Switch Theme:

Gate of Infinity Q (not about CC)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

If I have two Libbies in a squad... can one jump the squad 24" and then the second jump the squad another 24"?

Not trying to be TFG... but if not, can you give page #s for the reasoning?

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




RAW I see no reason you can't.
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal




Rhizome 9

It says the power happens at the beginning of the librarians movement phase, so 1 could definitely be used. But it's still the beginning of the phase, because one of the powers has to be used first, and from there you could use the other power.

So yeah sure, you could do it.

I''m now thinking about the hilarity of a squad teleporting across the board with 6 librarians in a apocalypse game.




 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Actually everything that occurs "at the beginning" of a phase would occur simultaneously. If they occurred sequentially as the OP asks then the second casting would not have occurred "at the beginning" of the Movement phase. Therefore it is not possible to do what the OP asks and use two Librarians to move the unit twice as far.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

Ghaz wrote:Actually everything that occurs "at the beginning" of a phase would occur simultaneously. If they occurred sequentially as the OP asks then the second casting would not have occurred "at the beginning" of the Movement phase. Therefore it is not possible to do what the OP asks and use two Librarians to move the unit twice as far.


But by that logic, once one Libby gated 1 squad a second Libby couldn't gate a second squad... right?

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





Lobukia wrote:But by that logic, once one Libby gated 1 squad a second Libby couldn't gate a second squad... right?

It says at the start of the Librarian's movement, not the player's. Each librarian has a start of its movement

I think the question becomes, can you gate a unit that has already moved?

edit:
The power states it moves "using the deepstrike rules"

The deepstrike rules state:
"In the Movement phase when they arrive, these units
may not move any further, other than to disembark
from a deep striking transport vehicle."

My guess, looking at RAW, is no since the unit may 'move no further' after it gets deep struck by the librarian using gate. That answer also falls in line with the other teleportation powers that I'm aware of (can't chain monolith portals for example, or veil and then monolith portal).

As always, I'm willing to eat my words as long as someone can provide some evidence to the contrary... and a drink

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/09/01 04:02:53


W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

WanderingFox wrote:I think the question becomes, can you gate a unit that has already moved?


Or, by extension, can a Libby that has been placed via Deep Strike, use a movement phase power?

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

It says at the start of the Librarian's movement, not the player's. Each librarian has a start of its movement.

And by being in the same squad their movement is simultaneous which again prevents you from using two castinha to get double the distance.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





I was answering Lobukia, Ghaz, but yes that would also prevent them from moving twice. However, I think the deep striking rules are probably the more elegant reasoning.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/01 04:28:06


W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

Ghaz wrote:
It says at the start of the Librarian's movement, not the player's. Each librarian has a start of its movement.

And by being in the same squad their movement is simultaneous which again prevents you from using two castinha to get double the distance.


Just thinking out loud, the FAQ does say that if you use the same psychic ability twice on the same squad, the effect stacks. Could I not see this as GotI being used twice and then playing out the effects twice, instead of doing one GotI and then doing the second?

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





See my edit to my post 2 or 3 up.

Once they use the power the squad is using the deep strike rules. Deep strike states it may not move after being deep struck except to disembark from a deep striking transport. In short, once the power is used the unit may no longer move that turn.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/01 04:46:11


W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

I was answering Lobukia, Ghaz, but yes that would also prevent them from moving twice. However, I think the deep striking rules are probably the more elegant reasoning.

And I was simply restating my position in light of the actual wording of the rule. As for the deep striking rules being the more 'elegant' reasoning I don't agree.

Just thinking out loud, the FAQ does say that if you use the same psychic ability twice on the same squad, the effect stacks. Could I not see this as GotI being used twice and then playing out the effects twice, instead of doing one GotI and then doing the second?

Stacking is not the same as playing them sequentially. They both go off simultaneously with both moving the unit from the same starting point.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Remember that GoI does not replace normal movement.

Also remember there is no such thing as "The Librarians movement phase"

So things that happen at the start of the movement phase, have to be used before anything normal happens.

I see nothing disallowing one Librarian to use Gate, then the other librarian in the same squad use gate as well.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





The squad has deep struck once GoI finishes, as per the wording of GoI. Specifically, it says to use the deep strike rules.

The rules of deep strike state that the unit may not move again.

Another way to look at it would be that if the second librarian in the unit is GoI'd by the first, it has now 'moved' and it is no longer the beginning of its movement phase.

If there is a FAQ entry someplace that I missed that states that the unit can move as normal after GoI then I will concede my point. Otherwise the deep strike rules would prevent it, or at least that is how I'm reading it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/01 07:45:10


W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

And again, why are you resolving them sequentially when they occur at the exact same time? Its like a squads shooting. They all shoot at the same time. You don't shoot with the heavy weapon and then rapid fire and assault weapons.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

Ghaz wrote:And again, why are you resolving them sequentially when they occur at the exact same time? Its like a squads shooting. They all shoot at the same time. You don't shoot with the heavy weapon and then rapid fire and assault weapons.


But we do resolve blast hits from the same squad sequentially, because it involves scattering, just like Deep Striking

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

The results are still simultaneous. Basically what you're trying to do is akin to firing one weapon at a time and applying its results before you fire the next weapon in the same squad.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




As Ghaz said: you resolve the scatter sequentially because you cant physcially resolve them simultaneously. They do actually happen at the same time.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: