16:03:15
Subject: Re:Multiple Assault Question
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
So the Genestealers should NOT have been able to perform a sweeping advance on my Boyz? They're locked in combat with the Killa Kans / Deff Dread (even though they aren't in B2B with them) and thus can't make a sweeping advance, my Boyz flee from combat, and the Genestealers pile in?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/17 16:16:36
Subject: Re:Multiple Assault Question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Murrdox wrote:So the Genestealers should NOT have been able to perform a sweeping advance on my Boyz? They're locked in combat with the Killa Kans / Deff Dread (even though they aren't in B2B with them) and thus can't make a sweeping advance, my Boyz flee from combat, and the Genestealers pile in?
Yes Murrdox, that is correct. (not that it matters for the boyz, becaue 4 boys can not rally as they are below 50% unit strength) Since the boys were in combat with the Genestealers, and they were also in combat with the Hive Tyrant, and the Hive Tyrant was in combat with the Deff dread, the Genestealers are a part of the combat as a whole. If they make the boys run and are no longer in B2B, they need to Pile into the Deff dread or the Kans.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/08/17 16:22:04
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/17 16:19:47
Subject: Multiple Assault Question
|
 |
Hellacious Havoc
|
Deathreaper is correct.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/17 16:20:25
Subject: Re:Multiple Assault Question
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Grand ol US of A
|
DeathReaper wrote:
(not that it matters, becaue 4 boys can not rally as they are below 50% unit strength)
Actually in apocalypse the green tide formation can wrap them up in itself and they will turn around and behave like part of that unit.
Just sayin
|
d3m01iti0n wrote:
BT uses the Codex Astartes as toilet paper. They’re an Imp Fist successor, recruit from multiple planets, and are known to be the largest Chapter in the galaxy. They’re on a constant Crusade, keeping it real for the Emperor and not bumming around like the other guys. They hate psykers and can’t ally with them. They’re basically an entire chapter of Chaplains. CC lunatics. What every Space Marine should aspire to be, if not trapped in a Matt Ward nightmare.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/17 16:23:32
Subject: Re:Multiple Assault Question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Akroma06 wrote:
Actually in apocalypse the green tide formation can wrap them up in itself and they will turn around and behave like part of that unit.
Just sayin
Not to mention that we weren't talking about Apoc, but yes that is correct for Apoc Games.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/17 16:25:50
Subject: Re:Multiple Assault Question
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Grand ol US of A
|
DeathReaper wrote:Akroma06 wrote:
Actually in apocalypse the green tide formation can wrap them up in itself and they will turn around and behave like part of that unit.
Just sayin
Not to mention that we weren't talking about Apoc, but yes that is correct for Apoc Games.
Yes I know...hence the "Just sayin" part of my post, but normally yes they would keep running.
Shoota boys may actually still be able to be affective, and if they get charged and pass morale AND by some miracle win that CC they behave normally.
|
d3m01iti0n wrote:
BT uses the Codex Astartes as toilet paper. They’re an Imp Fist successor, recruit from multiple planets, and are known to be the largest Chapter in the galaxy. They’re on a constant Crusade, keeping it real for the Emperor and not bumming around like the other guys. They hate psykers and can’t ally with them. They’re basically an entire chapter of Chaplains. CC lunatics. What every Space Marine should aspire to be, if not trapped in a Matt Ward nightmare.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/17 16:39:31
Subject: Multiple Assault Question
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
In apoc, any units near a stompa would also rally
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/17 16:39:42
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
|