Switch Theme:

flamers from a fire point?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!




I know we have covered this somewhere before but i forget what we was said and i cannot find the faq with it in and also the search is giving me zero results fo some reason so...


flamers from a chimeras top hatch does it touch the hatch or the hull closest to the hatch

reason i ask is i went to fire one at a friend today and he was like (u can't hit your own gak with templates) and i thought yes you are right then i was like well if i put it on the closest part of the hull then it is gaining mega range ( was kinda iring forward and slightl right)

so in the end we decided i should just pivot(was the first thing i fired ) and just fire from the side so as not to swallow my tank in fire

Chibi Bodge-Battle wrote:
Bedtime Horlicks malty drink: ON
Comfy Slippers: ON
and relax...
Only Slightly Crazy wrote: GO CROGGY GO!
Underhand wrote:
The answer is never the Devildog.




 
   
Made in us
Long-Range Black Templar Land Speeder Pilot





Wallingford Pa

The flame template is messured from the barrel of the gun itself, not the front of the model. Unless specific rules stat otherwise.

Check out my miniatures painting page on Facebook at @Wellpaintedstudios
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFNIZu17XpP3wOHn1Wuhwqg/featured?view_as=subscriber 
   
Made in gb
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!




yes but from a fire point?

Chibi Bodge-Battle wrote:
Bedtime Horlicks malty drink: ON
Comfy Slippers: ON
and relax...
Only Slightly Crazy wrote: GO CROGGY GO!
Underhand wrote:
The answer is never the Devildog.




 
   
Made in us
Long-Range Black Templar Land Speeder Pilot





Wallingford Pa

Eternalhero1983 wrote:The flame template is measured from the barrel of the gun itself, not the front of the model. Unless specific rules stat otherwise.


I forgot, if it is the flamers from the squad inside the then yes you will measure from the haul

Check out my miniatures painting page on Facebook at @Wellpaintedstudios
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFNIZu17XpP3wOHn1Wuhwqg/featured?view_as=subscriber 
   
Made in gb
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!




so if i am firing them forward i measure closest part of the hull gaining me 2"?

Chibi Bodge-Battle wrote:
Bedtime Horlicks malty drink: ON
Comfy Slippers: ON
and relax...
Only Slightly Crazy wrote: GO CROGGY GO!
Underhand wrote:
The answer is never the Devildog.




 
   
Made in us
Long-Range Black Templar Land Speeder Pilot





Wallingford Pa

croggy wrote:so if i am firing them forward i measure closest part of the hull gaining me 2"?


Correct

Check out my miniatures painting page on Facebook at @Wellpaintedstudios
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFNIZu17XpP3wOHn1Wuhwqg/featured?view_as=subscriber 
   
Made in gb
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!




that seems unfair

Chibi Bodge-Battle wrote:
Bedtime Horlicks malty drink: ON
Comfy Slippers: ON
and relax...
Only Slightly Crazy wrote: GO CROGGY GO!
Underhand wrote:
The answer is never the Devildog.




 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

croggy wrote:that seems unfair


That is because it is illegal.

You actually measure from the Fire point itself, not the hull, for passengers firing out of fire points. (P.66)

Also the Main Rules FaQ says:


Q: If a model fires a template weapon out of a vehicle,
will the vehicle be hit if it is underneath the template?
(p66)
A: No it will not be hit

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/27 20:37:09


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

croggy wrote:that seems unfair
It's also wrong.

The template is placed touching the firepoint, as range and LOS is determined from the firepoint, and nothing tells us to do that any differently for template weapons.

It's only open-topped vehicles that fire from any point on the hull.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/08/27 20:40:41


 
   
Made in gb
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!




thanks guys knew you'd come through for me

Chibi Bodge-Battle wrote:
Bedtime Horlicks malty drink: ON
Comfy Slippers: ON
and relax...
Only Slightly Crazy wrote: GO CROGGY GO!
Underhand wrote:
The answer is never the Devildog.




 
   
Made in us
Long-Range Black Templar Land Speeder Pilot





Wallingford Pa

I know that is sounds unfair. The Rules what that the fire point is ether a hatch/gun slit where a passenger can fire from; however, since models by rules only state the amount of firing points, yet only show only hatches on the physical model not the gun slits the flame template is use to the hull of the model. This is the rule that was explained to me by both Gw Staff and Judges in tourniments.

Check out my miniatures painting page on Facebook at @Wellpaintedstudios
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFNIZu17XpP3wOHn1Wuhwqg/featured?view_as=subscriber 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Eternalhero1983 wrote:I know that is sounds unfair. The Rules what that the fire point is ether a hatch/gun slit where a passenger can fire from; however, since models by rules only state the amount of firing points, yet only show only hatches on the physical model not the gun slits the flame template is use to the hull of the model. This is the rule that was explained to me by both Gw Staff and Judges in tourniments.


Good thing it's measured from the firing point on a rhino IIRC it's the hatch

   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Eternalhero1983 wrote:I know that is sounds unfair. The Rules what that the fire point is ether a hatch/gun slit where a passenger can fire from; however, since models by rules only state the amount of firing points, yet only show only hatches on the physical model not the gun slits the flame template is use to the hull of the model. This is the rule that was explained to me by both Gw Staff and Judges in tourniments.

Then whoever explained that to you was wrong. If the hatch is the fire point, then firing is from that hatch. There is no rule that tells you to measure from the hull if the fire point is a hatch.

 
   
Made in us
Long-Range Black Templar Land Speeder Pilot





Wallingford Pa

insaniak wrote:Then whoever explained that to you was wrong. If the hatch is the fire point, then firing is from that hatch. There is no rule that tells you to measure from the hull if the fire point is a hatch.


The Question was asked about a Chimera not a rhino. The Rhino's firing point are on the top hatches. the Chimera firing point is on the front hatch.

Check out my miniatures painting page on Facebook at @Wellpaintedstudios
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFNIZu17XpP3wOHn1Wuhwqg/featured?view_as=subscriber 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

No, the Chimera's fire point is the "Top Hatch" if I recall correctly.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Eternalhero1983 wrote:The Question was asked about a Chimera not a rhino. The Rhino's firing point are on the top hatches. the Chimera firing point is on the front hatch.

The Chimera's fire point is the top hatch, same as the rhino.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: